Public · COLLEGE PAYOFF

Sussex County Community College

Newton, NJ · 4 field-and-degree records

Earnings reported for 4 · Federal debt reported for 3

Based onObserved earnings + college priceEstimate10-year payoff
Estimated 10-year payoff
Negative payoff

−$237,586 over 10 years

Modeled from observed year-5 institution earnings and the institution-wide average net price over four years.

Not availableTime to earn back the modeled cost
−112%Estimated return after 10 years
$42,385Observed earnings · year 5
Not reachedHighest annual price before payoff reaches $0
Start with your question

What do you want to understand?

ECONOMIC INVESTMENT → PAYBACK

Estimated payoff over ten years.

The scenario counts direct price and earnings forgone upfront, then applies the reported annual earnings premium.

10-YEAR PAYOFF CURVECumulative economic payoff after graduation
−$237,586at year 10
Net gainInvestment not yet recovered
NET GAIN$0UNRECOVERED
−$211,4360
2
4
6
8
−$237,58610
Years after graduationBreak-even: years
FEDERAL COST DATA

Four ways to read college price.

Annual college-wide figures from the current College Scorecard release. Average net price covers full-time, first-time undergraduates receiving federal aid; public-college figures use in-state students. Program tuition and individual aid offers may differ.

Published in-state tuition$5,544
Sticker price
Published out-of-state tuition$9,024
Sticker price
Average net price$7,859
Title IV student average
Cost of attendance$14,708
Tuition + living budget
PRICE SOURCECollege reported · annual amount · federal dataset
PUBLISHED STUDENT BUDGET · 2024–25

What makes up the annual price?

Sticker-price components reported to IPEDS. Grants and scholarships are not subtracted here.

Tuition and required fees$5,544$9,024 for out-of-state students
Books and supplies$1,481Estimated academic-year allowance
On-campus housing and foodNot availableOther expenses not reported
Estimated on-campus total$7,025Sum of available published components, before aid

Living off campus: $5,342 housing and food allowance plus $5,920 in other expenses.

Do not confuse this with net price. Net price subtracts average grants and scholarships. DegreeVerdict continues to use the separately labeled average net price in its standard college ROI scenario.

PRICE SENSITIVITY

The price can change the verdict.

Hold observed earnings constant and see how the modeled ten-year payoff changes as annual price rises.

What stays fixed$42,385 observed annual earnings · 4 years of study · $45,000 alternative annual earnings · ten-year horizonThe marked price is this college’s institution-wide average net price, not your personal aid offer. This is a sensitivity test, not a tuition quote or earnings forecast.
HOW STUDENTS ATTEND · 2023-24

Online study is a meaningful part of the student experience.

IPEDS enrollment counts show course delivery across the whole institution. They do not indicate whether a specific degree can be completed online.

Fully online18%
619 students
Some online courses39%
1,337 students
No online courses42%
1,441 students
Undergraduates age 25+21%
Share of undergraduate enrollment

Institution-level attendance context from IPEDS. Program delivery is reported separately on degree pages and in the program directory. These figures do not enter ROI.

College identity and local contextAccreditation, institution type, dual enrollment and state prices
COLLEGE AT A GLANCE

Institution details

Current federal characteristics describing the college, not the outcomes of a specific program.

Accreditor
Middle States Commission on Higher Education
Main award level
Associate degrees
Campus setting
Rural
Admissions
Open admission
Delivery
Campus or mixed delivery
Federal designation
No special designation reported
Sources: College Scorecard June 2026 release and IPEDS 2024 institutional characteristics.
DUAL-ENROLLMENT CONTEXT · 2024

419 high-school students took college courses.

IPEDS counts students enrolled in college credit while still in high school. A large dual-enrollment population can shape headline enrollment figures, especially at community colleges.

This is participation, not a college completion rate. It does not indicate how many students later enrolled after high school, earned a credential or entered the workforce.

STATE PRICE CONTEXT · 2024

Prices in New Jersey run 9% above the U.S. level.

BEA Regional Price Parities compare price levels across states. A value of 100 equals the national average.

Overall9% above U.S.
Goods7% above U.S.
Housing34% above U.S.
Utilities14% above U.S.
Other services4% above U.S.

Use this as geographic context, not a personal budget. It describes the state, not the campus neighborhood, and does not measure tuition or student-specific housing.

DegreeVerdict does not adjust reported earnings, college prices or ROI using this index.

