Public · COLLEGE PAYOFF

University of Arkansas

Fayetteville, AR · 72 field-and-degree records

Earnings reported for 70 · Federal debt reported for 55

Based onObserved earnings + college priceEstimate10-year payoff
Estimated 10-year payoff
Negative payoff

−$61,306 over 10 years

Modeled from observed year-5 institution earnings and the institution-wide average net price over four years.

13.2 yrsTime to earn back the modeled cost
−24%Estimated return after 10 years
$64,153Observed earnings · year 5
$2,883Highest annual price before payoff reaches $0

The price benchmark would need to fall by $15,327 per year to reach it.

Start with your question

What do you want to understand?

ECONOMIC INVESTMENT → PAYBACK

Estimated payoff over ten years.

The scenario counts direct price and earnings forgone upfront, then applies the reported annual earnings premium.

10-YEAR PAYOFF CURVECumulative economic payoff after graduation
−$61,306at year 10
Net gainInvestment not yet recovered
NET GAIN$0UNRECOVERED
−$252,8360
2
4
6
8
−$61,30610
Years after graduationBreak-even: 13.2 years
FEDERAL COST DATA

Four ways to read college price.

Annual college-wide figures from the current College Scorecard release. Average net price covers full-time, first-time undergraduates receiving federal aid; public-college figures use in-state students. Program tuition and individual aid offers may differ.

Published in-state tuition$10,104
Sticker price
Published out-of-state tuition$29,966
Sticker price
Average net price$18,209
Title IV student average
Cost of attendance$27,767
Tuition + living budget
PRICE SOURCECollege reported · annual amount · federal dataset
PUBLISHED STUDENT BUDGET · 2024–25

What makes up the annual price?

Sticker-price components reported to IPEDS. Grants and scholarships are not subtracted here.

Tuition and required fees$10,104$29,966 for out-of-state students
Books and supplies$1,154Estimated academic-year allowance
On-campus housing and food$14,244$5,928 in other expenses reported separately
Estimated on-campus total$31,430Sum of available published components, before aid

Living off campus: $14,244 housing and food allowance plus $5,928 in other expenses.

Do not confuse this with net price. Net price subtracts average grants and scholarships. DegreeVerdict continues to use the separately labeled average net price in its standard college ROI scenario.

PRICE SENSITIVITY

The price can change the verdict.

Hold observed earnings constant and see how the modeled ten-year payoff changes as annual price rises.

What stays fixed$64,153 observed annual earnings · 4 years of study · $45,000 alternative annual earnings · ten-year horizonThe marked price is this college’s institution-wide average net price, not your personal aid offer. This is a sensitivity test, not a tuition quote or earnings forecast.
HOW STUDENTS ATTEND · 2023-24

Online study is a meaningful part of the student experience.

IPEDS enrollment counts show course delivery across the whole institution. They do not indicate whether a specific degree can be completed online.

Fully online13%
4,358 students
Some online courses39%
13,370 students
No online courses49%
16,874 students
Undergraduates age 25+6.8%
Share of undergraduate enrollment

Institution-level attendance context from IPEDS. Program delivery is reported separately on degree pages and in the program directory. These figures do not enter ROI.

College identity and local contextAccreditation, institution type, dual enrollment and state prices
COLLEGE AT A GLANCE

Institution details

Current federal characteristics describing the college, not the outcomes of a specific program.

Accreditor
Higher Learning Commission
Main award level
Bachelor’s degrees
Campus setting
City
Admissions
Selective admission
Delivery
Campus or mixed delivery
Federal designation
Land-grant institution
Sources: College Scorecard June 2026 release and IPEDS 2024 institutional characteristics.
DUAL-ENROLLMENT CONTEXT · 2024

17 high-school students took college courses.

IPEDS counts students enrolled in college credit while still in high school. A large dual-enrollment population can shape headline enrollment figures, especially at community colleges.

This is participation, not a college completion rate. It does not indicate how many students later enrolled after high school, earned a credential or entered the workforce.

STATE PRICE CONTEXT · 2024

Prices in Arkansas run 13% below the U.S. level.

BEA Regional Price Parities compare price levels across states. A value of 100 equals the national average.

Overall13% below U.S.
Goods6% below U.S.
Housing42% below U.S.
Utilities25% below U.S.
Other services5% below U.S.

Use this as geographic context, not a personal budget. It describes the state, not the campus neighborhood, and does not measure tuition or student-specific housing.

DegreeVerdict does not adjust reported earnings, college prices or ROI using this index.

Download the official BEA source →
THE NUMBERS BEHIND THE VERDICT

What it costs and what graduates earn

$18,209Average net price / year
$27,767Cost of attendance
$21,500Median federal student debt · completer borrowers
$228/moPublished 10-year payment estimate
$64,153Median earnings · year 5 after completion
70.5%Completion rate
74.3%Admission rate
1,169Average SAT score
25ACT midpoint
28,677Student size

Debt covers federal student-loan borrowers who completed. It does not include Parent PLUS or private loans. We show admissions scores only when a valid federal value is available.

