Private for-profit · ONLINE-ONLY COLLEGE

National American University-Rapid City

Administrative location: Rapid City, SD · 24 field-and-degree records

Earnings reported for 24 · Federal debt reported for 17

Based onObserved earnings + college priceEstimate10-year payoff
Estimated 10-year payoff
Negative payoff

−$275,818 over 10 years

Modeled from observed year-5 institution earnings and the institution-wide average net price over four years.

107.0 yrsTime to earn back the modeled cost
−91%Estimated return after 10 years
$47,843Observed earnings · year 5
Not reachedHighest annual price before payoff reaches $0
Start with your question

What do you want to understand?

ECONOMIC INVESTMENT → PAYBACK

Estimated payoff over ten years.

The scenario counts direct price and earnings forgone upfront, then applies the reported annual earnings premium.

10-YEAR PAYOFF CURVECumulative economic payoff after graduation
−$275,818at year 10
Net gainInvestment not yet recovered
NET GAIN$0UNRECOVERED
−$304,2480
2
4
6
8
−$275,81810
Years after graduationBreak-even: 107.0 years
FEDERAL COST DATA

Four ways to read college price.

Annual college-wide figures from the current College Scorecard release. Average net price covers full-time, first-time undergraduates receiving federal aid; public-college figures use in-state students. Program tuition and individual aid offers may differ.

Published in-state tuition$16,065
Sticker price
Published out-of-state tuition$16,065
Sticker price
Average net price$31,062
Title IV student average
Cost of attendance$34,452
Tuition + living budget
PRICE SOURCECollege reported · annual amount · federal dataset
PUBLISHED STUDENT BUDGET · 2024–25

What makes up the annual price?

Sticker-price components reported to IPEDS. Grants and scholarships are not subtracted here.

Tuition and required fees$16,065Same reported price regardless of residency
Books and supplies$0Estimated academic-year allowance
On-campus housing and foodNot availableOther expenses not reported
Estimated on-campus total$16,065Sum of available published components, before aid

Living off campus: $14,400 housing and food allowance plus $3,987 in other expenses.

Do not confuse this with net price. Net price subtracts average grants and scholarships. DegreeVerdict continues to use the separately labeled average net price in its standard college ROI scenario.

PRICE SENSITIVITY

The price can change the verdict.

Hold observed earnings constant and see how the modeled ten-year payoff changes as annual price rises.

What stays fixed$47,843 observed annual earnings · 4 years of study · $45,000 alternative annual earnings · ten-year horizonThe marked price is this college’s institution-wide average net price, not your personal aid offer. This is a sensitivity test, not a tuition quote or earnings forecast.
HOW STUDENTS ATTEND · 2023-24

Attendance format is not fully reported.

IPEDS enrollment counts show course delivery across the whole institution. They do not indicate whether a specific degree can be completed online.

Fully online100%
1,660 students
Some online coursesNot reported
Not reported students
No online coursesNot reported
Not reported students
Undergraduates age 25+85%
Share of undergraduate enrollment

Institution-level attendance context from IPEDS. Program delivery is reported separately on degree pages and in the program directory. These figures do not enter ROI.

College identity and local contextAccreditation, institution type, dual enrollment and state prices
COLLEGE AT A GLANCE

Institution details

Current federal characteristics describing the college, not the outcomes of a specific program.

Accreditor
Higher Learning Commission
Main award level
Bachelor’s degrees
Campus setting
City
Admissions
Open admission
Delivery
Online-only institution
Federal designation
No special designation reported
Sources: College Scorecard June 2026 release and IPEDS 2024 institutional characteristics.
STATE PRICE CONTEXT · 2024

Prices in South Dakota run 11% below the U.S. level.

BEA Regional Price Parities compare price levels across states. A value of 100 equals the national average.

Overall11% below U.S.
Goods5% below U.S.
Housing32% below U.S.
Utilities20% below U.S.
Other services8% below U.S.

Use this as geographic context, not a personal budget. It describes the state, not the campus neighborhood, and does not measure tuition or student-specific housing.

DegreeVerdict does not adjust reported earnings, college prices or ROI using this index.

Download the official BEA source →
THE NUMBERS BEHIND THE VERDICT

What it costs and what graduates earn

$31,062Average net price / year
$34,452Cost of attendance
$29,020Median federal student debt · completer borrowers
$308/moPublished 10-year payment estimate
$47,843Median earnings · year 5 after completion
Not availableCompletion rate
Not availableAdmission rate
764Student size

Debt covers federal student-loan borrowers who completed. It does not include Parent PLUS or private loans. We show admissions scores only when a valid federal value is available.

