← Program directory
COLLEGE + DEGREE OUTCOMES

Chemistry doctoral degree at University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign

Champaign, IL · Public

What this page covers

Federal data group related majors at the same college and degree level. One record can include several named programs or concentrations.

The short version

Reported earnings are notably above similar programs.

$15,892 above the national median for the same field and degree level.

Debt as a share of earnings
Not available
Highest price with a positive payoff
$170,695 / year
Modeled 10-year payoff
Withheld by data safeguards
Available price data
College-wide context only
OUTCOME SIGNALS

Graduate outcomes from several angles.

Follow earnings over time and inspect the cohort behind each federal measure.

+8%Earnings growth, year 1 → 5$101,242 → $108,980
Not availableEarn above high-school thresholdGraduate count in the year-4 cohort
Not availableWorking in the college’s stateGraduate count in the year-4 cohort
24Year-5 earnings observationsCohort behind the year-5 median
Not availableBorrowers representedCohort behind the debt median
Not availableAwarding-school debtDebt attributed to the college granting the credential
42Recent awardsIPEDS 2024–25 first-major completions in this field and credential
NEW FEDERAL PROGRAM CONTEXT

Size, aid and an earnings floor.

The Department of Education’s 2026 informational preview adds current program participation and a preliminary earnings comparison. It does not make a final eligibility determination.

115Students receiving federal aid2024–25 Title IV enrollment
15Federal-aid completers2024–25 program completers
Not reportedPell Grant recipients2024–25 program count
Not reportedFederal loan borrowers2024–25 unduplicated count
25Graduates not recorded as employedHistorical federal cohort, three years after completion
Preliminary federal earnings benchmark$59,600Informational preview, not a final accountability result
Observed year-4 earnings$131,278$71,678 above the preliminary benchmark

Source: U.S. Department of Education PPD:2026 informational preview. Program categories use OPEID, four-digit field and credential level; federal-aid counts do not represent every enrolled student. Completion and employment measures use older cohorts shown above and are not combined into the payoff estimate.

GRADUATE-DEGREE BASELINE

$131,278 vs. $65,120

$66,158 above the national bachelor’s median in the same field.

Comparison basis213 bachelor’s program records

This is a cross-cohort benchmark, not the salary increase caused by earning this graduate credential. Your current earnings remain the correct baseline for personal ROI.

01 · PRICE CONTEXT$14,355

Institution-wide annual average net price, not this program’s price.

02 · BORROWINGNot available

Median federal debt across schools attended at this academic level.

03 · EARNINGS$131,278

Observed median earnings four full years after completion.

04 · REPAYMENTNot available

Estimated standard 10-year federal payment.

WHAT WILL IT COST?

Published college costs provide the starting point.

Your exact offering, aid, residency and time to finish determine the price you actually pay.

Enter my price →
AVERAGE NET PRICE$14,355Institution-wide annual figure
COST OF ATTENDANCE$33,642Institution-wide annual budget
ADMISSION RATE42.4%Institution context
COMPLETION RATE85.1%Institution-wide completion rate
WHAT DO GRADUATES EARN?

Reported earnings after completion.

Each point may represent a different federal cohort. A missing bar means the figure was unavailable or suppressed.

$101,242Year 1
$131,278Year 4
$108,980Year 5
CAN THE EARNINGS SUPPORT THE DEBT?

Repayment pressure is not available

Estimated monthly payment divided by observed gross monthly earnings. This excludes taxes, other debts and income-driven repayment.

Gross monthly earnings$10,940
Estimated loan paymentNot available
Not availableborrowers represented where reported
HOW DOES IT COMPARE?

$131,278 vs. $115,386

$15,892 above the national median for the same field and credential.

Same-field national median
WHAT WORK CAN IT LEAD TO?

Related occupations, wages and outlook.

Official CIP–SOC links show careers the curriculum may prepare students for, not observed jobs held by this school’s graduates. BLS wages describe everyone working in an occupation.

