← Program directory
COLLEGE + DEGREE OUTCOMES

Precision Metal Working undergraduate certificate or diploma at Grand Rapids Community College

Grand Rapids, MI · Public

What this page covers

Federal data group related majors at the same college and degree level. One record can include several named programs or concentrations.

The short version

Reported earnings are close to similar programs.

$2,327 below the national median for the same field and degree level.

Debt as a share of earnings
9.8% of annual earnings
Highest price with a positive payoff
Not reached
Modeled 10-year payoff
Withheld by data safeguards
Available price data
College-wide context only
OUTCOME SIGNALS

Graduate outcomes from several angles.

Follow earnings over time and inspect the cohort behind each federal measure.

+20%Earnings growth, year 1 → 5$34,042 → $40,830
33Earn above high-school thresholdGraduate count in the year-4 cohort
50Working in the college’s stateGraduate count in the year-4 cohort
50Year-5 earnings observationsCohort behind the year-5 median
Not availableBorrowers representedCohort behind the debt median
Not availableAwarding-school debtDebt attributed to the college granting the credential
36Recent awardsIPEDS 2024–25 first-major completions in this field and credential
NEW FEDERAL PROGRAM CONTEXT

Size, aid and an earnings floor.

The Department of Education’s 2026 informational preview adds current program participation and a preliminary earnings comparison. It does not make a final eligibility determination.

114Students receiving federal aid2024–25 Title IV enrollment
52Federal-aid completers2024–25 program completers
61Pell Grant recipients2024–25 program count
22Federal loan borrowers2024–25 unduplicated count
23.1%Federal-aid non-completion rate2022–23 program cohort · 15 non-completers
57Graduates not recorded as employedHistorical federal cohort, three years after completion
Preliminary federal earnings benchmarkNot availableInformational preview, not a final accountability result
Observed year-4 earnings$46,375A like-for-like comparison is unavailable

Source: U.S. Department of Education PPD:2026 informational preview. Program categories use OPEID, four-digit field and credential level; federal-aid counts do not represent every enrolled student. Completion and employment measures use older cohorts shown above and are not combined into the payoff estimate.

01 · PRICE CONTEXT$8,621

Institution-wide annual average net price, not this program’s price.

02 · BORROWING$4,540

Median federal debt across schools attended at this academic level.

03 · EARNINGS$46,375

Observed median earnings four full years after completion.

04 · REPAYMENT$48/mo

Estimated standard 10-year federal payment.

ADDITIONAL WORKFORCE PROGRAM REPORTS

6 related offerings reported to the Department of Labor

These provider-reported records add named prices, completion and employment context where available. They describe a separate workforce-program cohort and may include non-degree training, so they are not blended into the College Scorecard earnings or DegreeVerdict ROI.

Certificate of Completion · CIP 48.0508

Welding Certificate (931)

Reported price
$6,495
Completion
47.0%
Employed in Q2
88.0%
Q2 quarterly earnings
$10,777
This program provides in-person instruction only.
Certificate of Completion · CIP 48.0501

Tooling and Manufacturing Certificate-920

Reported price
$6,576
Completion
Not reported
Employed in Q2
Not reported
Q2 quarterly earnings
Not available
This is a hybrid or blended program providing both in-person and online instruction.
Certificate of Completion · CIP 48.0503

Machinist/CNC Technician

Reported price
$6,796
Completion
86.0%
Employed in Q2
82.0%
Q2 quarterly earnings
$11,141
This program provides in-person instruction only.
Certificate of Completion · CIP 48.0508

Welding/Fabrication Technician

Reported price
$6,796
Completion
89.0%
Employed in Q2
88.0%
Q2 quarterly earnings
$10,777
This program provides in-person instruction only.
Associates of Applied Arts and Sciences · CIP 48.0508

Welding Technology AAAS (932)

Reported price
$12,212
Completion
23.0%
Employed in Q2
81.0%
Q2 quarterly earnings
$10,913
This program provides in-person instruction only.
Associate of Applied Arts and Sciences · CIP 48.0501

Tooling and Manufacturing Technology AAAS 908

Reported price
$13,214
Completion
47.0%
Employed in Q2
88.0%
Q2 quarterly earnings
$14,964
This is a hybrid or blended program providing both in-person and online instruction.
Program year 2022. Quarterly earnings are not annual salary. Suppressed values appear as “Not reported.” Source: U.S. Department of Labor TrainingProviderResults.gov. Showing 6 of 6 related records.
WHAT WILL IT COST?

Published college costs provide the starting point.

Your exact offering, aid, residency and time to finish determine the price you actually pay.

Enter my price →
AVERAGE NET PRICE$8,621Institution-wide annual figure
COST OF ATTENDANCE$15,658Institution-wide annual budget
ADMISSION RATENot availableInstitution context
COMPLETION RATE21.1%Institution-wide completion rate
WHAT DO GRADUATES EARN?

Reported earnings after completion.

Each point may represent a different federal cohort. A missing bar means the figure was unavailable or suppressed.

$34,042Year 1
$46,375Year 4
$40,830Year 5
CAN THE EARNINGS SUPPORT THE DEBT?

1.2% of gross monthly earnings

Estimated monthly payment divided by observed gross monthly earnings. This excludes taxes, other debts and income-driven repayment.

