Private nonprofit · COLLEGE PAYOFF

Scripps College

Claremont, CA · No degree-level outcomes reported

Based onObserved earnings + college priceEstimate10-year payoff
Estimated 10-year payoff
Negative payoff

−$89,236 over 10 years

Modeled from observed year-5 institution earnings and the institution-wide average net price over four years.

13.8 yrsTime to earn back the modeled cost
−27%Estimated return after 10 years
$68,594Observed earnings · year 5
$13,985Highest annual price before payoff reaches $0

The price benchmark would need to fall by $22,309 per year to reach it.

Start with your question

What do you want to understand?

ECONOMIC INVESTMENT → PAYBACK

Estimated payoff over ten years.

The scenario counts direct price and earnings forgone upfront, then applies the reported annual earnings premium.

10-YEAR PAYOFF CURVECumulative economic payoff after graduation
−$89,236at year 10
Net gainInvestment not yet recovered
NET GAIN$0UNRECOVERED
−$325,1760
2
4
6
8
−$89,23610
Years after graduationBreak-even: 13.8 years
FEDERAL COST DATA

Four ways to read college price.

Annual college-wide figures from the current College Scorecard release. Average net price covers full-time, first-time undergraduates receiving federal aid; public-college figures use in-state students. Program tuition and individual aid offers may differ.

Published in-state tuition$65,950
Sticker price
Published out-of-state tuition$65,950
Sticker price
Average net price$36,294
Title IV student average
Cost of attendance$87,564
Tuition + living budget
PRICE SOURCECollege reported · annual amount · federal dataset
PUBLISHED STUDENT BUDGET · 2024–25

What makes up the annual price?

Sticker-price components reported to IPEDS. Grants and scholarships are not subtracted here.

Tuition and required fees$65,950Same reported price regardless of residency
Books and supplies$800Estimated academic-year allowance
On-campus housing and food$22,136$2,000 in other expenses reported separately
Estimated on-campus total$90,886Sum of available published components, before aid

Living off campus: $22,136 housing and food allowance plus $2,000 in other expenses.

Do not confuse this with net price. Net price subtracts average grants and scholarships. DegreeVerdict continues to use the separately labeled average net price in its standard college ROI scenario.

PRICE SENSITIVITY

The price can change the verdict.

Hold observed earnings constant and see how the modeled ten-year payoff changes as annual price rises.

What stays fixed$68,594 observed annual earnings · 4 years of study · $45,000 alternative annual earnings · ten-year horizonThe marked price is this college’s institution-wide average net price, not your personal aid offer. This is a sensitivity test, not a tuition quote or earnings forecast.
HOW STUDENTS ATTEND · 2023-24

Attendance format is not fully reported.

IPEDS enrollment counts show course delivery across the whole institution. They do not indicate whether a specific degree can be completed online.

Fully onlineNot reported
Not reported students
Some online coursesNot reported
Not reported students
No online courses100%
1,112 students
Undergraduates age 25+0.3%
Share of undergraduate enrollment

Institution-level attendance context from IPEDS. Program delivery is reported separately on degree pages and in the program directory. These figures do not enter ROI.

College identity and local contextAccreditation, institution type, dual enrollment and state prices
COLLEGE AT A GLANCE

Institution details

Current federal characteristics describing the college, not the outcomes of a specific program.

Accreditor
Western Association of Schools and Colleges Senior Colleges and University Commission
Main award level
Bachelor’s degrees
Campus setting
Suburban
Admissions
Selective admission
Delivery
Campus or mixed delivery
Federal designation
No special designation reported
Sources: College Scorecard June 2026 release and IPEDS 2024 institutional characteristics.
STATE PRICE CONTEXT · 2024

Prices in California run 11% above the U.S. level.

BEA Regional Price Parities compare price levels across states. A value of 100 equals the national average.

Overall11% above U.S.
Goods6% above U.S.
Housing54% above U.S.
Utilities59% above U.S.
Other services3% above U.S.

Use this as geographic context, not a personal budget. It describes the state, not the campus neighborhood, and does not measure tuition or student-specific housing.

DegreeVerdict does not adjust reported earnings, college prices or ROI using this index.

Download the official BEA source →
THE NUMBERS BEHIND THE VERDICT

What it costs and what graduates earn

$36,294Average net price / year
$87,564Cost of attendance
$13,500Median federal student debt · completer borrowers
$143/moPublished 10-year payment estimate
$68,594Median earnings · year 5 after completion
82.5%Completion rate
38.3%Admission rate
1,492Average SAT score
33ACT midpoint
1,113Student size

Debt covers federal student-loan borrowers who completed. It does not include Parent PLUS or private loans. We show admissions scores only when a valid federal value is available.

QUESTIONS ANSWERED

What the numbers say about Scripps College

What does Scripps College cost?

