Public · COLLEGE PAYOFF

Wayne State University

Detroit, MI · 98 field-and-degree records

Earnings reported for 93 · Federal debt reported for 55

Based onObserved earnings + college priceEstimate10-year payoff
Estimated 10-year payoff
Negative payoff

−$58,004 over 10 years

Modeled from observed year-5 institution earnings and the institution-wide average net price over four years.

13.4 yrsTime to earn back the modeled cost
−25%Estimated return after 10 years
$62,306Observed earnings · year 5
Not reachedHighest annual price before payoff reaches $0
Start with your question

What do you want to understand?

ECONOMIC INVESTMENT → PAYBACK

Estimated payoff over ten years.

The scenario counts direct price and earnings forgone upfront, then applies the reported annual earnings premium.

10-YEAR PAYOFF CURVECumulative economic payoff after graduation
−$58,004at year 10
Net gainInvestment not yet recovered
NET GAIN$0UNRECOVERED
−$231,0640
2
4
6
8
−$58,00410
Years after graduationBreak-even: 13.4 years
FEDERAL COST DATA

Four ways to read college price.

Annual college-wide figures from the current College Scorecard release. Average net price covers full-time, first-time undergraduates receiving federal aid; public-college figures use in-state students. Program tuition and individual aid offers may differ.

Published in-state tuition$15,190
Sticker price
Published out-of-state tuition$32,037
Sticker price
Average net price$12,766
Title IV student average
Cost of attendance$27,350
Tuition + living budget
PRICE SOURCECollege reported · annual amount · federal dataset
PUBLISHED STUDENT BUDGET · 2024–25

What makes up the annual price?

Sticker-price components reported to IPEDS. Grants and scholarships are not subtracted here.

Tuition and required fees$15,190$32,037 for out-of-state students
Books and supplies$1,360Estimated academic-year allowance
On-campus housing and food$14,252$4,314 in other expenses reported separately
Estimated on-campus total$35,116Sum of available published components, before aid

Living off campus: $14,252 housing and food allowance plus $4,314 in other expenses.

Do not confuse this with net price. Net price subtracts average grants and scholarships. DegreeVerdict continues to use the separately labeled average net price in its standard college ROI scenario.

PRICE SENSITIVITY

The price can change the verdict.

Hold observed earnings constant and see how the modeled ten-year payoff changes as annual price rises.

What stays fixed$62,306 observed annual earnings · 4 years of study · $45,000 alternative annual earnings · ten-year horizonThe marked price is this college’s institution-wide average net price, not your personal aid offer. This is a sensitivity test, not a tuition quote or earnings forecast.
HOW STUDENTS ATTEND · 2023-24

Online study is a meaningful part of the student experience.

IPEDS enrollment counts show course delivery across the whole institution. They do not indicate whether a specific degree can be completed online.

Fully online17%
4,747 students
Some online courses43%
12,132 students
No online courses40%
11,172 students
Undergraduates age 25+15%
Share of undergraduate enrollment

Institution-level attendance context from IPEDS. Program delivery is reported separately on degree pages and in the program directory. These figures do not enter ROI.

College identity and local contextAccreditation, institution type, dual enrollment and state prices
COLLEGE AT A GLANCE

Institution details

Current federal characteristics describing the college, not the outcomes of a specific program.

Accreditor
Higher Learning Commission
Main award level
Bachelor’s degrees
Campus setting
City
Admissions
Selective admission
Delivery
Campus or mixed delivery
Federal designation
No special designation reported
Sources: College Scorecard June 2026 release and IPEDS 2024 institutional characteristics.
DUAL-ENROLLMENT CONTEXT · 2024

252 high-school students took college courses.

IPEDS counts students enrolled in college credit while still in high school. A large dual-enrollment population can shape headline enrollment figures, especially at community colleges.

This is participation, not a college completion rate. It does not indicate how many students later enrolled after high school, earned a credential or entered the workforce.

STATE PRICE CONTEXT · 2024

Prices in Michigan run 4% below the U.S. level.

BEA Regional Price Parities compare price levels across states. A value of 100 equals the national average.

Overall4% below U.S.
Goods4% below U.S.
Housing18% below U.S.
Utilities0% above U.S.
Other services1% above U.S.

Use this as geographic context, not a personal budget. It describes the state, not the campus neighborhood, and does not measure tuition or student-specific housing.

DegreeVerdict does not adjust reported earnings, college prices or ROI using this index.

Download the official BEA source →
THE NUMBERS BEHIND THE VERDICT

What it costs and what graduates earn

$12,766Average net price / year
$27,350Cost of attendance
$21,250Median federal student debt · completer borrowers
$225/moPublished 10-year payment estimate
$62,306Median earnings · year 5 after completion
58.4%Completion rate
81.2%Admission rate
1,156Average SAT score
25ACT midpoint
15,587Student size

Debt covers federal student-loan borrowers who completed. It does not include Parent PLUS or private loans. We show admissions scores only when a valid federal value is available.

QUESTIONS ANSWERED

What the numbers say about Wayne State University

What does Wayne State University cost?