Gross monthly earnings$3,865
Estimated loan payment$48
Not availableborrowers represented where reported
HOW DOES IT COMPARE?

$46,375 vs. $48,702

$2,327 below the national median for the same field and credential.

Same-field national median
WHAT WORK CAN IT LEAD TO?

Related occupations, wages and outlook.

Official CIP–SOC links show careers the curriculum may prepare students for, not observed jobs held by this school’s graduates. BLS wages describe everyone working in an occupation.

BLS May 2025 wage estimates and 2025–35 employment projections.
Metal Workers and Plastic Workers, All Other$40,110 median wageMI estimate · 530 jobs · 51-4199$37,910–$45,630 middle 50% of MI wages-7.1% projected U.S. growth · 1,300 openings/yrTypical entry: High school diploma or equivalentLayout Workers, Metal and Plastic$61,550 median wageMI estimate · 160 jobs · 51-4192$52,110–$66,610 middle 50% of MI wages-3.4% projected U.S. growth · 500 openings/yrTypical entry: High school diploma or equivalentMachinists$52,360 median wageMI estimate · 20,350 jobs · 51-4041$46,260–$62,300 middle 50% of MI wages+1.0% projected U.S. growth · 26,100 openings/yrTypical entry: High school diploma or equivalentHeat Treating Equipment Setters, Operators, and Tenders, Metal and Plastic$50,560 median wageMI estimate · 1,190 jobs · 51-4191$47,270–$58,290 middle 50% of MI wages-9.5% projected U.S. growth · 1,100 openings/yrTypical entry: High school diploma or equivalentStructural Metal Fabricators and Fitters$47,950 median wageMI estimate · 1,270 jobs · 51-2041$42,860–$60,220 middle 50% of MI wages-6.2% projected U.S. growth · 4,800 openings/yrTypical entry: High school diploma or equivalentComputer Numerically Controlled Tool Operators$47,250 median wageMI estimate · 7,330 jobs · 51-9161$39,710–$58,000 middle 50% of MI wages-9.4% projected U.S. growth · 12,500 openings/yrTypical entry: High school diploma or equivalentCutting, Punching, and Press Machine Setters, Operators, and Tenders, Metal and Plastic$46,120 median wageMI estimate · 22,060 jobs · 51-4031$38,580–$66,130 middle 50% of MI wages-10.5% projected U.S. growth · 13,200 openings/yrTypical entry: High school diploma or equivalentMultiple Machine Tool Setters, Operators, and Tenders, Metal and Plastic$45,920 median wageMI estimate · 9,350 jobs · 51-4081$37,910–$61,320 middle 50% of MI wages+0.6% projected U.S. growth · 11,600 openings/yrTypical entry: High school diploma or equivalentGrinding, Lapping, Polishing, and Buffing Machine Tool Setters, Operators, and Tenders, Metal and Plastic$45,460 median wageMI estimate · 4,180 jobs · 51-4033$38,210–$56,160 middle 50% of MI wages-10.8% projected U.S. growth · 4,500 openings/yrTypical entry: High school diploma or equivalentRolling Machine Setters, Operators, and Tenders, Metal and Plastic$44,090 median wageMI estimate · 1,480 jobs · 51-4023$39,940–$58,510 middle 50% of MI wages-8.3% projected U.S. growth · 1,900 openings/yrTypical entry: High school diploma or equivalentTool and Die Makers$65,590 median wageMI estimate · 9,420 jobs · 51-4111$55,700–$80,590 middle 50% of MI wages-9.2% projected U.S. growth · 4,300 openings/yrTypical entry: Postsecondary nondegree awardComputer Numerically Controlled Tool Programmers$64,640 median wageMI estimate · 2,300 jobs · 51-9162$58,890–$76,720 middle 50% of MI wages+5.9% projected U.S. growth · 2,700 openings/yrTypical entry: Postsecondary nondegree award
Possible alternatives

Same degree, stronger on at least one reported measure.

Every option below reports higher earnings, lower federal debt or a lower college-wide net price. Same-state options appear first.

Alpena, MI

Alpena Community College

$15,828 higher earnings · $5,301 lower annual net price

Earnings
$62,203
Debt
Not available
Annual net price
$3,320
View outcomes →
University Center, MI

Delta College

$3,655 higher earnings · $4,074 lower annual net price

Earnings
$50,030
Debt
Not available
Annual net price
$4,547
View outcomes →
Ironwood, MI

Gogebic Community College

$3,112 higher earnings · $3,224 lower annual net price

Earnings
$49,487
Debt
Not available
Annual net price
$5,397
View outcomes →
Big Rapids, MI

Ferris State University

$33,266 higher earnings

Earnings
$79,641
Debt
$21,765
Annual net price
$8,624
View outcomes →
Compare these programs →
DATA QUALITY

Check the evidence behind the estimate.

50 observations in the earnings cohort

June 10, 2026 College Scorecard release

Observed, estimated and contextual figures are labeled separately throughout this page

IS IT WORTH IT AT YOUR PRICE?

Your price and current earnings determine the result.

Add your grants, borrowing and current salary to estimate payment pressure, break-even time and ten-year payoff.

Calculate my payoff →