Download the official BEA source →
THE NUMBERS BEHIND THE VERDICT

What it costs and what graduates earn

$7,859Average net price / year
$14,708Cost of attendance
$11,000Median federal student debt · completer borrowers
$117/moPublished 10-year payment estimate
$42,385Median earnings · year 5 after completion
37.0%Completion rate
Not availableAdmission rate
2,086Student size

Debt covers federal student-loan borrowers who completed. It does not include Parent PLUS or private loans. We show admissions scores only when a valid federal value is available.

QUESTIONS ANSWERED

What the numbers say about Sussex County Community College

What does Sussex County Community College cost?

Sussex County Community College reports an average annual net price of $7,859 after grants and scholarships. This is an institution-wide average, not an individual aid offer.

What do Sussex County Community College graduates earn?

The observed median earnings figure is $42,385 5 years after completion. It describes a federal cohort, not a guaranteed starting salary.

How much federal debt do Sussex County Community College graduates have?

Completer borrowers report median cumulative federal student debt of $11,000. Parent PLUS and private loans are not included.

Is every degree at Sussex County Community College worth the same?

No. The current release contains 4 field-and-degree records for Sussex County Community College; 4 report year-4 earnings and 3 report federal debt. Outcomes can differ substantially by field and degree level.

DEBT AFTER COLLEGE

Are borrowers making progress?

Repayment progress, default and debt at exit describe different federal borrower cohorts. They are shown separately and do not change the ROI estimate.

1 year48%Paid down at least $1 of principal
3 years52%Paid down at least $1 of principal
5 years56%Paid down at least $1 of principal
7 years53%Paid down at least $1 of principal
Students who completed$11,000Median federal debt · 143 borrowers
Students who withdrew$5,500Median federal debt · 486 borrowers
Three-year cohort default rate0%Federal cohort measure, not the share currently behind on payments

Source: College Scorecard. Repayment progress is the share of borrowers who reduced principal by at least $1 at the stated measurement point. Debt covers federal student loans; Parent PLUS and private loans are excluded. Cohorts and reporting periods differ across measures.

2024–25 ENROLLMENT

Who studied here during the year

3,533Students enrolled at any point
3,533Undergraduate students
Not availableGraduate students

Unduplicated students enrolled at any point from July 1, 2024 through June 30, 2025. This full-year measure is different from a fall headcount and does not enter ROI.

More student and earnings detailPrice by family income, retention, equity and common industries
PRICE BY FAMILY INCOME

Average net price is not one price

Federal averages for aided students in each family-income band. Your aid offer can differ.

$0–30k$5,955
$30–48k$7,781
$48–75k$8,232
$75–110k$12,457
$110k+$13,931
LONGER-TERM CONTEXT

What happens beyond the first earnings measure

Year 5$42,385
Year 6$36,934
Year 10$44,664
Full-time retention
57.6%
Part-time retention
38.3%
Completion within 200% of normal time
48.0%

Earnings timepoints may use different historical cohorts and should not be read as one group’s guaranteed salary growth.

WHO PAYS, WHO FINISHES, WHO EARNS

Outcomes are not the same for every family.

These federal cohorts add context that a single college average can hide. Missing figures remain unreported rather than estimated.

Pell Grant students53%

Complete within 150% of the expected time

32% received a Pell Grant within eight years
Parent borrowing$6,500

Median Parent PLUS debt

39 parent borrowers in the reported cohort
First-generation students$6,000

Median federal student debt

54% making progress in repayment after three years
Student family incomeMedian earnings after 10 yearsObserved federal cohorts
Lower income$40,408Earnings are not a guarantee
Middle income$48,857Earnings are not a guarantee
Higher income$48,706Earnings are not a guarantee
Three-year repayment progress
Lower income35%
Middle income59%
Higher income56%
Undergraduate student composition
White62%
Black9%
Hispanic20%
Asian2%

Source: College Scorecard, June 2026 release. Parent PLUS debt belongs to parents; student-debt measures exclude Parent PLUS and private loans. Cohort definitions differ by measure.

INDEPENDENT CENSUS EARNINGS VIEW

How earnings develop by field

Privacy-protected Census employment records follow graduate cohorts one, five and ten years after completion. This source is kept separate from College Scorecard because its population and methodology differ.