QUESTIONS ANSWERED

What the numbers say about University of Arkansas

What does University of Arkansas cost?

University of Arkansas reports an average annual net price of $18,209 after grants and scholarships. This is an institution-wide average, not an individual aid offer.

What do University of Arkansas graduates earn?

The observed median earnings figure is $64,153 5 years after completion. It describes a federal cohort, not a guaranteed starting salary.

How much federal debt do University of Arkansas graduates have?

Completer borrowers report median cumulative federal student debt of $21,500. Parent PLUS and private loans are not included.

Is every degree at University of Arkansas worth the same?

No. The current release contains 72 field-and-degree records for University of Arkansas; 70 report year-4 earnings and 55 report federal debt. Outcomes can differ substantially by field and degree level.

DEBT AFTER COLLEGE

Are borrowers making progress?

Repayment progress, default and debt at exit describe different federal borrower cohorts. They are shown separately and do not change the ROI estimate.

1 year65%Paid down at least $1 of principal
3 years67%Paid down at least $1 of principal
5 years70%Paid down at least $1 of principal
7 years72%Paid down at least $1 of principal
Students who completed$21,500Median federal debt · 4,882 borrowers
Students who withdrew$8,066Median federal debt · 3,285 borrowers
Three-year cohort default rate0%Federal cohort measure, not the share currently behind on payments

Source: College Scorecard. Repayment progress is the share of borrowers who reduced principal by at least $1 at the stated measurement point. Debt covers federal student loans; Parent PLUS and private loans are excluded. Cohorts and reporting periods differ across measures.

2024–25 ENROLLMENT

Who studied here during the year

35,899Students enrolled at any point
30,360Undergraduate students
5,539Graduate students

Unduplicated students enrolled at any point from July 1, 2024 through June 30, 2025. This full-year measure is different from a fall headcount and does not enter ROI.

More student and earnings detailPrice by family income, retention, equity and common industries
PRICE BY FAMILY INCOME

Average net price is not one price

Federal averages for aided students in each family-income band. Your aid offer can differ.

$0–30k$14,319
$30–48k$14,322
$48–75k$15,934
$75–110k$20,772
$110k+$22,470
LONGER-TERM CONTEXT

What happens beyond the first earnings measure

Year 5$64,153
Year 6$49,686
Year 10$58,191
Full-time retention
86.4%
Part-time retention
63.0%
Completion within 200% of normal time
70.6%

Earnings timepoints may use different historical cohorts and should not be read as one group’s guaranteed salary growth.

WHO PAYS, WHO FINISHES, WHO EARNS

Outcomes are not the same for every family.

These federal cohorts add context that a single college average can hide. Missing figures remain unreported rather than estimated.

Pell Grant students55%

Complete within 150% of the expected time

56% received a Pell Grant within eight years
Parent borrowing$24,038

Median Parent PLUS debt

1,755 parent borrowers in the reported cohort
First-generation students$15,250

Median federal student debt

63% making progress in repayment after three years
Student family incomeMedian earnings after 10 yearsObserved federal cohorts
Lower income$52,171Earnings are not a guarantee
Middle income$57,047Earnings are not a guarantee
Higher income$65,077Earnings are not a guarantee
Three-year repayment progress
Lower income59%
Middle income68%
Higher income74%
Undergraduate student composition
White74%
Black4%
Hispanic12%
Asian3%

Source: College Scorecard, June 2026 release. Parent PLUS debt belongs to parents; student-debt measures exclude Parent PLUS and private loans. Cohort definitions differ by measure.

NATIONAL CONTEXT

How this college compares

Percentiles compare this institution with currently operating colleges that report the same federal measure.

84thEarnings percentile
68thCompletion percentile
WHAT STANDS OUT

A faster read on this college

These summaries use every reportable field-and-credential record at this institution. They do not fill privacy-suppressed outcomes.

$63,628Median year-4 earnings across reportable program categories
$24,225Median federal debt across categories that report debt
44%Of comparable categories above their same-field national benchmark
EARNINGS OVER TIME

What graduates earned in later years

$47,767Year 1
$68,890Year 4
$64,153Year 5

Each year can represent a different federal cohort, so the points do not track the same people over time.

DEGREES AT THIS COLLEGE

Your choice of degree can change the payoff.

Graduate earnings differ by field and credential, even within the same college.

1Business Administration, Management and Operations · Master's Degree$157,3582Management Sciences and Quantitative Methods · Master's Degree$151,9853Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing · Doctoral Degree$136,2594Engineering, General · Master's Degree$123,8345Engineering-Related Fields · Master's Degree$116,7746Educational Administration and Supervision · Doctoral Degree$105,3437Computer and Information Sciences, General · Bachelor's Degree$102,7478Computer Engineering · Bachelor's Degree$99,031

Observed year-4 earnings · compare the same field and credential across colleges

Strongest relative outcomes

Programs that stand out against the same-degree benchmark

This view rewards performance relative to the same field and credential, not simply majors that pay more everywhere.

