Public · COLLEGE PAYOFF

The University of Tennessee-Martin

Martin, TN · 26 field-and-degree records

Earnings reported for 25 · Federal debt reported for 19

Based onObserved earnings + college priceEstimate10-year payoff
Estimated 10-year payoff
Negative payoff

−$207,524 over 10 years

Modeled from observed year-5 institution earnings and the institution-wide average net price over four years.

145.8 yrsTime to earn back the modeled cost
−93%Estimated return after 10 years
$46,528Observed earnings · year 5
Not reachedHighest annual price before payoff reaches $0
Start with your question

What do you want to understand?

ECONOMIC INVESTMENT → PAYBACK

Estimated payoff over ten years.

The scenario counts direct price and earnings forgone upfront, then applies the reported annual earnings premium.

10-YEAR PAYOFF CURVECumulative economic payoff after graduation
−$207,524at year 10
Net gainInvestment not yet recovered
NET GAIN$0UNRECOVERED
−$222,8040
2
4
6
8
−$207,52410
Years after graduationBreak-even: 145.8 years
FEDERAL COST DATA

Four ways to read college price.

Annual college-wide figures from the current College Scorecard release. Average net price covers full-time, first-time undergraduates receiving federal aid; public-college figures use in-state students. Program tuition and individual aid offers may differ.

Published in-state tuition$10,560
Sticker price
Published out-of-state tuition$16,600
Sticker price
Average net price$10,701
Title IV student average
Cost of attendance$23,079
Tuition + living budget
PRICE SOURCECollege reported · annual amount · federal dataset
PUBLISHED STUDENT BUDGET · 2024–25

What makes up the annual price?

Sticker-price components reported to IPEDS. Grants and scholarships are not subtracted here.

Tuition and required fees$10,560$16,600 for out-of-state students
Books and supplies$1,500Estimated academic-year allowance
On-campus housing and food$7,544$4,600 in other expenses reported separately
Estimated on-campus total$24,204Sum of available published components, before aid

Living off campus: $10,112 housing and food allowance plus $6,816 in other expenses.

Do not confuse this with net price. Net price subtracts average grants and scholarships. DegreeVerdict continues to use the separately labeled average net price in its standard college ROI scenario.

PRICE SENSITIVITY

The price can change the verdict.

Hold observed earnings constant and see how the modeled ten-year payoff changes as annual price rises.

What stays fixed$46,528 observed annual earnings · 4 years of study · $45,000 alternative annual earnings · ten-year horizonThe marked price is this college’s institution-wide average net price, not your personal aid offer. This is a sensitivity test, not a tuition quote or earnings forecast.
HOW STUDENTS ATTEND · 2023-24

Online study is a meaningful part of the student experience.

IPEDS enrollment counts show course delivery across the whole institution. They do not indicate whether a specific degree can be completed online.

Fully online32%
2,627 students
Some online courses27%
2,226 students
No online courses41%
3,372 students
Undergraduates age 25+9.4%
Share of undergraduate enrollment

Institution-level attendance context from IPEDS. Program delivery is reported separately on degree pages and in the program directory. These figures do not enter ROI.

College identity and local contextAccreditation, institution type, dual enrollment and state prices
COLLEGE AT A GLANCE

Institution details

Current federal characteristics describing the college, not the outcomes of a specific program.

Accreditor
Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges
Main award level
Bachelor’s degrees
Campus setting
Town
Admissions
Selective admission
Delivery
Campus or mixed delivery
Federal designation
No special designation reported
Sources: College Scorecard June 2026 release and IPEDS 2024 institutional characteristics.
DUAL-ENROLLMENT CONTEXT · 2024

2,004 high-school students took college courses.

IPEDS counts students enrolled in college credit while still in high school. A large dual-enrollment population can shape headline enrollment figures, especially at community colleges.

This is participation, not a college completion rate. It does not indicate how many students later enrolled after high school, earned a credential or entered the workforce.