Field and credentialYear 1Year 5Year 10
Criminal Justice and Corrections.Associate degree · Broad federal field 43
$33,372Year 1
$60,045Year 5
$88,437Year 10
Accounting and Computer Science.Associate degree · Broad federal field 30
$28,722Year 1
$54,404Year 5
$86,367Year 10
Accounting and Related Services.Associate degree · Broad federal field 52
$37,341Year 1
$63,427Year 5
$76,722Year 10
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities.Associate degree · Broad federal field 24
$27,937Year 1
$45,642Year 5
$60,118Year 10
Arts, Entertainment, and Media Management.Associate degree · Broad federal field 50
$28,045Year 1
$41,019Year 5
$54,993Year 10
Community Organization and Advocacy.Associate degree · Broad federal field 44
$31,905Year 1
$50,197Year 5
$51,789Year 10

Median annual earnings in 2023 dollars. Each time point may use a different pooled graduation cohort. Coverage is limited to institutions participating in the Census Post-Secondary Employment Outcomes program.

NATIONAL CONTEXT

How this college compares

Percentiles compare this institution with currently operating colleges that report the same federal measure.

43thEarnings percentile
20thCompletion percentile
WHAT STANDS OUT

A faster read on this college

These summaries use every reportable field-and-credential record at this institution. They do not fill privacy-suppressed outcomes.

$50,373Median year-4 earnings across reportable program categories
$11,000Median federal debt across categories that report debt
75%Of comparable categories above their same-field national benchmark
EARNINGS OVER TIME

What graduates earned in later years

$26,001Year 1
$41,662Year 4
$42,385Year 5

Each year can represent a different federal cohort, so the points do not track the same people over time.

DEGREES AT THIS COLLEGE

Your choice of degree can change the payoff.

Graduate earnings differ by field and credential, even within the same college.

1Biological and Physical Sciences · Associate's Degree$55,6992Business Administration, Management and Operations · Associate's Degree$50,9293Criminal Justice and Corrections · Associate's Degree$49,8164Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities · Associate's Degree$37,399

Observed year-4 earnings · compare the same field and credential across colleges

Strongest relative outcomes

Programs that stand out against the same-degree benchmark

This view rewards performance relative to the same field and credential, not simply majors that pay more everywhere.

1Biological and Physical SciencesAssociate's Degree · $55,699 reported+11%vs same-degree national medianNot availablefederal debt2Criminal Justice and CorrectionsAssociate's Degree · $49,816 reported+7%vs same-degree national median$9,875federal debt3Business Administration, Management and OperationsAssociate's Degree · $50,929 reported+5%vs same-degree national median$11,000federal debt4Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and HumanitiesAssociate's Degree · $37,399 reported-15%vs same-degree national median$11,375federal debt
BUILD A REAL SHORTLIST

Comparable colleges in NJ

Currently operating public institutions with the closest combination of annual net price and observed year-5 earnings. Similarity is descriptive, not a quality ranking.

Mays Landing, NJ

Atlantic Cape Community College

Annual net price
$8,392
Observed earnings · year 5
$44,105
Modeled 10-year ROI
-104%
Open college profile →
Paterson, NJ

Passaic County Community College

Annual net price
$7,761
Observed earnings · year 5
$46,396
Modeled 10-year ROI
-93%
Open college profile →
Jersey City, NJ

Hudson County Community College

Annual net price
$7,307
Observed earnings · year 5
$46,503
Modeled 10-year ROI
-93%
Open college profile →
Newark, NJ

Essex County College

Annual net price
$4,436
Observed earnings · year 5
$44,636
Modeled 10-year ROI
-102%
Open college profile →
DEGREE OUTCOMES

Compare fields and degree levels

Showing all 4 field-and-degree records in the current release.

Major or fieldDegree levelEarnings, year 4Federal debt2024–25 graduates
Biological and Physical SciencesAssociate's Degree$55,699Not availableNot reported
Business Administration, Management and OperationsAssociate's Degree$50,929$11,000Not reported
Criminal Justice and CorrectionsAssociate's Degree$49,816$9,875Not reported
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and HumanitiesAssociate's Degree$37,399$11,375Not reported

Graduate counts come from IPEDS and group related majors into the same federal field. Missing earnings or debt values remain labeled as unavailable.

Earnings, price, completion and enrollment are observed federal measures. ROI, payoff and break-even are modeled scenarios built from those measures and fixed assumptions. College payoff is not the payoff of every degree at this school; use the program table for a more precise comparison.