Public · COLLEGE PAYOFF

The University of Texas at Tyler

Tyler, TX · 36 field-and-degree records

Earnings reported for 36 · Federal debt reported for 21

Based onObserved earnings + college priceEstimate10-year payoff
Estimated 10-year payoff
Negative payoff

−$71,992 over 10 years

Modeled from observed year-5 institution earnings and the institution-wide average net price over four years.

14.5 yrsTime to earn back the modeled cost
−31%Estimated return after 10 years
$61,130Observed earnings · year 5
Not reachedHighest annual price before payoff reaches $0
Start with your question

What do you want to understand?

ECONOMIC INVESTMENT → PAYBACK

Estimated payoff over ten years.

The scenario counts direct price and earnings forgone upfront, then applies the reported annual earnings premium.

10-YEAR PAYOFF CURVECumulative economic payoff after graduation
−$71,992at year 10
Net gainInvestment not yet recovered
NET GAIN$0UNRECOVERED
−$233,2920
2
4
6
8
−$71,99210
Years after graduationBreak-even: 14.5 years
FEDERAL COST DATA

Four ways to read college price.

Annual college-wide figures from the current College Scorecard release. Average net price covers full-time, first-time undergraduates receiving federal aid; public-college figures use in-state students. Program tuition and individual aid offers may differ.

Published in-state tuition$9,736
Sticker price
Published out-of-state tuition$25,494
Sticker price
Average net price$13,323
Title IV student average
Cost of attendance$24,505
Tuition + living budget
PRICE SOURCECollege reported · annual amount · federal dataset
PUBLISHED STUDENT BUDGET · 2024–25

What makes up the annual price?

Sticker-price components reported to IPEDS. Grants and scholarships are not subtracted here.

Tuition and required fees$9,736$25,494 for out-of-state students
Books and supplies$2,920Estimated academic-year allowance
On-campus housing and food$13,756$3,138 in other expenses reported separately
Estimated on-campus total$29,550Sum of available published components, before aid

Living off campus: $13,410 housing and food allowance plus $5,678 in other expenses.

Do not confuse this with net price. Net price subtracts average grants and scholarships. DegreeVerdict continues to use the separately labeled average net price in its standard college ROI scenario.

PRICE SENSITIVITY

The price can change the verdict.

Hold observed earnings constant and see how the modeled ten-year payoff changes as annual price rises.

What stays fixed$61,130 observed annual earnings · 4 years of study · $45,000 alternative annual earnings · ten-year horizonThe marked price is this college’s institution-wide average net price, not your personal aid offer. This is a sensitivity test, not a tuition quote or earnings forecast.
HOW STUDENTS ATTEND · 2023-24

Most students take at least some classes online.

IPEDS enrollment counts show course delivery across the whole institution. They do not indicate whether a specific degree can be completed online.

Fully online34%
3,981 students
Some online courses53%
6,306 students
No online courses13%
1,508 students
Undergraduates age 25+21%
Share of undergraduate enrollment

Institution-level attendance context from IPEDS. Program delivery is reported separately on degree pages and in the program directory. These figures do not enter ROI.

College identity and local contextAccreditation, institution type, dual enrollment and state prices
COLLEGE AT A GLANCE

Institution details

Current federal characteristics describing the college, not the outcomes of a specific program.

Accreditor
Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges
Main award level
Bachelor’s degrees
Campus setting
City
Admissions
Selective admission
Delivery
Campus or mixed delivery
Federal designation
No special designation reported
Sources: College Scorecard June 2026 release and IPEDS 2024 institutional characteristics.
DUAL-ENROLLMENT CONTEXT · 2024

307 high-school students took college courses.

IPEDS counts students enrolled in college credit while still in high school. A large dual-enrollment population can shape headline enrollment figures, especially at community colleges.

This is participation, not a college completion rate. It does not indicate how many students later enrolled after high school, earned a credential or entered the workforce.

STATE PRICE CONTEXT · 2024

Prices in Texas run 3% below the U.S. level.

BEA Regional Price Parities compare price levels across states. A value of 100 equals the national average.

