Public · COLLEGE PAYOFF

The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston

Houston, TX · 12 field-and-degree records

Earnings reported for 12 · Federal debt reported for 2

Based onFederal evidence is incompleteEstimateNot enough data
Estimated 10-year payoff
Price unavailable

Payoff needs a reliable price

Observed year-5 earnings are available, but the current federal record does not provide a usable institution-wide average net price.

Not availableTime to earn back the modeled cost
Not availableEstimated return after 10 years
$92,893Observed earnings · year 5
Not availableHighest annual price before payoff reaches $0
Start with your question

What do you want to understand?

PAYOFF CURVE

No payoff curve is shown.

Observed year-5 earnings are available, but the current federal record does not provide a usable institution-wide average net price.

FEDERAL COST DATA

Four ways to read college price.

Annual college-wide figures from the current College Scorecard release. Average net price covers full-time, first-time undergraduates receiving federal aid; public-college figures use in-state students. Program tuition and individual aid offers may differ.

Published in-state tuitionNot available
Sticker price
Published out-of-state tuitionNot available
Sticker price
Average net priceNot available
Title IV student average
Cost of attendanceNot available
Tuition + living budget
PRICE SOURCECollege reported · annual amount · federal dataset
HOW STUDENTS ATTEND · 2023-24

Online study is a meaningful part of the student experience.

IPEDS enrollment counts show course delivery across the whole institution. They do not indicate whether a specific degree can be completed online.

Fully online4.9%
288 students
Some online courses43%
2,533 students
No online courses52%
3,034 students
Undergraduates age 25+38%
Share of undergraduate enrollment

Institution-level attendance context from IPEDS. Program delivery is reported separately on degree pages and in the program directory. These figures do not enter ROI.

College identity and local contextAccreditation, institution type, dual enrollment and state prices
COLLEGE AT A GLANCE

Institution details

Current federal characteristics describing the college, not the outcomes of a specific program.

Accreditor
Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges
Main award level
Bachelor’s degrees
Campus setting
City
Admissions
Not reported
Delivery
Campus or mixed delivery
Federal designation
No special designation reported
Sources: College Scorecard June 2026 release and IPEDS 2024 institutional characteristics.
STATE PRICE CONTEXT · 2024

Prices in Texas run 3% below the U.S. level.

BEA Regional Price Parities compare price levels across states. A value of 100 equals the national average.

Overall3% below U.S.
Goods2% below U.S.
Housing3% below U.S.
Utilities12% below U.S.
Other services3% below U.S.

Use this as geographic context, not a personal budget. It describes the state, not the campus neighborhood, and does not measure tuition or student-specific housing.

DegreeVerdict does not adjust reported earnings, college prices or ROI using this index.

Download the official BEA source →
THE NUMBERS BEHIND THE VERDICT

What it costs and what graduates earn

Not availableAverage net price / year
Not availableCost of attendance
$13,063Median federal student debt · completer borrowers
$138/moPublished 10-year payment estimate
$92,893Median earnings · year 5 after completion
Not availableCompletion rate
Not availableAdmission rate
465Student size

Debt covers federal student-loan borrowers who completed. It does not include Parent PLUS or private loans. We show admissions scores only when a valid federal value is available.

QUESTIONS ANSWERED

What the numbers say about The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston

What does The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston cost?

The current federal record does not provide a reliable average net price for The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston.

What do The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston graduates earn?

The observed median earnings figure is $92,893 5 years after completion. It describes a federal cohort, not a guaranteed starting salary.

How much federal debt do The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston graduates have?

Completer borrowers report median cumulative federal student debt of $13,063. Parent PLUS and private loans are not included.

Is every degree at The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston worth the same?

No. The current release contains 12 field-and-degree records for The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston; 12 report year-4 earnings and 2 report federal debt. Outcomes can differ substantially by field and degree level.

DEBT AFTER COLLEGE

Are borrowers making progress?

Repayment progress, default and debt at exit describe different federal borrower cohorts. They are shown separately and do not change the ROI estimate.