Scripps College reports an average annual net price of $36,294 after grants and scholarships. This is an institution-wide average, not an individual aid offer.

What do Scripps College graduates earn?

The observed median earnings figure is $68,594 5 years after completion. It describes a federal cohort, not a guaranteed starting salary.

How much federal debt do Scripps College graduates have?

Completer borrowers report median cumulative federal student debt of $13,500. Parent PLUS and private loans are not included.

Is every degree at Scripps College worth the same?

The current release does not contain reportable degree outcomes for Scripps College, so this page cannot compare its individual degrees.

DEBT AFTER COLLEGE

Are borrowers making progress?

Repayment progress, default and debt at exit describe different federal borrower cohorts. They are shown separately and do not change the ROI estimate.

1 year86%Paid down at least $1 of principal
3 years92%Paid down at least $1 of principal
5 years91%Paid down at least $1 of principal
7 years94%Paid down at least $1 of principal
Students who completed$13,500Median federal debt · 141 borrowers
Students who withdrew$8,000Median federal debt · 73 borrowers
Three-year cohort default rate0%Federal cohort measure, not the share currently behind on payments

Source: College Scorecard. Repayment progress is the share of borrowers who reduced principal by at least $1 at the stated measurement point. Debt covers federal student loans; Parent PLUS and private loans are excluded. Cohorts and reporting periods differ across measures.

2024–25 ENROLLMENT

Who studied here during the year

1,156Students enrolled at any point
1,134Undergraduate students
22Graduate students

Unduplicated students enrolled at any point from July 1, 2024 through June 30, 2025. This full-year measure is different from a fall headcount and does not enter ROI.

More student and earnings detailPrice by family income, retention, equity and common industries
PRICE BY FAMILY INCOME

Average net price is not one price

Federal averages for aided students in each family-income band. Your aid offer can differ.

$0–30k$6,948
$30–48k$4,522
$48–75k$15,831
$75–110k$36,472
$110k+$54,572
LONGER-TERM CONTEXT

What happens beyond the first earnings measure

Year 5$68,594
Year 6$68,027
Year 10$77,539
Full-time retention
93.8%
Part-time retention
Not available
Completion within 200% of normal time
84.4%

Earnings timepoints may use different historical cohorts and should not be read as one group’s guaranteed salary growth.

WHO PAYS, WHO FINISHES, WHO EARNS

Outcomes are not the same for every family.

These federal cohorts add context that a single college average can hide. Missing figures remain unreported rather than estimated.

Pell Grant students92%

Complete within 150% of the expected time

88% received a Pell Grant within eight years
Parent borrowing$54,494

Median Parent PLUS debt

44 parent borrowers in the reported cohort
First-generation students$12,000

Median federal student debt

Three-year repayment not reported
Student family incomeMedian earnings after 10 yearsObserved federal cohorts
Lower income$82,504Earnings are not a guarantee
Middle income$77,190Earnings are not a guarantee
Higher income$75,532Earnings are not a guarantee
Undergraduate student composition
White54%
Black4%
Hispanic11%
Asian14%

Source: College Scorecard, June 2026 release. Parent PLUS debt belongs to parents; student-debt measures exclude Parent PLUS and private loans. Cohort definitions differ by measure.

NATIONAL CONTEXT

How this college compares

Percentiles compare this institution with currently operating colleges that report the same federal measure.

89thEarnings percentile
84thCompletion percentile
EARNINGS OVER TIME

What graduates earned in later years

$37,612Year 1
$75,301Year 4
$68,594Year 5

Each year can represent a different federal cohort, so the points do not track the same people over time.

BUILD A REAL SHORTLIST

Comparable colleges in CA

Currently operating private nonprofit institutions with the closest combination of annual net price and observed year-5 earnings. Similarity is descriptive, not a quality ranking.

Burbank, CA

Woodbury University

Annual net price
$33,692
Observed earnings · year 5
$66,933
Modeled 10-year ROI
-30%
Open college profile →
Angwin, CA

Pacific Union College

Annual net price
$41,008
Observed earnings · year 5
$68,000
Modeled 10-year ROI
-33%
Open college profile →
Los Angeles, CA

Occidental College

Annual net price
$38,263
Observed earnings · year 5
$64,966
Modeled 10-year ROI
-40%
Open college profile →
Redlands, CA

University of Redlands

Annual net price
$30,031
Observed earnings · year 5
$69,744
Modeled 10-year ROI
-18%
Open college profile →
DEGREE OUTCOMES

No degree-level outcomes are currently reportable.

This college remains in the national directory because it appears in the College Scorecard. Degree outcomes may be unavailable, privacy-suppressed or outside the reported cohorts.

Earnings, price, completion and enrollment are observed federal measures. ROI, payoff and break-even are modeled scenarios built from those measures and fixed assumptions. College payoff is not the payoff of every degree at this school; use the program table for a more precise comparison.