Public · COLLEGE PAYOFF

Pennsylvania State University-World Campus

University Park, PA · 81 field-and-degree records

Earnings reported for 77 · Federal debt reported for 56

Based onObserved earnings + college priceEstimate10-year payoff
Estimated 10-year payoff
Positive payoff

+$21,440 over 10 years

Modeled from observed year-5 institution earnings and the institution-wide average net price over four years.

9.2 yrsTime to earn back the modeled cost
+8%Estimated return after 10 years
$72,964Observed earnings · year 5
$24,910Highest annual price before payoff reaches $0

The price benchmark is $5,360 per year below this threshold.

Start with your question

What do you want to understand?

ECONOMIC INVESTMENT → PAYBACK

Estimated payoff over ten years.

The scenario counts direct price and earnings forgone upfront, then applies the reported annual earnings premium.

10-YEAR PAYOFF CURVECumulative economic payoff after graduation
+$21,440at year 10
Net gainInvestment not yet recovered
NET GAIN$0UNRECOVERED
−$258,2000
2
4
6
8
+$21,44010
Years after graduationBreak-even: 9.2 years
FEDERAL COST DATA

Four ways to read college price.

Annual college-wide figures from the current College Scorecard release. Average net price covers full-time, first-time undergraduates receiving federal aid; public-college figures use in-state students. Program tuition and individual aid offers may differ.

Published in-state tuition$15,356
Sticker price
Published out-of-state tuition$15,356
Sticker price
Average net price$19,550
Title IV student average
Cost of attendance$27,678
Tuition + living budget
PRICE SOURCECollege reported · annual amount · federal dataset
PUBLISHED STUDENT BUDGET · 2024–25

What makes up the annual price?

Sticker-price components reported to IPEDS. Grants and scholarships are not subtracted here.

Tuition and required fees$15,356Same reported price regardless of residency
Books and supplies$1,200Estimated academic-year allowance
On-campus housing and foodNot availableOther expenses not reported
Estimated on-campus total$16,556Sum of available published components, before aid

Living off campus: $15,274 housing and food allowance plus $5,020 in other expenses.

Do not confuse this with net price. Net price subtracts average grants and scholarships. DegreeVerdict continues to use the separately labeled average net price in its standard college ROI scenario.

PRICE SENSITIVITY

The price can change the verdict.

Hold observed earnings constant and see how the modeled ten-year payoff changes as annual price rises.

What stays fixed$72,964 observed annual earnings · 4 years of study · $45,000 alternative annual earnings · ten-year horizonThe marked price is this college’s institution-wide average net price, not your personal aid offer. This is a sensitivity test, not a tuition quote or earnings forecast.
HOW STUDENTS ATTEND · 2023-24

Most students take at least some classes online.

IPEDS enrollment counts show course delivery across the whole institution. They do not indicate whether a specific degree can be completed online.

Fully online98%
17,852 students
Some online courses2.3%
423 students
No online courses0.1%
15 students
Undergraduates age 25+59%
Share of undergraduate enrollment

Institution-level attendance context from IPEDS. Program delivery is reported separately on degree pages and in the program directory. These figures do not enter ROI.

College identity and local contextAccreditation, institution type, dual enrollment and state prices
COLLEGE AT A GLANCE

Institution details

Current federal characteristics describing the college, not the outcomes of a specific program.

Accreditor
Middle States Commission on Higher Education
Main award level
Bachelor’s degrees
Campus setting
City
Admissions
Selective admission
Delivery
Campus or mixed delivery
Federal designation
No special designation reported
Sources: College Scorecard June 2026 release and IPEDS 2024 institutional characteristics.
DUAL-ENROLLMENT CONTEXT · 2024

2 high-school students took college courses.

IPEDS counts students enrolled in college credit while still in high school. A large dual-enrollment population can shape headline enrollment figures, especially at community colleges.

This is participation, not a college completion rate. It does not indicate how many students later enrolled after high school, earned a credential or entered the workforce.

STATE PRICE CONTEXT · 2024

Prices in Pennsylvania run 2% below the U.S. level.

BEA Regional Price Parities compare price levels across states. A value of 100 equals the national average.

Overall2% below U.S.
Goods1% below U.S.
Housing15% below U.S.
Utilities9% above U.S.
Other services0% below U.S.

Use this as geographic context, not a personal budget. It describes the state, not the campus neighborhood, and does not measure tuition or student-specific housing.

DegreeVerdict does not adjust reported earnings, college prices or ROI using this index.

Download the official BEA source →
THE NUMBERS BEHIND THE VERDICT

What it costs and what graduates earn

$19,550Average net price / year
$27,678Cost of attendance
$25,000Median federal student debt · completer borrowers
$265/moPublished 10-year payment estimate
$72,964Median earnings · year 5 after completion
34.2%Completion rate
91.1%Admission rate
1,248Average SAT score
7,877Student size

Debt covers federal student-loan borrowers who completed. It does not include Parent PLUS or private loans. We show admissions scores only when a valid federal value is available.