1 year84%Paid down at least $1 of principal
3 years86%Paid down at least $1 of principal
5 years86%Paid down at least $1 of principal
7 years89%Paid down at least $1 of principal
Students who completed$13,063Median federal debt · 561 borrowers
Students who withdrew$5,500Median federal debt · 80 borrowers
Three-year cohort default rate0%Federal cohort measure, not the share currently behind on payments

Source: College Scorecard. Repayment progress is the share of borrowers who reduced principal by at least $1 at the stated measurement point. Debt covers federal student loans; Parent PLUS and private loans are excluded. Cohorts and reporting periods differ across measures.

2024–25 ENROLLMENT

Who studied here during the year

5,927Students enrolled at any point
869Undergraduate students
5,058Graduate students

Unduplicated students enrolled at any point from July 1, 2024 through June 30, 2025. This full-year measure is different from a fall headcount and does not enter ROI.

More student and earnings detailPrice by family income, retention, equity and common industries
PRICE BY FAMILY INCOME

Average net price is not one price

Federal averages for aided students in each family-income band. Your aid offer can differ.

$0–30kNot available
$30–48kNot available
$48–75kNot available
$75–110kNot available
$110k+Not available
LONGER-TERM CONTEXT

What happens beyond the first earnings measure

Year 5$92,893
Year 6$89,371
Year 10$88,757
Full-time retention
Not available
Part-time retention
Not available
Completion within 200% of normal time
Not available

Earnings timepoints may use different historical cohorts and should not be read as one group’s guaranteed salary growth.

WHO PAYS, WHO FINISHES, WHO EARNS

Outcomes are not the same for every family.

These federal cohorts add context that a single college average can hide. Missing figures remain unreported rather than estimated.

Pell Grant studentsNot reported

Completion rate not reported

89% received a Pell Grant within eight years
Parent borrowing$17,920

Median Parent PLUS debt

72 parent borrowers in the reported cohort
First-generation students$12,500

Median federal student debt

87% making progress in repayment after three years
Student family incomeMedian earnings after 10 yearsObserved federal cohorts
Lower income$83,653Earnings are not a guarantee
Middle income$90,064Earnings are not a guarantee
Higher income$93,892Earnings are not a guarantee
Three-year repayment progress
Lower income83%
Middle income90%
Higher income87%
Undergraduate student composition
White20%
Black14%
Hispanic34%
Asian26%

Source: College Scorecard, June 2026 release. Parent PLUS debt belongs to parents; student-debt measures exclude Parent PLUS and private loans. Cohort definitions differ by measure.

INDEPENDENT CENSUS EARNINGS VIEW

How earnings develop by field

Privacy-protected Census employment records follow graduate cohorts one, five and ten years after completion. This source is kept separate from College Scorecard because its population and methodology differ.

Field and credentialYear 1Year 5Year 10
Advanced/Graduate Dentistry and Oral Sciences.Doctoral, professional practice · Broad federal field 51
$68,790Year 1
$141,895Year 5
$305,883Year 10
Dental Residency/Fellowship Programs.Master’s degree · Broad federal field 60
$177,857Year 1
$218,283Year 5
$270,972Year 10
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology.Master’s degree · Broad federal field 26
$57,658Year 1
$88,683Year 5
$142,864Year 10
Advanced/Graduate Dentistry and Oral Sciences.Master’s degree · Broad federal field 51
$85,554Year 1
$115,506Year 5
$142,773Year 10
Advanced/Graduate Dentistry and Oral Sciences.Doctoral, research/scholarship · Broad federal field 51
$167,655Year 1
$143,232Year 5
$142,581Year 10
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology.Doctoral, research/scholarship · Broad federal field 26
$72,138Year 1
$97,921Year 5
$125,915Year 10
Advanced/Graduate Dentistry and Oral Sciences.Bachelor’s degree · Broad federal field 51
$78,599Year 1
$94,716Year 5
$109,644Year 10
Advanced/Graduate Dentistry and Oral Sciences.Certificate, 1–2 years · Broad federal field 51
$70,135Year 1
$86,367Year 5
$74,301Year 10

Median annual earnings in 2023 dollars. Each time point may use a different pooled graduation cohort. Coverage is limited to institutions participating in the Census Post-Secondary Employment Outcomes program.

NATIONAL CONTEXT

How this college compares

Percentiles compare this institution with currently operating colleges that report the same federal measure.

98thEarnings percentile
WHAT STANDS OUT

A faster read on this college

These summaries use every reportable field-and-credential record at this institution. They do not fill privacy-suppressed outcomes.