1Business Administration, Management and OperationsMaster's Degree · $157,358 reported+52%vs same-degree national medianNot availablefederal debt2Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Facilities ManagementMaster's Degree · $75,025 reported+30%vs same-degree national medianNot availablefederal debt3Design and Applied ArtsBachelor's Degree · $65,780 reported+28%vs same-degree national median$23,881federal debt4Business/Managerial EconomicsBachelor's Degree · $97,743 reported+25%vs same-degree national median$19,500federal debt5Management Sciences and Quantitative MethodsMaster's Degree · $151,985 reported+22%vs same-degree national medianNot availablefederal debt6JournalismBachelor's Degree · $66,087 reported+17%vs same-degree national median$21,500federal debt
BUILD A REAL SHORTLIST

Comparable colleges in AR

Currently operating public institutions with the closest combination of annual net price and observed year-5 earnings. Similarity is descriptive, not a quality ranking.

Little Rock, AR

University of Arkansas at Little Rock

Annual net price
$17,248
Observed earnings · year 5
$56,583
Modeled 10-year ROI
-53%
Open college profile →
Conway, AR

University of Central Arkansas

Annual net price
$16,511
Observed earnings · year 5
$51,207
Modeled 10-year ROI
-75%
Open college profile →
Magnolia, AR

Southern Arkansas University Main Campus

Annual net price
$14,027
Observed earnings · year 5
$48,919
Modeled 10-year ROI
-83%
Open college profile →
Malvern, AR

Arkansas State University Three Rivers

Annual net price
$8,070
Observed earnings · year 5
$53,496
Modeled 10-year ROI
-60%
Open college profile →
DEGREE OUTCOMES

Compare fields and degree levels

Showing the 40 highest-earning records from 72 field-and-degree records. Use the program directory to search the complete set.

Major or fieldDegree levelEarnings, year 4Federal debt2024–25 graduates
Business Administration, Management and OperationsMaster's Degree$157,358Not availableNot reported
Management Sciences and Quantitative MethodsMaster's Degree$151,985Not availableNot reported
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingDoctoral Degree$136,259Not available7
Engineering, GeneralMaster's Degree$123,834Not availableNot reported
Engineering-Related FieldsMaster's Degree$116,774Not availableNot reported
Educational Administration and SupervisionDoctoral Degree$105,343Not available28
Computer and Information Sciences, GeneralBachelor's Degree$102,747$26,500Not reported
Computer EngineeringBachelor's Degree$99,031$26,500Not reported
Industrial EngineeringBachelor's Degree$98,765$26,500Not reported
Business/Managerial EconomicsBachelor's Degree$97,743$19,500Not reported
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications EngineeringBachelor's Degree$97,516$21,240Not reported
Accounting and Related ServicesMaster's Degree$96,213Not availableNot reported
Computer ScienceBachelor's Degree$95,642$21,343Not reported
Chemical EngineeringBachelor's Degree$93,641$22,750Not reported
LawFirst Professional Degree$88,977Not availableNot reported
Management Sciences and Quantitative MethodsBachelor's Degree$88,067$22,65528
Finance and Financial Management ServicesBachelor's Degree$87,717$22,924Not reported
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingBachelor's Degree$84,911$24,327Not reported
Mechanical EngineeringBachelor's Degree$84,464$23,014Not reported
Accounting and Related ServicesBachelor's Degree$84,097$25,914Not reported
Civil EngineeringBachelor's Degree$79,929$26,875Not reported
Business Administration, Management and OperationsBachelor's Degree$79,770$21,500Not reported
Biomedical/Medical EngineeringBachelor's Degree$75,972$27,000Not reported
Biological/Biosystems EngineeringBachelor's Degree$75,596Not availableNot reported
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Facilities ManagementMaster's Degree$75,025Not availableNot reported
MarketingBachelor's Degree$73,153$21,500Not reported
Business/Commerce, GeneralBachelor's Degree$71,753$29,625Not reported
International BusinessBachelor's Degree$71,486$18,665Not reported
ArchitectureBachelor's Degree$67,955$27,250Not reported
Public HealthBachelor's Degree$67,891$25,595Not reported
JournalismBachelor's Degree$66,087$21,500Not reported
Design and Applied ArtsBachelor's Degree$65,780$23,881Not reported
Agricultural Business and ManagementBachelor's Degree$65,480$18,909Not reported
Educational Administration and SupervisionMaster's Degree$64,018Not available10
MathematicsBachelor's Degree$63,861$16,500Not reported
Apparel and TextilesBachelor's Degree$63,394$25,225Not reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject AreasMaster's Degree$62,654Not availableNot reported
Communication Disorders Sciences and ServicesBachelor's Degree$62,592$25,000Not reported
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment ProfessionsMaster's Degree$62,448Not availableNot reported
Communication Disorders Sciences and ServicesMaster's Degree$61,206Not available6

Graduate counts come from IPEDS and group related majors into the same federal field. Missing earnings or debt values remain labeled as unavailable.

Search every University of Arkansas program record →

Earnings, price, completion and enrollment are observed federal measures. ROI, payoff and break-even are modeled scenarios built from those measures and fixed assumptions. College payoff is not the payoff of every degree at this school; use the program table for a more precise comparison.