QUESTIONS ANSWERED

What the numbers say about National American University-Rapid City

What does National American University-Rapid City cost?

National American University-Rapid City reports an average annual net price of $31,062 after grants and scholarships. This is an institution-wide average, not an individual aid offer.

What do National American University-Rapid City graduates earn?

The observed median earnings figure is $47,843 5 years after completion. It describes a federal cohort, not a guaranteed starting salary.

How much federal debt do National American University-Rapid City graduates have?

Completer borrowers report median cumulative federal student debt of $29,020. Parent PLUS and private loans are not included.

Is every degree at National American University-Rapid City worth the same?

No. The current release contains 24 field-and-degree records for National American University-Rapid City; 24 report year-4 earnings and 17 report federal debt. Outcomes can differ substantially by field and degree level.

DEBT AFTER COLLEGE

Are borrowers making progress?

Repayment progress, default and debt at exit describe different federal borrower cohorts. They are shown separately and do not change the ROI estimate.

1 year18%Paid down at least $1 of principal
3 years24%Paid down at least $1 of principal
5 years33%Paid down at least $1 of principal
7 years42%Paid down at least $1 of principal
Students who completed$29,020Median federal debt · 663 borrowers
Students who withdrew$13,574Median federal debt · 1,108 borrowers
Three-year cohort default rate0%Federal cohort measure, not the share currently behind on payments

Source: College Scorecard. Repayment progress is the share of borrowers who reduced principal by at least $1 at the stated measurement point. Debt covers federal student loans; Parent PLUS and private loans are excluded. Cohorts and reporting periods differ across measures.

2024–25 ENROLLMENT

Who studied here during the year

1,517Students enrolled at any point
1,328Undergraduate students
189Graduate students

Unduplicated students enrolled at any point from July 1, 2024 through June 30, 2025. This full-year measure is different from a fall headcount and does not enter ROI.

More student and earnings detailPrice by family income, retention, equity and common industries
PRICE BY FAMILY INCOME

Average net price is not one price

Federal averages for aided students in each family-income band. Your aid offer can differ.

$0–30k$31,062
$30–48kNot available
$48–75kNot available
$75–110kNot available
$110k+Not available
LONGER-TERM CONTEXT

What happens beyond the first earnings measure

Year 5$47,843
Year 6$29,641
Year 10$37,325
Full-time retention
33.3%
Part-time retention
46.2%
Completion within 200% of normal time
0.0%

Earnings timepoints may use different historical cohorts and should not be read as one group’s guaranteed salary growth.

WHO PAYS, WHO FINISHES, WHO EARNS

Outcomes are not the same for every family.

These federal cohorts add context that a single college average can hide. Missing figures remain unreported rather than estimated.

Pell Grant students0%

Complete within 150% of the expected time

30% received a Pell Grant within eight years
Parent borrowing$9,488

Median Parent PLUS debt

39 parent borrowers in the reported cohort
First-generation students$20,171

Median federal student debt

23% making progress in repayment after three years
Student family incomeMedian earnings after 10 yearsObserved federal cohorts
Lower income$33,083Earnings are not a guarantee
Middle income$45,734Earnings are not a guarantee
Higher income$55,339Earnings are not a guarantee
Three-year repayment progress
Lower income19%
Middle income36%
Higher income50%
Undergraduate student composition
White37%
Black29%
Hispanic16%
Asian1%

Source: College Scorecard, June 2026 release. Parent PLUS debt belongs to parents; student-debt measures exclude Parent PLUS and private loans. Cohort definitions differ by measure.

NATIONAL CONTEXT

How this college compares

Percentiles compare this institution with currently operating colleges that report the same federal measure.

56thEarnings percentile
WHAT STANDS OUT

A faster read on this college

These summaries use every reportable field-and-credential record at this institution. They do not fill privacy-suppressed outcomes.

$52,509Median year-4 earnings across reportable program categories
$34,769Median federal debt across categories that report debt
25%Of comparable categories above their same-field national benchmark
EARNINGS OVER TIME

What graduates earned in later years

$44,433Year 1
$53,841Year 4
$47,843Year 5

Each year can represent a different federal cohort, so the points do not track the same people over time.

DEGREES AT THIS COLLEGE

Your choice of degree can change the payoff.

Graduate earnings differ by field and credential, even within the same college.