STATE PRICE CONTEXT · 2024

Prices in Tennessee run 8% below the U.S. level.

BEA Regional Price Parities compare price levels across states. A value of 100 equals the national average.

Overall8% below U.S.
Goods4% below U.S.
Housing21% below U.S.
Utilities28% below U.S.
Other services5% below U.S.

Use this as geographic context, not a personal budget. It describes the state, not the campus neighborhood, and does not measure tuition or student-specific housing.

DegreeVerdict does not adjust reported earnings, college prices or ROI using this index.

Download the official BEA source →
THE NUMBERS BEHIND THE VERDICT

What it costs and what graduates earn

$10,701Average net price / year
$23,079Cost of attendance
$21,024Median federal student debt · completer borrowers
$223/moPublished 10-year payment estimate
$46,528Median earnings · year 5 after completion
52.5%Completion rate
88.2%Admission rate
1,120Average SAT score
22ACT midpoint
4,866Student size

Debt covers federal student-loan borrowers who completed. It does not include Parent PLUS or private loans. We show admissions scores only when a valid federal value is available.

QUESTIONS ANSWERED

What the numbers say about The University of Tennessee-Martin

What does The University of Tennessee-Martin cost?

The University of Tennessee-Martin reports an average annual net price of $10,701 after grants and scholarships. This is an institution-wide average, not an individual aid offer.

What do The University of Tennessee-Martin graduates earn?

The observed median earnings figure is $46,528 5 years after completion. It describes a federal cohort, not a guaranteed starting salary.

How much federal debt do The University of Tennessee-Martin graduates have?

Completer borrowers report median cumulative federal student debt of $21,024. Parent PLUS and private loans are not included.

Is every degree at The University of Tennessee-Martin worth the same?

No. The current release contains 26 field-and-degree records for The University of Tennessee-Martin; 25 report year-4 earnings and 19 report federal debt. Outcomes can differ substantially by field and degree level.

DEBT AFTER COLLEGE

Are borrowers making progress?

Repayment progress, default and debt at exit describe different federal borrower cohorts. They are shown separately and do not change the ROI estimate.

1 year47%Paid down at least $1 of principal
3 years55%Paid down at least $1 of principal
5 years59%Paid down at least $1 of principal
7 years66%Paid down at least $1 of principal
Students who completed$21,024Median federal debt · 1,376 borrowers
Students who withdrew$8,250Median federal debt · 1,502 borrowers
Three-year cohort default rate0%Federal cohort measure, not the share currently behind on payments

Source: College Scorecard. Repayment progress is the share of borrowers who reduced principal by at least $1 at the stated measurement point. Debt covers federal student loans; Parent PLUS and private loans are excluded. Cohorts and reporting periods differ across measures.

2024–25 ENROLLMENT

Who studied here during the year

8,783Students enrolled at any point
7,868Undergraduate students
915Graduate students

Unduplicated students enrolled at any point from July 1, 2024 through June 30, 2025. This full-year measure is different from a fall headcount and does not enter ROI.

More student and earnings detailPrice by family income, retention, equity and common industries
PRICE BY FAMILY INCOME

Average net price is not one price

Federal averages for aided students in each family-income band. Your aid offer can differ.

$0–30k$7,151
$30–48k$8,961
$48–75k$11,640
$75–110k$15,343
$110k+$15,827
LONGER-TERM CONTEXT

What happens beyond the first earnings measure

Year 5$46,528
Year 6$38,863
Year 10$44,213
Full-time retention
77.0%
Part-time retention
75.0%
Completion within 200% of normal time
53.8%

Earnings timepoints may use different historical cohorts and should not be read as one group’s guaranteed salary growth.

WHO PAYS, WHO FINISHES, WHO EARNS

Outcomes are not the same for every family.

These federal cohorts add context that a single college average can hide. Missing figures remain unreported rather than estimated.

