Public · COLLEGE PAYOFF

University of Southern Mississippi

Hattiesburg, MS · 61 field-and-degree records

Earnings reported for 61 · Federal debt reported for 23

Based onObserved earnings + college priceEstimate10-year payoff
Estimated 10-year payoff
Negative payoff

−$250,022 over 10 years

Modeled from observed year-5 institution earnings and the institution-wide average net price over four years.

158.7 yrsTime to earn back the modeled cost
−94%Estimated return after 10 years
$46,681Observed earnings · year 5
Not reachedHighest annual price before payoff reaches $0
Start with your question

What do you want to understand?

ECONOMIC INVESTMENT → PAYBACK

Estimated payoff over ten years.

The scenario counts direct price and earnings forgone upfront, then applies the reported annual earnings premium.

10-YEAR PAYOFF CURVECumulative economic payoff after graduation
−$250,022at year 10
Net gainInvestment not yet recovered
NET GAIN$0UNRECOVERED
−$266,8320
2
4
6
8
−$250,02210
Years after graduationBreak-even: 158.7 years
FEDERAL COST DATA

Four ways to read college price.

Annual college-wide figures from the current College Scorecard release. Average net price covers full-time, first-time undergraduates receiving federal aid; public-college figures use in-state students. Program tuition and individual aid offers may differ.

Published in-state tuition$9,998
Sticker price
Published out-of-state tuition$11,998
Sticker price
Average net price$21,708
Title IV student average
Cost of attendance$26,566
Tuition + living budget
PRICE SOURCECollege reported · annual amount · federal dataset
PUBLISHED STUDENT BUDGET · 2024–25

What makes up the annual price?

Sticker-price components reported to IPEDS. Grants and scholarships are not subtracted here.

Tuition and required fees$9,998$11,998 for out-of-state students
Books and supplies$852Estimated academic-year allowance
On-campus housing and food$11,920$5,090 in other expenses reported separately
Estimated on-campus total$27,860Sum of available published components, before aid

Living off campus: $10,322 housing and food allowance plus $5,308 in other expenses.

Do not confuse this with net price. Net price subtracts average grants and scholarships. DegreeVerdict continues to use the separately labeled average net price in its standard college ROI scenario.

PRICE SENSITIVITY

The price can change the verdict.

Hold observed earnings constant and see how the modeled ten-year payoff changes as annual price rises.

What stays fixed$46,681 observed annual earnings · 4 years of study · $45,000 alternative annual earnings · ten-year horizonThe marked price is this college’s institution-wide average net price, not your personal aid offer. This is a sensitivity test, not a tuition quote or earnings forecast.
HOW STUDENTS ATTEND · 2023-24

Most students take at least some classes online.

IPEDS enrollment counts show course delivery across the whole institution. They do not indicate whether a specific degree can be completed online.

Fully online32%
4,917 students
Some online courses54%
8,375 students
No online courses14%
2,119 students
Undergraduates age 25+18%
Share of undergraduate enrollment

Institution-level attendance context from IPEDS. Program delivery is reported separately on degree pages and in the program directory. These figures do not enter ROI.

College identity and local contextAccreditation, institution type, dual enrollment and state prices
COLLEGE AT A GLANCE

Institution details

Current federal characteristics describing the college, not the outcomes of a specific program.

Accreditor
Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges
Main award level
Bachelor’s degrees
Campus setting
City
Admissions
Selective admission
Delivery
Campus or mixed delivery
Federal designation
No special designation reported
Sources: College Scorecard June 2026 release and IPEDS 2024 institutional characteristics.
DUAL-ENROLLMENT CONTEXT · 2024

108 high-school students took college courses.

IPEDS counts students enrolled in college credit while still in high school. A large dual-enrollment population can shape headline enrollment figures, especially at community colleges.

This is participation, not a college completion rate. It does not indicate how many students later enrolled after high school, earned a credential or entered the workforce.

STATE PRICE CONTEXT · 2024

Prices in Mississippi run 13% below the U.S. level.

BEA Regional Price Parities compare price levels across states. A value of 100 equals the national average.

Overall13% below U.S.
Goods4% below U.S.
Housing44% below U.S.
Utilities22% below U.S.
Other services4% below U.S.

Use this as geographic context, not a personal budget. It describes the state, not the campus neighborhood, and does not measure tuition or student-specific housing.

DegreeVerdict does not adjust reported earnings, college prices or ROI using this index.

Download the official BEA source →
THE NUMBERS BEHIND THE VERDICT

What it costs and what graduates earn

$21,708Average net price / year
$26,566Cost of attendance
$22,500Median federal student debt · completer borrowers
$239/moPublished 10-year payment estimate
$46,681Median earnings · year 5 after completion
49.1%Completion rate
99.1%Admission rate
1,190Average SAT score
23ACT midpoint
10,075Student size

Debt covers federal student-loan borrowers who completed. It does not include Parent PLUS or private loans. We show admissions scores only when a valid federal value is available.

QUESTIONS ANSWERED

What the numbers say about University of Southern Mississippi

What does University of Southern Mississippi cost?