Overall3% below U.S.
Goods2% below U.S.
Housing3% below U.S.
Utilities12% below U.S.
Other services3% below U.S.

Use this as geographic context, not a personal budget. It describes the state, not the campus neighborhood, and does not measure tuition or student-specific housing.

DegreeVerdict does not adjust reported earnings, college prices or ROI using this index.

Download the official BEA source →
THE NUMBERS BEHIND THE VERDICT

What it costs and what graduates earn

$13,323Average net price / year
$24,505Cost of attendance
$17,137Median federal student debt · completer borrowers
$182/moPublished 10-year payment estimate
$61,130Median earnings · year 5 after completion
54.1%Completion rate
94.0%Admission rate
1,114Average SAT score
22ACT midpoint
7,440Student size

Debt covers federal student-loan borrowers who completed. It does not include Parent PLUS or private loans. We show admissions scores only when a valid federal value is available.

QUESTIONS ANSWERED

What the numbers say about The University of Texas at Tyler

What does The University of Texas at Tyler cost?

The University of Texas at Tyler reports an average annual net price of $13,323 after grants and scholarships. This is an institution-wide average, not an individual aid offer.

What do The University of Texas at Tyler graduates earn?

The observed median earnings figure is $61,130 5 years after completion. It describes a federal cohort, not a guaranteed starting salary.

How much federal debt do The University of Texas at Tyler graduates have?

Completer borrowers report median cumulative federal student debt of $17,137. Parent PLUS and private loans are not included.

Is every degree at The University of Texas at Tyler worth the same?

No. The current release contains 36 field-and-degree records for The University of Texas at Tyler; 36 report year-4 earnings and 21 report federal debt. Outcomes can differ substantially by field and degree level.

DEBT AFTER COLLEGE

Are borrowers making progress?

Repayment progress, default and debt at exit describe different federal borrower cohorts. They are shown separately and do not change the ROI estimate.

1 year53%Paid down at least $1 of principal
3 years58%Paid down at least $1 of principal
5 years65%Paid down at least $1 of principal
7 years69%Paid down at least $1 of principal
Students who completed$17,137Median federal debt · 1,919 borrowers
Students who withdrew$7,500Median federal debt · 1,540 borrowers
Three-year cohort default rate0%Federal cohort measure, not the share currently behind on payments

Source: College Scorecard. Repayment progress is the share of borrowers who reduced principal by at least $1 at the stated measurement point. Debt covers federal student loans; Parent PLUS and private loans are excluded. Cohorts and reporting periods differ across measures.

2024–25 ENROLLMENT

Who studied here during the year

12,749Students enrolled at any point
8,986Undergraduate students
3,763Graduate students

Unduplicated students enrolled at any point from July 1, 2024 through June 30, 2025. This full-year measure is different from a fall headcount and does not enter ROI.

More student and earnings detailPrice by family income, retention, equity and common industries
PRICE BY FAMILY INCOME

Average net price is not one price

Federal averages for aided students in each family-income band. Your aid offer can differ.

$0–30k$10,307
$30–48k$10,456
$48–75k$12,958
$75–110k$17,475
$110k+$22,126
LONGER-TERM CONTEXT

What happens beyond the first earnings measure

Year 5$61,130
Year 6$49,355
Year 10$57,053
Full-time retention
76.8%
Part-time retention
38.9%
Completion within 200% of normal time
45.9%

Earnings timepoints may use different historical cohorts and should not be read as one group’s guaranteed salary growth.

WHO PAYS, WHO FINISHES, WHO EARNS

Outcomes are not the same for every family.

These federal cohorts add context that a single college average can hide. Missing figures remain unreported rather than estimated.

Pell Grant students52%

Complete within 150% of the expected time

59% received a Pell Grant within eight years
Parent borrowing$15,811

Median Parent PLUS debt

504 parent borrowers in the reported cohort
First-generation students$12,640

Median federal student debt

55% making progress in repayment after three years
Student family incomeMedian earnings after 10 yearsObserved federal cohorts
Lower income$52,683Earnings are not a guarantee
Middle income$57,959Earnings are not a guarantee
Higher income$61,816Earnings are not a guarantee
Three-year repayment progress
Lower income50%
Middle income61%
Higher income69%
Undergraduate student composition
White48%
Black11%
Hispanic29%
Asian4%

Source: College Scorecard, June 2026 release. Parent PLUS debt belongs to parents; student-debt measures exclude Parent PLUS and private loans. Cohort definitions differ by measure.