Pell Grant students46%

Complete within 150% of the expected time

45% received a Pell Grant within eight years
Parent borrowing$11,236

Median Parent PLUS debt

360 parent borrowers in the reported cohort
First-generation students$13,000

Median federal student debt

54% making progress in repayment after three years
Student family incomeMedian earnings after 10 yearsObserved federal cohorts
Lower income$40,706Earnings are not a guarantee
Middle income$46,597Earnings are not a guarantee
Higher income$48,327Earnings are not a guarantee
Three-year repayment progress
Lower income47%
Middle income59%
Higher income68%
Undergraduate student composition
White75%
Black15%
Hispanic5%
Asian1%

Source: College Scorecard, June 2026 release. Parent PLUS debt belongs to parents; student-debt measures exclude Parent PLUS and private loans. Cohort definitions differ by measure.

INDEPENDENT CENSUS EARNINGS VIEW

How earnings develop by field

Privacy-protected Census employment records follow graduate cohorts one, five and ten years after completion. This source is kept separate from College Scorecard because its population and methodology differ.

Field and credentialYear 1Year 5Year 10
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering.Bachelor’s degree · Broad federal field 14
$64,036Year 1
$86,780Year 5
$104,958Year 10
Advanced/Graduate Dentistry and Oral Sciences.Bachelor’s degree · Broad federal field 51
$76,587Year 1
$84,548Year 5
$91,084Year 10
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology.Bachelor’s degree · Broad federal field 26
$27,814Year 1
$61,675Year 5
$82,803Year 10
Astronomy and Astrophysics.Bachelor’s degree · Broad federal field 40
$34,351Year 1
$46,777Year 5
$80,729Year 10
Agricultural Business and Management.Bachelor’s degree · Broad federal field 01
$40,514Year 1
$53,578Year 5
$70,713Year 10
Accounting and Related Services.Bachelor’s degree · Broad federal field 52
$43,413Year 1
$62,013Year 5
$70,261Year 10
Environmental/Natural Resources Management and Policy.Bachelor’s degree · Broad federal field 03
$37,821Year 1
$45,751Year 5
$62,393Year 10
Outdoor Education.Bachelor’s degree · Broad federal field 31
$27,814Year 1
$54,051Year 5
$61,332Year 10

Median annual earnings in 2023 dollars. Each time point may use a different pooled graduation cohort. Coverage is limited to institutions participating in the Census Post-Secondary Employment Outcomes program.

NATIONAL CONTEXT

How this college compares

Percentiles compare this institution with currently operating colleges that report the same federal measure.

53thEarnings percentile
41thCompletion percentile
WHAT STANDS OUT

A faster read on this college

These summaries use every reportable field-and-credential record at this institution. They do not fill privacy-suppressed outcomes.

$49,555Median year-4 earnings across reportable program categories
$23,938Median federal debt across categories that report debt
8%Of comparable categories above their same-field national benchmark
EARNINGS OVER TIME

What graduates earned in later years

$38,328Year 1
$47,898Year 4
$46,528Year 5

Each year can represent a different federal cohort, so the points do not track the same people over time.

DEGREES AT THIS COLLEGE

Your choice of degree can change the payoff.

Graduate earnings differ by field and credential, even within the same college.

1Business Administration, Management and Operations · Master's Degree$99,5322Engineering, General · Bachelor's Degree$87,0433Computer Science · Bachelor's Degree$79,4034Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing · Bachelor's Degree$77,0925Finance and Financial Management Services · Bachelor's Degree$64,8406Biology, General · Bachelor's Degree$63,4107Student Counseling and Personnel Services · Master's Degree$59,7598Accounting and Related Services · Bachelor's Degree$59,150

Observed year-4 earnings · compare the same field and credential across colleges

Strongest relative outcomes

Programs that stand out against the same-degree benchmark

This view rewards performance relative to the same field and credential, not simply majors that pay more everywhere.