University of Southern Mississippi reports an average annual net price of $21,708 after grants and scholarships. This is an institution-wide average, not an individual aid offer.

What do University of Southern Mississippi graduates earn?

The observed median earnings figure is $46,681 5 years after completion. It describes a federal cohort, not a guaranteed starting salary.

How much federal debt do University of Southern Mississippi graduates have?

Completer borrowers report median cumulative federal student debt of $22,500. Parent PLUS and private loans are not included.

Is every degree at University of Southern Mississippi worth the same?

No. The current release contains 61 field-and-degree records for University of Southern Mississippi; 61 report year-4 earnings and 23 report federal debt. Outcomes can differ substantially by field and degree level.

DEBT AFTER COLLEGE

Are borrowers making progress?

Repayment progress, default and debt at exit describe different federal borrower cohorts. They are shown separately and do not change the ROI estimate.

1 year52%Paid down at least $1 of principal
3 years55%Paid down at least $1 of principal
5 years59%Paid down at least $1 of principal
7 years64%Paid down at least $1 of principal
Students who completed$22,500Median federal debt · 3,407 borrowers
Students who withdrew$8,750Median federal debt · 3,842 borrowers
Three-year cohort default rate0%Federal cohort measure, not the share currently behind on payments

Source: College Scorecard. Repayment progress is the share of borrowers who reduced principal by at least $1 at the stated measurement point. Debt covers federal student loans; Parent PLUS and private loans are excluded. Cohorts and reporting periods differ across measures.

2024–25 ENROLLMENT

Who studied here during the year

15,282Students enrolled at any point
11,598Undergraduate students
3,684Graduate students

Unduplicated students enrolled at any point from July 1, 2024 through June 30, 2025. This full-year measure is different from a fall headcount and does not enter ROI.

More student and earnings detailPrice by family income, retention, equity and common industries
PRICE BY FAMILY INCOME

Average net price is not one price

Federal averages for aided students in each family-income band. Your aid offer can differ.

$0–30k$19,867
$30–48k$20,432
$48–75k$22,756
$75–110k$25,812
$110k+$26,542
LONGER-TERM CONTEXT

What happens beyond the first earnings measure

Year 5$46,681
Year 6$37,710
Year 10$44,140
Full-time retention
72.1%
Part-time retention
36.8%
Completion within 200% of normal time
53.2%

Earnings timepoints may use different historical cohorts and should not be read as one group’s guaranteed salary growth.

WHO PAYS, WHO FINISHES, WHO EARNS

Outcomes are not the same for every family.

These federal cohorts add context that a single college average can hide. Missing figures remain unreported rather than estimated.

Pell Grant students40%

Complete within 150% of the expected time

48% received a Pell Grant within eight years
Parent borrowing$13,616

Median Parent PLUS debt

1,267 parent borrowers in the reported cohort
First-generation students$14,250

Median federal student debt

53% making progress in repayment after three years
Student family incomeMedian earnings after 10 yearsObserved federal cohorts
Lower income$40,043Earnings are not a guarantee
Middle income$47,093Earnings are not a guarantee
Higher income$50,839Earnings are not a guarantee
Three-year repayment progress
Lower income49%
Middle income60%
Higher income67%
Undergraduate student composition
White56%
Black27%
Hispanic5%
Asian1%

Source: College Scorecard, June 2026 release. Parent PLUS debt belongs to parents; student-debt measures exclude Parent PLUS and private loans. Cohort definitions differ by measure.

NATIONAL CONTEXT

How this college compares

Percentiles compare this institution with currently operating colleges that report the same federal measure.

53thEarnings percentile
36thCompletion percentile
WHAT STANDS OUT

A faster read on this college

These summaries use every reportable field-and-credential record at this institution. They do not fill privacy-suppressed outcomes.

$51,523Median year-4 earnings across reportable program categories
$25,000Median federal debt across categories that report debt
16%Of comparable categories above their same-field national benchmark
EARNINGS OVER TIME

What graduates earned in later years

$39,715Year 1
$48,593Year 4
$46,681Year 5

Each year can represent a different federal cohort, so the points do not track the same people over time.

DEGREES AT THIS COLLEGE

Your choice of degree can change the payoff.

Graduate earnings differ by field and credential, even within the same college.

1Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing · Doctoral Degree$191,7132Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing · Post-baccalaureate Certificate$143,4343Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing · Master's Degree$109,1074Psychology, General · Doctoral Degree$105,7025Industrial Production Technologies/Technicians · Bachelor's Degree$89,9046Business Administration, Management and Operations · Master's Degree$87,1397Architectural Engineering Technologies/Technicians · Bachelor's Degree$82,8488Computer and Information Sciences, General · Bachelor's Degree$81,740

Observed year-4 earnings · compare the same field and credential across colleges

Strongest relative outcomes

Programs that stand out against the same-degree benchmark

This view rewards performance relative to the same field and credential, not simply majors that pay more everywhere.

1Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingDoctoral Degree · $191,713 reported+39%vs same-degree national medianNot availablefederal debt2Industrial Production Technologies/TechniciansBachelor's Degree · $89,904 reported+11%vs same-degree national median$31,250federal debt3Geological and Earth Sciences/GeosciencesBachelor's Degree · $66,142 reported+10%vs same-degree national medianNot availablefederal debt4Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingPost-baccalaureate Certificate · $143,434 reported+9%vs same-degree national medianNot availablefederal debt5Psychology, GeneralDoctoral Degree · $105,702 reported+7%vs same-degree national medianNot availablefederal debt6Education, GeneralMaster's Degree · $69,108 reported+5%vs same-degree national medianNot availablefederal debt
BUILD A REAL SHORTLIST

Comparable colleges in MS

Currently operating public institutions with the closest combination of annual net price and observed year-5 earnings. Similarity is descriptive, not a quality ranking.

Jackson, MS

Jackson State University

Annual net price
$23,836
Observed earnings · year 5
$43,108
Modeled 10-year ROI
-107%
Open college profile →
Cleveland, MS

Delta State University

Annual net price
$13,540
Observed earnings · year 5
$45,755
Modeled 10-year ROI
-97%
Open college profile →
Alcorn State, MS

Alcorn State University

Annual net price
$13,265
Observed earnings · year 5
$49,285
Modeled 10-year ROI
-82%
Open college profile →
Mississippi State, MS

Mississippi State University

Annual net price
$17,595
Observed earnings · year 5
$56,331
Modeled 10-year ROI
-55%
Open college profile →
DEGREE OUTCOMES

Compare fields and degree levels

Showing the 40 highest-earning records from 61 field-and-degree records. Use the program directory to search the complete set.

Major or fieldDegree levelEarnings, year 4Federal debt2024–25 graduates
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingDoctoral Degree$191,713Not available41
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingPost-baccalaureate Certificate$143,434Not availableNot reported
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingMaster's Degree$109,107Not available20
Psychology, GeneralDoctoral Degree$105,702Not available23
Industrial Production Technologies/TechniciansBachelor's Degree$89,904$31,250Not reported
Business Administration, Management and OperationsMaster's Degree$87,139Not availableNot reported
Architectural Engineering Technologies/TechniciansBachelor's Degree$82,848$25,000Not reported
Computer and Information Sciences, GeneralBachelor's Degree$81,740Not availableNot reported
Education, GeneralDoctoral Degree$74,802Not available71
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingBachelor's Degree$72,411$25,125Not reported
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services, OtherBachelor's Degree$70,328Not availableNot reported
Education, GeneralMaster's Degree$69,108Not available9
Accounting and Related ServicesMaster's Degree$68,920Not availableNot reported
Psychology, GeneralMaster's Degree$67,434Not availableNot reported
Geological and Earth Sciences/GeosciencesBachelor's Degree$66,142Not availableNot reported
Accounting and Related ServicesBachelor's Degree$65,861$20,200Not reported
ChemistryBachelor's Degree$63,856Not availableNot reported
Foods, Nutrition, and Related ServicesMaster's Degree$58,640Not availableNot reported
Educational Administration and SupervisionMaster's Degree$57,223Not available2
Communication Disorders Sciences and ServicesMaster's Degree$56,218Not availableNot reported
Finance and Financial Management ServicesBachelor's Degree$55,959Not availableNot reported
Public HealthMaster's Degree$55,930Not availableNot reported
Data ProcessingBachelor's Degree$55,514$28,743Not reported
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/FitnessBachelor's Degree$54,909$23,77032
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/FitnessMaster's Degree$54,457Not availableNot reported
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment ProfessionsBachelor's Degree$53,436Not availableNot reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject AreasMaster's Degree$53,118Not availableNot reported
Business Administration, Management and OperationsBachelor's Degree$52,089$24,5083
Security Science and TechnologyBachelor's Degree$51,956Not availableNot reported
MarketingBachelor's Degree$51,714$18,781Not reported
Social WorkMaster's Degree$51,523Not availableNot reported
Human Resources Management and ServicesBachelor's Degree$51,402$22,865Not reported
Communication Disorders Sciences and ServicesBachelor's Degree$51,381$21,608Not reported
Dietetics and Clinical Nutrition ServicesBachelor's Degree$50,957Not availableNot reported
Student Counseling and Personnel ServicesMaster's Degree$50,650Not availableNot reported
Special Education and TeachingMaster's Degree$50,482Not availableNot reported
Library Science and AdministrationMaster's Degree$48,769Not availableNot reported
Legal Support ServicesBachelor's Degree$48,196Not availableNot reported
Public HealthBachelor's Degree$47,419$28,375Not reported
MathematicsBachelor's Degree$47,150Not availableNot reported

Graduate counts come from IPEDS and group related majors into the same federal field. Missing earnings or debt values remain labeled as unavailable.

Search every University of Southern Mississippi program record →

Earnings, price, completion and enrollment are observed federal measures. ROI, payoff and break-even are modeled scenarios built from those measures and fixed assumptions. College payoff is not the payoff of every degree at this school; use the program table for a more precise comparison.