Wayne State University reports an average annual net price of $12,766 after grants and scholarships. This is an institution-wide average, not an individual aid offer.

What do Wayne State University graduates earn?

The observed median earnings figure is $62,306 5 years after completion. It describes a federal cohort, not a guaranteed starting salary.

How much federal debt do Wayne State University graduates have?

Completer borrowers report median cumulative federal student debt of $21,250. Parent PLUS and private loans are not included.

Is every degree at Wayne State University worth the same?

No. The current release contains 98 field-and-degree records for Wayne State University; 93 report year-4 earnings and 55 report federal debt. Outcomes can differ substantially by field and degree level.

DEBT AFTER COLLEGE

Are borrowers making progress?

Repayment progress, default and debt at exit describe different federal borrower cohorts. They are shown separately and do not change the ROI estimate.

1 year32%Paid down at least $1 of principal
3 years38%Paid down at least $1 of principal
5 years45%Paid down at least $1 of principal
7 years50%Paid down at least $1 of principal
Students who completed$21,250Median federal debt · 5,583 borrowers
Students who withdrew$10,866Median federal debt · 4,604 borrowers
Three-year cohort default rate0%Federal cohort measure, not the share currently behind on payments

Source: College Scorecard. Repayment progress is the share of borrowers who reduced principal by at least $1 at the stated measurement point. Debt covers federal student loans; Parent PLUS and private loans are excluded. Cohorts and reporting periods differ across measures.

2024–25 ENROLLMENT

Who studied here during the year

26,860Students enrolled at any point
17,985Undergraduate students
8,875Graduate students

Unduplicated students enrolled at any point from July 1, 2024 through June 30, 2025. This full-year measure is different from a fall headcount and does not enter ROI.

More student and earnings detailPrice by family income, retention, equity and common industries
PRICE BY FAMILY INCOME

Average net price is not one price

Federal averages for aided students in each family-income band. Your aid offer can differ.

$0–30k$11,090
$30–48k$10,721
$48–75k$12,068
$75–110k$14,828
$110k+$19,862
LONGER-TERM CONTEXT

What happens beyond the first earnings measure

Year 5$62,306
Year 6$45,207
Year 10$53,493
Full-time retention
82.7%
Part-time retention
43.0%
Completion within 200% of normal time
63.3%

Earnings timepoints may use different historical cohorts and should not be read as one group’s guaranteed salary growth.

WHO PAYS, WHO FINISHES, WHO EARNS

Outcomes are not the same for every family.

These federal cohorts add context that a single college average can hide. Missing figures remain unreported rather than estimated.

Pell Grant students52%

Complete within 150% of the expected time

58% received a Pell Grant within eight years
Parent borrowing$14,337

Median Parent PLUS debt

1,266 parent borrowers in the reported cohort
First-generation students$17,176

Median federal student debt

36% making progress in repayment after three years
Student family incomeMedian earnings after 10 yearsObserved federal cohorts
Lower income$49,271Earnings are not a guarantee
Middle income$56,907Earnings are not a guarantee
Higher income$60,405Earnings are not a guarantee
Three-year repayment progress
Lower income32%
Middle income42%
Higher income54%
Undergraduate student composition
White53%
Black18%
Hispanic8%
Asian14%

Source: College Scorecard, June 2026 release. Parent PLUS debt belongs to parents; student-debt measures exclude Parent PLUS and private loans. Cohort definitions differ by measure.

NATIONAL CONTEXT

How this college compares

Percentiles compare this institution with currently operating colleges that report the same federal measure.

83thEarnings percentile
50thCompletion percentile
WHAT STANDS OUT

A faster read on this college

These summaries use every reportable field-and-credential record at this institution. They do not fill privacy-suppressed outcomes.

$66,774Median year-4 earnings across reportable program categories
$26,000Median federal debt across categories that report debt
52%Of comparable categories above their same-field national benchmark
EARNINGS OVER TIME

What graduates earned in later years

$50,183Year 1
$68,551Year 4
$62,306Year 5

Each year can represent a different federal cohort, so the points do not track the same people over time.

DEGREES AT THIS COLLEGE

Your choice of degree can change the payoff.

Graduate earnings differ by field and credential, even within the same college.

1Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing · Master's Degree$137,4802Pharmacy, Pharmaceutical Sciences, and Administration · Doctoral Degree$130,6423Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions · Master's Degree$130,5484Psychology, General · Doctoral Degree$120,9015Business Administration, Management and Operations · Master's Degree$116,3266Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering · Master's Degree$115,1607Mechanical Engineering · Master's Degree$114,7588Industrial Engineering · Master's Degree$112,213

Observed year-4 earnings · compare the same field and credential across colleges

Strongest relative outcomes

Programs that stand out against the same-degree benchmark

This view rewards performance relative to the same field and credential, not simply majors that pay more everywhere.