INDEPENDENT CENSUS EARNINGS VIEW

How earnings develop by field

Privacy-protected Census employment records follow graduate cohorts one, five and ten years after completion. This source is kept separate from College Scorecard because its population and methodology differ.

Field and credentialYear 1Year 5Year 10
Computer Programming.Master’s degree · Broad federal field 11
$82,803Year 1
$108,882Year 5
$146,060Year 10
Accounting and Related Services.Master’s degree · Broad federal field 52
$87,524Year 1
$94,274Year 5
$116,958Year 10
Advanced/Graduate Dentistry and Oral Sciences.Master’s degree · Broad federal field 51
$109,131Year 1
$120,490Year 5
$115,921Year 10
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering.Bachelor’s degree · Broad federal field 14
$72,551Year 1
$93,717Year 5
$113,771Year 10
Architectural Engineering Technologies/Technicians.Bachelor’s degree · Broad federal field 15
$61,737Year 1
$82,300Year 5
$103,197Year 10
Computer Programming.Bachelor’s degree · Broad federal field 11
$51,223Year 1
$72,585Year 5
$98,392Year 10
Advanced/Graduate Dentistry and Oral Sciences.Bachelor’s degree · Broad federal field 51
$75,196Year 1
$86,501Year 5
$97,912Year 10
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology.Bachelor’s degree · Broad federal field 26
$33,604Year 1
$56,877Year 5
$91,987Year 10

Median annual earnings in 2023 dollars. Each time point may use a different pooled graduation cohort. Coverage is limited to institutions participating in the Census Post-Secondary Employment Outcomes program.

NATIONAL CONTEXT

How this college compares

Percentiles compare this institution with currently operating colleges that report the same federal measure.

81thEarnings percentile
44thCompletion percentile
WHAT STANDS OUT

A faster read on this college

These summaries use every reportable field-and-credential record at this institution. They do not fill privacy-suppressed outcomes.

$63,981Median year-4 earnings across reportable program categories
$20,500Median federal debt across categories that report debt
17%Of comparable categories above their same-field national benchmark
EARNINGS OVER TIME

What graduates earned in later years

$57,253Year 1
$68,633Year 4
$61,130Year 5

Each year can represent a different federal cohort, so the points do not track the same people over time.

DEGREES AT THIS COLLEGE

Your choice of degree can change the payoff.

Graduate earnings differ by field and credential, even within the same college.

1Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing · Master's Degree$127,7622Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing · Doctoral Degree$109,6903Business Administration, Management and Operations · Master's Degree$103,3024Accounting and Related Services · Master's Degree$101,7275Health Professions Education, Ethics, and Humanities · Master's Degree$98,9976Engineering-Related Fields · Master's Degree$98,8967Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering · Bachelor's Degree$95,2958Construction Management · Bachelor's Degree$91,845

Observed year-4 earnings · compare the same field and credential across colleges

Strongest relative outcomes

Programs that stand out against the same-degree benchmark

This view rewards performance relative to the same field and credential, not simply majors that pay more everywhere.

1English Language and Literature, GeneralMaster's Degree · $59,336 reported+7%vs same-degree national medianNot availablefederal debt2MusicBachelor's Degree · $45,651 reported+6%vs same-degree national medianNot availablefederal debt3Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingMaster's Degree · $127,762 reported+6%vs same-degree national medianNot availablefederal debt4Accounting and Related ServicesMaster's Degree · $101,727 reported+6%vs same-degree national medianNot availablefederal debt5Civil EngineeringBachelor's Degree · $88,102 reported+2%vs same-degree national median$22,670federal debt6Special Education and TeachingMaster's Degree · $64,946 reported+1%vs same-degree national medianNot availablefederal debt
BUILD A REAL SHORTLIST

Comparable colleges in TX

Currently operating public institutions with the closest combination of annual net price and observed year-5 earnings. Similarity is descriptive, not a quality ranking.