QUESTIONS ANSWERED

What the numbers say about Pennsylvania State University-World Campus

What does Pennsylvania State University-World Campus cost?

Pennsylvania State University-World Campus reports an average annual net price of $19,550 after grants and scholarships. This is an institution-wide average, not an individual aid offer.

What do Pennsylvania State University-World Campus graduates earn?

The observed median earnings figure is $72,964 5 years after completion. It describes a federal cohort, not a guaranteed starting salary.

How much federal debt do Pennsylvania State University-World Campus graduates have?

Completer borrowers report median cumulative federal student debt of $25,000. Parent PLUS and private loans are not included.

Is every degree at Pennsylvania State University-World Campus worth the same?

No. The current release contains 81 field-and-degree records for Pennsylvania State University-World Campus; 77 report year-4 earnings and 56 report federal debt. Outcomes can differ substantially by field and degree level.

DEBT AFTER COLLEGE

Are borrowers making progress?

Repayment progress, default and debt at exit describe different federal borrower cohorts. They are shown separately and do not change the ROI estimate.

1 year64%Paid down at least $1 of principal
3 years68%Paid down at least $1 of principal
5 years75%Paid down at least $1 of principal
7 years80%Paid down at least $1 of principal
Students who completed$25,000Median federal debt · 19,503 borrowers
Students who withdrew$9,500Median federal debt · 12,029 borrowers
Three-year cohort default rate0%Federal cohort measure, not the share currently behind on payments

Source: College Scorecard. Repayment progress is the share of borrowers who reduced principal by at least $1 at the stated measurement point. Debt covers federal student loans; Parent PLUS and private loans are excluded. Cohorts and reporting periods differ across measures.

2024–25 ENROLLMENT

Who studied here during the year

18,517Students enrolled at any point
10,650Undergraduate students
7,867Graduate students

Unduplicated students enrolled at any point from July 1, 2024 through June 30, 2025. This full-year measure is different from a fall headcount and does not enter ROI.

More student and earnings detailPrice by family income, retention, equity and common industries
PRICE BY FAMILY INCOME

Average net price is not one price

Federal averages for aided students in each family-income band. Your aid offer can differ.

$0–30k$16,372
$30–48k$17,144
$48–75k$19,337
$75–110k$23,852
$110k+$26,078
LONGER-TERM CONTEXT

What happens beyond the first earnings measure

Year 5$72,964
Year 6$55,620
Year 10$63,435
Full-time retention
65.8%
Part-time retention
58.6%
Completion within 200% of normal time
34.2%

Earnings timepoints may use different historical cohorts and should not be read as one group’s guaranteed salary growth.

WHO PAYS, WHO FINISHES, WHO EARNS

Outcomes are not the same for every family.

These federal cohorts add context that a single college average can hide. Missing figures remain unreported rather than estimated.

Pell Grant students21%

Complete within 150% of the expected time

38% received a Pell Grant within eight years
Parent borrowing$36,064

Median Parent PLUS debt

7,968 parent borrowers in the reported cohort
First-generation students$19,500

Median federal student debt

61% making progress in repayment after three years
Student family incomeMedian earnings after 10 yearsObserved federal cohorts
Lower income$52,313Earnings are not a guarantee
Middle income$60,610Earnings are not a guarantee
Higher income$73,464Earnings are not a guarantee
Three-year repayment progress
Lower income52%
Middle income67%
Higher income80%
Undergraduate student composition
White63%
Black9%
Hispanic14%
Asian6%

Source: College Scorecard, June 2026 release. Parent PLUS debt belongs to parents; student-debt measures exclude Parent PLUS and private loans. Cohort definitions differ by measure.

NATIONAL CONTEXT

How this college compares

Percentiles compare this institution with currently operating colleges that report the same federal measure.

92thEarnings percentile
17thCompletion percentile
WHAT STANDS OUT

A faster read on this college

These summaries use every reportable field-and-credential record at this institution. They do not fill privacy-suppressed outcomes.

$79,292Median year-4 earnings across reportable program categories
$26,000Median federal debt across categories that report debt
81%Of comparable categories above their same-field national benchmark
EARNINGS OVER TIME

What graduates earned in later years

$54,468Year 1
$76,659Year 4
$72,964Year 5

Each year can represent a different federal cohort, so the points do not track the same people over time.

DEGREES AT THIS COLLEGE

Your choice of degree can change the payoff.

Graduate earnings differ by field and credential, even within the same college.

1Computer and Information Sciences, General · Master's Degree$166,3872Information Science/Studies · Master's Degree$158,8153Physics · Master's Degree$150,8654Systems Engineering · Master's Degree$145,5075Computer Engineering · Master's Degree$140,3936Management Sciences and Quantitative Methods · Master's Degree$139,6767Computational Science · Master's Degree$137,3678Statistics · Master's Degree$129,392

Observed year-4 earnings · compare the same field and credential across colleges

Strongest relative outcomes

Programs that stand out against the same-degree benchmark

This view rewards performance relative to the same field and credential, not simply majors that pay more everywhere.

1Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and HumanitiesUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma · $93,527 reported+108%vs same-degree national median$30,125federal debt2Accounting and Related ServicesUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma · $87,526 reported+96%vs same-degree national median$26,499federal debt3Computer/Information Technology Administration and ManagementUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma · $102,874 reported+96%vs same-degree national median$27,000federal debt4Business Administration, Management and OperationsUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma · $79,292 reported+67%vs same-degree national medianNot availablefederal debt5Psychology, OtherMaster's Degree · $99,841 reported+62%vs same-degree national medianNot availablefederal debt6PhysicsMaster's Degree · $150,865 reported+56%vs same-degree national medianNot availablefederal debt
BUILD A REAL SHORTLIST

Comparable colleges in PA

Currently operating public institutions with the closest combination of annual net price and observed year-5 earnings. Similarity is descriptive, not a quality ranking.

Mont Alto, PA

Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Mont Alto

Annual net price
$19,454
Observed earnings · year 5
$72,964
Modeled 10-year ROI
+8%
Open college profile →
Schuylkill Haven, PA

Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Schuylkill

Annual net price
$19,659
Observed earnings · year 5
$72,964
Modeled 10-year ROI
+8%
Open college profile →
York, PA

Pennsylvania State University-Penn State York

Annual net price
$19,047
Observed earnings · year 5
$72,964
Modeled 10-year ROI
+9%
Open college profile →
New Kensington, PA

Pennsylvania State University-Penn State New Kensington

Annual net price
$18,305
Observed earnings · year 5
$72,964
Modeled 10-year ROI
+10%
Open college profile →
DEGREE OUTCOMES

Compare fields and degree levels

Showing the 40 highest-earning records from 81 field-and-degree records. Use the program directory to search the complete set.

Major or fieldDegree levelEarnings, year 4Federal debt2024–25 graduates
Computer and Information Sciences, GeneralMaster's Degree$166,387Not availableNot reported
Information Science/StudiesMaster's Degree$158,815Not availableNot reported
PhysicsMaster's Degree$150,865Not availableNot reported
Systems EngineeringMaster's Degree$145,507Not availableNot reported
Computer EngineeringMaster's Degree$140,393Not availableNot reported
Management Sciences and Quantitative MethodsMaster's Degree$139,676Not availableNot reported
Computational ScienceMaster's Degree$137,367Not availableNot reported
StatisticsMaster's Degree$129,392Not availableNot reported
Business Administration, Management and OperationsMaster's Degree$127,665Not availableNot reported
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingMaster's Degree$117,728Not availableNot reported
Computer EngineeringBachelor's Degree$112,269$26,70820
Health and Medical Administrative ServicesMaster's Degree$111,065Not availableNot reported
Accounting and Related ServicesMaster's Degree$110,498Not availableNot reported
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma$108,264$27,00043
Engineering, OtherMaster's Degree$107,278Not availableNot reported
Homeland SecurityMaster's Degree$106,535Not availableNot reported
Human Resources Management and ServicesMaster's Degree$103,541Not availableNot reported
Computer/Information Technology Administration and ManagementUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma$102,874$27,000172
Geography and CartographyMaster's Degree$102,798Not availableNot reported
Psychology, OtherMaster's Degree$99,841Not availableNot reported
Computer/Information Technology Administration and ManagementBachelor's Degree$98,637$26,917Not reported
Finance and Financial Management ServicesBachelor's Degree$96,714$25,375Not reported
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and HumanitiesUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma$93,527$30,12536
Information Science/StudiesBachelor's Degree$91,671$26,00023
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingBachelor's Degree$91,032$27,0004
Public HealthMaster's Degree$90,383Not availableNot reported
Accounting and Related ServicesBachelor's Degree$88,192$26,00021
Mechanical EngineeringBachelor's Degree$87,997$27,000Not reported
Public AdministrationMaster's Degree$87,710Not availableNot reported
Accounting and Related ServicesUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma$87,526$26,49979
Community Organization and AdvocacyMaster's Degree$84,981Not availableNot reported
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services, OtherUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma$82,162$24,9501
Management Information Systems and ServicesUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma$81,794$27,000Not reported
Human Resources Management and ServicesBachelor's Degree$81,755$27,000146
Biological and Biomedical Sciences, OtherBachelor's Degree$81,617$26,000Not reported
EconomicsBachelor's Degree$81,228$25,000Not reported
Geological and Earth Sciences/GeosciencesBachelor's Degree$81,092$26,000Not reported
MarketingBachelor's Degree$79,343$25,0008
Business Administration, Management and OperationsUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma$79,292Not available0
Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied CommunicationBachelor's Degree$76,246$24,693Not reported

Graduate counts come from IPEDS and group related majors into the same federal field. Missing earnings or debt values remain labeled as unavailable.

Search every Pennsylvania State University-World Campus program record →

Earnings, price, completion and enrollment are observed federal measures. ROI, payoff and break-even are modeled scenarios built from those measures and fixed assumptions. College payoff is not the payoff of every degree at this school; use the program table for a more precise comparison.