1Biology, GeneralBachelor's Degree · $63,410 reported+11%vs same-degree national median$25,900federal debt2MusicBachelor's Degree · $44,910 reported+5%vs same-degree national medianNot availablefederal debt3Student Counseling and Personnel ServicesMaster's Degree · $59,759 reported-1%vs same-degree national medianNot availablefederal debt4HistoryBachelor's Degree · $49,555 reported-2%vs same-degree national medianNot availablefederal debt5Engineering, GeneralBachelor's Degree · $87,043 reported-3%vs same-degree national median$29,750federal debt6Business Administration, Management and OperationsMaster's Degree · $99,532 reported-4%vs same-degree national medianNot availablefederal debt
BUILD A REAL SHORTLIST

Comparable colleges in TN

Currently operating public institutions with the closest combination of annual net price and observed year-5 earnings. Similarity is descriptive, not a quality ranking.

Clarksville, TN

Austin Peay State University

Annual net price
$9,735
Observed earnings · year 5
$48,012
Modeled 10-year ROI
-86%
Open college profile →
McMinnville, TN

Tennessee College of Applied Technology-McMinnville

Annual net price
$11,413
Observed earnings · year 5
$43,736
Modeled 10-year ROI
-106%
Open college profile →
Gallatin, TN

Volunteer State Community College

Annual net price
$7,802
Observed earnings · year 5
$45,209
Modeled 10-year ROI
-99%
Open college profile →
Pulaski, TN

The University of Tennessee Southern

Annual net price
$12,798
Observed earnings · year 5
$48,965
Modeled 10-year ROI
-83%
Open college profile →
DEGREE OUTCOMES

Compare fields and degree levels

Showing all 26 field-and-degree records in the current release.

Major or fieldDegree levelEarnings, year 4Federal debt2024–25 graduates
Business Administration, Management and OperationsMaster's Degree$99,532Not availableNot reported
Engineering, GeneralBachelor's Degree$87,043$29,750Not reported
Computer ScienceBachelor's Degree$79,403Not availableNot reported
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingBachelor's Degree$77,092$25,231Not reported
Finance and Financial Management ServicesBachelor's Degree$64,840$20,500Not reported
Biology, GeneralBachelor's Degree$63,410$25,900Not reported
Student Counseling and Personnel ServicesMaster's Degree$59,759Not availableNot reported
Accounting and Related ServicesBachelor's Degree$59,150$20,875Not reported
Business Administration, Management and OperationsBachelor's Degree$54,552$26,1577
Political Science and GovernmentBachelor's Degree$52,029Not availableNot reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and MethodsMaster's Degree$50,046Not availableNot reported
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/FitnessBachelor's Degree$49,817$23,938Not reported
HistoryBachelor's Degree$49,555Not availableNot reported
MarketingBachelor's Degree$48,255$17,548Not reported
Agriculture, GeneralBachelor's Degree$47,956$19,500Not reported
Environmental/Natural Resources Management and PolicyBachelor's Degree$46,540$22,748Not reported
Criminal Justice and CorrectionsBachelor's Degree$46,142$22,6712
MusicBachelor's Degree$44,910Not availableNot reported
Communication and Media StudiesBachelor's Degree$44,231$24,481Not reported
Social WorkBachelor's Degree$42,811$25,653Not reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and MethodsBachelor's Degree$42,481$21,000Not reported
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, OtherBachelor's Degree$40,862$29,750Not reported
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences, GeneralBachelor's Degree$39,914$27,000Not reported
Visual and Performing Arts, GeneralBachelor's Degree$37,930$22,625Not reported
Psychology, GeneralBachelor's Degree$36,507$26,373Not reported
Agricultural Business and ManagementBachelor's DegreeNot available$19,928Not reported

Graduate counts come from IPEDS and group related majors into the same federal field. Missing earnings or debt values remain labeled as unavailable.

Earnings, price, completion and enrollment are observed federal measures. ROI, payoff and break-even are modeled scenarios built from those measures and fixed assumptions. College payoff is not the payoff of every degree at this school; use the program table for a more precise comparison.