$97,886Median year-4 earnings across reportable program categories
$21,988Median federal debt across categories that report debt
50%Of comparable categories above their same-field national benchmark
EARNINGS OVER TIME

What graduates earned in later years

$83,078Year 1
$101,125Year 4
$92,893Year 5

Each year can represent a different federal cohort, so the points do not track the same people over time.

DEGREES AT THIS COLLEGE

Your choice of degree can change the payoff.

Graduate earnings differ by field and credential, even within the same college.

1Advanced/Graduate Dentistry and Oral Sciences · Graduate/Professional Certificate$221,8092Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing · Doctoral Degree$197,0633Dentistry · First Professional Degree$136,7424Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing · Master's Degree$120,7085Medical Illustration and Informatics · Master's Degree$105,8376Medicine · First Professional Degree$102,8737Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing · Bachelor's Degree$92,8998Public Health · Master's Degree$81,983

Observed year-4 earnings · compare the same field and credential across colleges

Strongest relative outcomes

Programs that stand out against the same-degree benchmark

This view rewards performance relative to the same field and credential, not simply majors that pay more everywhere.

1Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingDoctoral Degree · $197,063 reported+43%vs same-degree national medianNot availablefederal debt2Mental and Social Health Services and Allied ProfessionsMaster's Degree · $80,384 reported+35%vs same-degree national medianNot availablefederal debt3Advanced/Graduate Dentistry and Oral SciencesGraduate/Professional Certificate · $221,809 reported+7%vs same-degree national medianNot availablefederal debt4Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingBachelor's Degree · $92,899 reported+4%vs same-degree national median$20,500federal debt5Medical Illustration and InformaticsMaster's Degree · $105,837 reported+4%vs same-degree national medianNot availablefederal debt6Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingMaster's Degree · $120,708 reported+0%vs same-degree national medianNot availablefederal debt
BUILD A REAL SHORTLIST

Comparable colleges in TX

Currently operating public institutions with the closest combination of annual net price and observed year-5 earnings. Similarity is descriptive, not a quality ranking.

Lake Jackson, TX

Brazosport College

Annual net price
$4,732
Observed earnings · year 5
$64,465
Modeled 10-year ROI
-2%
Open college profile →
Arlington, TX

The University of Texas at Arlington

Annual net price
$13,951
Observed earnings · year 5
$73,224
Modeled 10-year ROI
+20%
Open college profile →
Texas City, TX

College of the Mainland

Annual net price
$1,342
Observed earnings · year 5
$60,253
Modeled 10-year ROI
-18%
Open college profile →
Austin, TX

The University of Texas at Austin

Annual net price
$19,857
Observed earnings · year 5
$74,802
Modeled 10-year ROI
+15%
Open college profile →
DEGREE OUTCOMES

Compare fields and degree levels

Showing all 12 field-and-degree records in the current release.

Major or fieldDegree levelEarnings, year 4Federal debt2024–25 graduates
Advanced/Graduate Dentistry and Oral SciencesGraduate/Professional Certificate$221,809Not availableNot reported
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingDoctoral Degree$197,063Not available57
DentistryFirst Professional Degree$136,742Not availableNot reported
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingMaster's Degree$120,708Not availableNot reported
Medical Illustration and InformaticsMaster's Degree$105,837Not availableNot reported
MedicineFirst Professional Degree$102,873Not availableNot reported
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingBachelor's Degree$92,899$20,500Not reported
Public HealthMaster's Degree$81,983Not availableNot reported
Health and Medical Administrative ServicesMaster's Degree$80,580Not availableNot reported
Mental and Social Health Services and Allied ProfessionsMaster's Degree$80,384Not availableNot reported
Ecology, Evolution, Systematics, and Population BiologyMaster's Degree$74,534Not availableNot reported
Dental Support Services and Allied ProfessionsBachelor's Degree$64,980$23,475Not reported

Graduate counts come from IPEDS and group related majors into the same federal field. Missing earnings or debt values remain labeled as unavailable.

Earnings, price, completion and enrollment are observed federal measures. ROI, payoff and break-even are modeled scenarios built from those measures and fixed assumptions. College payoff is not the payoff of every degree at this school; use the program table for a more precise comparison.