1Educational Administration and Supervision · Doctoral Degree$122,9072Homeland Security · Master's Degree$107,3323Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing · Associate's Degree$89,3194Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing · Bachelor's Degree$83,0785Business Administration, Management and Operations · Master's Degree$67,9596Human Resources Management and Services · Bachelor's Degree$67,0257Computer and Information Sciences, General · Bachelor's Degree$64,9368Practical Nursing, Vocational Nursing and Nursing Assistants · Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma$62,235

Observed year-4 earnings · compare the same field and credential across colleges

Strongest relative outcomes

Programs that stand out against the same-degree benchmark

This view rewards performance relative to the same field and credential, not simply majors that pay more everywhere.

1Educational Administration and SupervisionDoctoral Degree · $122,907 reported+22%vs same-degree national medianNot availablefederal debt2Allied Health and Medical Assisting ServicesUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma · $38,605 reported+13%vs same-degree national median$26,572federal debt3Homeland SecurityMaster's Degree · $107,332 reported+11%vs same-degree national medianNot availablefederal debt4Practical Nursing, Vocational Nursing and Nursing AssistantsUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma · $62,235 reported+11%vs same-degree national median$31,335federal debt5Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingAssociate's Degree · $89,319 reported+11%vs same-degree national median$33,924federal debt6Health and Medical Administrative ServicesUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma · $36,555 reported+3%vs same-degree national median$28,143federal debt
BUILD A REAL SHORTLIST

Comparable online colleges nationwide

Currently operating online-only private for-profit institutions with the closest combination of annual net price and observed year-5 earnings. Administrative location is not treated as the student market.

Kansas City, MO

Pinnacle Career Institute

Annual net price
$28,732
Observed earnings · year 5
$35,786
Modeled 10-year ROI
-131%
Open college profile →
Savannah, GA

South University-Savannah Online

Annual net price
$28,049
Observed earnings · year 5
$59,826
Modeled 10-year ROI
-49%
Open college profile →
Valparaiso, IN

College of Court Reporting Inc

Annual net price
$39,997
Observed earnings · year 5
$41,472
Modeled 10-year ROI
-110%
Open college profile →
Chandler, AZ

American InterContinental University System

Annual net price
$15,172
Observed earnings · year 5
$47,187
Modeled 10-year ROI
-91%
Open college profile →
DEGREE OUTCOMES

Compare fields and degree levels

Showing all 24 field-and-degree records in the current release.

Major or fieldDegree levelEarnings, year 4Federal debt2024–25 graduates
Educational Administration and SupervisionDoctoral Degree$122,907Not available4
Homeland SecurityMaster's Degree$107,332Not availableNot reported
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingAssociate's Degree$89,319$33,924Not reported
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingBachelor's Degree$83,078$52,969Not reported
Business Administration, Management and OperationsMaster's Degree$67,959Not availableNot reported
Human Resources Management and ServicesBachelor's Degree$67,025Not available1
Computer and Information Sciences, GeneralBachelor's Degree$64,936$53,229Not reported
Practical Nursing, Vocational Nursing and Nursing AssistantsUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma$62,235$31,335Not reported
Computer/Information Technology Administration and ManagementBachelor's Degree$58,897Not availableNot reported
Business Administration, Management and OperationsBachelor's Degree$57,756$46,5750
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment ProfessionsAssociate's Degree$53,752$33,022Not reported
Health and Medical Administrative ServicesBachelor's Degree$52,803$52,058Not reported
Accounting and Related ServicesBachelor's Degree$52,215$41,3441
Criminal Justice and CorrectionsBachelor's Degree$47,907$51,547Not reported
Computer/Information Technology Administration and ManagementAssociate's Degree$47,334$28,212Not reported
Legal Support ServicesAssociate's Degree$43,288Not availableNot reported
Business Administration, Management and OperationsAssociate's Degree$43,113$30,707Not reported
Criminal Justice and CorrectionsAssociate's Degree$41,000$34,769Not reported
Allied Health and Medical Assisting ServicesAssociate's Degree$40,052$35,442Not reported
Allied Health and Medical Assisting ServicesUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma$38,605$26,572Not reported
Accounting and Related ServicesAssociate's Degree$37,062$28,757Not reported
Health and Medical Administrative ServicesUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma$36,555$28,14330
Entrepreneurial and Small Business OperationsAssociate's Degree$36,166Not availableNot reported
Health and Medical Administrative ServicesAssociate's Degree$35,072$41,890Not reported

Graduate counts come from IPEDS and group related majors into the same federal field. Missing earnings or debt values remain labeled as unavailable.

Earnings, price, completion and enrollment are observed federal measures. ROI, payoff and break-even are modeled scenarios built from those measures and fixed assumptions. College payoff is not the payoff of every degree at this school; use the program table for a more precise comparison.