BLS May 2025 wage estimates and 2025–35 employment projections.
Natural Sciences Managers$159,670 median wageIL estimate · 2,810 jobs · 11-9121$115,190–$208,440 middle 50% of IL wages+8.2% projected U.S. growth · 9,200 openings/yrTypical entry: Bachelor's degreeChemistry Teachers, Postsecondary$97,860 median wageIL estimate · 880 jobs · 25-1052$63,490–$125,550 middle 50% of IL wages+2.3% projected U.S. growth · 1,700 openings/yrTypical entry: Doctoral or professional degreeChemists$85,230 median wageIL estimate · 3,040 jobs · 19-2031$71,160–$123,290 middle 50% of IL wages+6.4% projected U.S. growth · 5,900 openings/yrTypical entry: Bachelor's degreeChemical Technicians$61,890 median wageIL estimate · 1,320 jobs · 19-4031$48,650–$80,990 middle 50% of IL wages+4.9% projected U.S. growth · 7,600 openings/yrTypical entry: Associate's degreeForensic Science Technicians$124,790 median wageIL estimate · 370 jobs · 19-4092$79,190–$129,590 middle 50% of IL wages+13.3% projected U.S. growth · 2,800 openings/yrTypical entry: Bachelor's degreeComputer and Information Research Scientists$136,540 median wageIL estimate · 630 jobs · 15-1221$104,340–$170,390 middle 50% of IL wages+21.8% projected U.S. growth · 2,900 openings/yrTypical entry: Master's degreeData Scientists$106,560 median wageIL estimate · 10,520 jobs · 15-2051$84,610–$137,290 middle 50% of IL wages+34.6% projected U.S. growth · 24,800 openings/yrTypical entry: Bachelor's degreeEnvironmental Science Teachers, Postsecondary$104,440 median wageIL estimate · 170 jobs · 25-1053$75,020–$126,880 middle 50% of IL wages+2.7% projected U.S. growth · 600 openings/yrTypical entry: Doctoral or professional degreeComputer Occupations, All Other$99,360 median wageIL estimate · 11,160 jobs · 15-1299$65,040–$133,070 middle 50% of IL wages+5.1% projected U.S. growth · 27,000 openings/yrTypical entry: Bachelor's degreePhysics Teachers, Postsecondary$94,900 median wageIL estimate · 540 jobs · 25-1054$67,620–$128,430 middle 50% of IL wages+2.4% projected U.S. growth · 1,100 openings/yrTypical entry: Doctoral or professional degreeEnvironmental Scientists and Specialists, Including Health$81,590 median wageIL estimate · 1,550 jobs · 19-2041$60,790–$121,040 middle 50% of IL wages+6.1% projected U.S. growth · 7,300 openings/yrTypical entry: Bachelor's degreeSecondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education$79,990 median wageIL estimate · 44,670 jobs · 25-2031$62,330–$104,670 middle 50% of IL wages-0.2% projected U.S. growth · 63,500 openings/yrTypical entry: Bachelor's degree
Possible alternatives

Same degree, stronger on at least one reported measure.

Every option below reports higher earnings, lower federal debt or a lower college-wide net price. Same-state options appear first.

Stanford, CA

Stanford University

$39,620 higher earnings · $548 lower annual net price

Earnings
$170,898
Debt
Not available
Annual net price
$13,807
View outcomes →
Berkeley, CA

University of California, Berkeley

$37,118 higher earnings · $874 lower annual net price

Earnings
$168,396
Debt
Not available
Annual net price
$13,481
View outcomes →
Atlanta, GA

Georgia Institute of Technology-Main Campus

$5,939 higher earnings · $2,239 lower annual net price

Earnings
$137,217
Debt
Not available
Annual net price
$12,116
View outcomes →
La Jolla, CA

University of California, San Diego

$5,055 higher earnings · $1,885 lower annual net price

Earnings
$136,333
Debt
Not available
Annual net price
$12,470
View outcomes →
Compare these programs →
DATA QUALITY

Check the evidence behind the estimate.

24 observations in the earnings cohort

June 10, 2026 College Scorecard release

Observed, estimated and contextual figures are labeled separately throughout this page

IS IT WORTH IT AT YOUR PRICE?

Your price and current earnings determine the result.

Add your grants, borrowing and current salary to estimate payment pressure, break-even time and ten-year payoff.

Calculate my payoff →