Beaumont, TX

Lamar Institute of Technology

Annual net price
$13,866
Observed earnings · year 5
$59,404
Modeled 10-year ROI
-39%
Open college profile →
Denton, TX

Texas Woman's University

Annual net price
$11,963
Observed earnings · year 5
$60,022
Modeled 10-year ROI
-34%
Open college profile →
Houston, TX

University of Houston

Annual net price
$14,276
Observed earnings · year 5
$63,161
Modeled 10-year ROI
-23%
Open college profile →
Prairie View, TX

Prairie View A&M University

Annual net price
$13,570
Observed earnings · year 5
$57,526
Modeled 10-year ROI
-47%
Open college profile →
DEGREE OUTCOMES

Compare fields and degree levels

Showing all 36 field-and-degree records in the current release.

Major or fieldDegree levelEarnings, year 4Federal debt2024–25 graduates
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingMaster's Degree$127,762Not available0
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingDoctoral Degree$109,690Not available11
Business Administration, Management and OperationsMaster's Degree$103,302Not availableNot reported
Accounting and Related ServicesMaster's Degree$101,727Not availableNot reported
Health Professions Education, Ethics, and HumanitiesMaster's Degree$98,997Not availableNot reported
Engineering-Related FieldsMaster's Degree$98,896Not availableNot reported
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications EngineeringBachelor's Degree$95,295$25,2742
Construction ManagementBachelor's Degree$91,845$29,000Not reported
Mechanical EngineeringBachelor's Degree$88,562$22,1256
Civil EngineeringBachelor's Degree$88,102$22,670Not reported
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingBachelor's Degree$83,201$24,35675
Human Resources Management and ServicesMaster's Degree$82,432Not availableNot reported
Public AdministrationMaster's Degree$80,315Not availableNot reported
Computer and Information Sciences, GeneralBachelor's Degree$79,754$21,500Not reported
Finance and Financial Management ServicesBachelor's Degree$72,905$15,8750
Educational Administration and SupervisionMaster's Degree$67,987Not availableNot reported
Business Administration, Management and OperationsBachelor's Degree$67,980$20,50044
Special Education and TeachingMaster's Degree$64,946Not availableNot reported
Clinical, Counseling and Applied PsychologyMaster's Degree$63,015Not availableNot reported
Accounting and Related ServicesBachelor's Degree$61,206$15,646Not reported
Business/Commerce, GeneralBachelor's Degree$59,459$18,125Not reported
English Language and Literature, GeneralMaster's Degree$59,336Not availableNot reported
Curriculum and InstructionMaster's Degree$58,447Not availableNot reported
MarketingBachelor's Degree$58,325$17,4950
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject AreasMaster's Degree$58,073Not availableNot reported
Human Resources Management and ServicesBachelor's Degree$55,705$22,15272
Biology, GeneralBachelor's Degree$55,434$18,0000
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/FitnessBachelor's Degree$52,101$18,292Not reported
Communication and Media StudiesBachelor's Degree$50,247$15,0215
Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, GeneralBachelor's Degree$48,928$23,931Not reported
English Language and Literature, GeneralBachelor's Degree$48,397$25,250Not reported
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, OtherBachelor's Degree$48,369$26,658Not reported
HistoryBachelor's Degree$47,813$19,300Not reported
MusicBachelor's Degree$45,651Not availableNot reported
Criminal Justice and CorrectionsBachelor's Degree$44,607$20,2122
Psychology, GeneralBachelor's Degree$43,908$18,750Not reported

Graduate counts come from IPEDS and group related majors into the same federal field. Missing earnings or debt values remain labeled as unavailable.

Earnings, price, completion and enrollment are observed federal measures. ROI, payoff and break-even are modeled scenarios built from those measures and fixed assumptions. College payoff is not the payoff of every degree at this school; use the program table for a more precise comparison.