1Allied Health and Medical Assisting ServicesBachelor's Degree · $99,777 reported+46%vs same-degree national medianNot availablefederal debt2English Language and Literature, GeneralMaster's Degree · $76,201 reported+37%vs same-degree national medianNot availablefederal debt3Health Professions and Related Clinical Sciences, OtherBachelor's Degree · $92,707 reported+36%vs same-degree national median$18,599federal debt4Mental and Social Health Services and Allied ProfessionsMaster's Degree · $79,789 reported+34%vs same-degree national medianNot availablefederal debt5Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and HumanitiesBachelor's Degree · $66,426 reported+25%vs same-degree national median$18,028federal debt6Psychology, GeneralDoctoral Degree · $120,901 reported+22%vs same-degree national medianNot availablefederal debt
BUILD A REAL SHORTLIST

Comparable colleges in MI

Currently operating public institutions with the closest combination of annual net price and observed year-5 earnings. Similarity is descriptive, not a quality ranking.

Rochester Hills, MI

Oakland University

Annual net price
$9,120
Observed earnings · year 5
$61,905
Modeled 10-year ROI
-22%
Open college profile →
Big Rapids, MI

Ferris State University

Annual net price
$8,624
Observed earnings · year 5
$62,890
Modeled 10-year ROI
-17%
Open college profile →
Sault Ste Marie, MI

Lake Superior State University

Annual net price
$12,822
Observed earnings · year 5
$57,223
Modeled 10-year ROI
-47%
Open college profile →
Kalamazoo, MI

Western Michigan University

Annual net price
$15,273
Observed earnings · year 5
$59,173
Modeled 10-year ROI
-41%
Open college profile →
DEGREE OUTCOMES

Compare fields and degree levels

Showing the 40 highest-earning records from 98 field-and-degree records. Use the program directory to search the complete set.

Major or fieldDegree levelEarnings, year 4Federal debt2024–25 graduates
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingMaster's Degree$137,480Not available4
Pharmacy, Pharmaceutical Sciences, and AdministrationDoctoral Degree$130,642Not available76
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment ProfessionsMaster's Degree$130,548Not availableNot reported
Psychology, GeneralDoctoral Degree$120,901Not available11
Business Administration, Management and OperationsMaster's Degree$116,326Not availableNot reported
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications EngineeringMaster's Degree$115,160Not availableNot reported
Mechanical EngineeringMaster's Degree$114,758Not availableNot reported
Industrial EngineeringMaster's Degree$112,213Not availableNot reported
Civil EngineeringMaster's Degree$108,995Not availableNot reported
MedicineFirst Professional Degree$106,280Not availableNot reported
Biomedical/Medical EngineeringBachelor's Degree$106,048$19,3956
Computer and Information Sciences, GeneralBachelor's Degree$104,630$20,672Not reported
Biomedical/Medical EngineeringMaster's Degree$103,906Not availableNot reported
Industrial EngineeringBachelor's Degree$101,990$24,340Not reported
Educational Administration and SupervisionGraduate/Professional Certificate$101,268Not availableNot reported
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications EngineeringBachelor's Degree$100,944$25,350Not reported
Allied Health and Medical Assisting ServicesBachelor's Degree$99,777Not availableNot reported
Mechanical Engineering Related Technologies/TechniciansBachelor's Degree$97,257Not availableNot reported
Accounting and Related ServicesMaster's Degree$97,023Not availableNot reported
Electrical/Electronic Engineering Technologies/TechniciansBachelor's Degree$96,821$33,351Not reported
LawFirst Professional Degree$96,763Not availableNot reported
Mechanical EngineeringBachelor's Degree$94,869$24,140Not reported
Chemical EngineeringBachelor's Degree$93,047$29,900Not reported
Health Professions and Related Clinical Sciences, OtherBachelor's Degree$92,707$18,599Not reported
Communication and Media StudiesMaster's Degree$87,918Not availableNot reported
Rehabilitation and Therapeutic ProfessionsDoctoral Degree$86,415Not available32
Public HealthMaster's Degree$84,780Not available1
Construction Engineering Technology/TechnicianBachelor's Degree$84,695Not availableNot reported
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingBachelor's Degree$84,405$30,165Not reported
Civil EngineeringBachelor's Degree$84,157$30,548Not reported
City/Urban, Community, and Regional PlanningMaster's Degree$81,363Not availableNot reported
Management Information Systems and ServicesBachelor's Degree$80,630$23,250Not reported
International BusinessBachelor's Degree$79,882$23,472Not reported
Mental and Social Health Services and Allied ProfessionsMaster's Degree$79,789Not available7
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment ProfessionsBachelor's Degree$78,391$26,000Not reported
Bilingual, Multilingual, and Multicultural EducationMaster's Degree$76,774Not availableNot reported
Clinical, Counseling and Applied PsychologyMaster's Degree$76,420Not available9
English Language and Literature, GeneralMaster's Degree$76,201Not availableNot reported
Finance and Financial Management ServicesBachelor's Degree$74,703$21,500Not reported
Educational Administration and SupervisionMaster's Degree$73,978Not available24

Graduate counts come from IPEDS and group related majors into the same federal field. Missing earnings or debt values remain labeled as unavailable.

Search every Wayne State University program record →

Earnings, price, completion and enrollment are observed federal measures. ROI, payoff and break-even are modeled scenarios built from those measures and fixed assumptions. College payoff is not the payoff of every degree at this school; use the program table for a more precise comparison.