← Program directory
COLLEGE + DEGREE OUTCOMES

Area Studies master's degree at University of Michigan-Ann Arbor

Ann Arbor, MI · Public

What this page covers

Federal data group related majors at the same college and degree level. One record can include several named programs or concentrations.

The short version

Reported earnings are close to similar programs.

$4,708 below the national median for the same field and degree level.

Debt as a share of earnings
Not available
Highest price with a positive payoff
$51,140 / year
Modeled 10-year payoff
Withheld by data safeguards
Available price data
College-wide context only
OUTCOME SIGNALS

Graduate outcomes from several angles.

Follow earnings over time and inspect the cohort behind each federal measure.

+143%Earnings growth, year 1 → 5$35,862 → $87,185
Not availableEarn above high-school thresholdGraduate count in the year-4 cohort
Not availableWorking in the college’s stateGraduate count in the year-4 cohort
27Year-5 earnings observationsCohort behind the year-5 median
Not availableBorrowers representedCohort behind the debt median
Not availableAwarding-school debtDebt attributed to the college granting the credential
4Recent awardsIPEDS 2024–25 first-major completions in this field and credential
NEW FEDERAL PROGRAM CONTEXT

Size, aid and an earnings floor.

The Department of Education’s 2026 informational preview adds current program participation and a preliminary earnings comparison. It does not make a final eligibility determination.

Not reportedStudents receiving federal aid2024–25 Title IV enrollment
Not reportedFederal-aid completers2024–25 program completers
Not reportedPell Grant recipients2024–25 program count
Not reportedFederal loan borrowers2024–25 unduplicated count
25Graduates not recorded as employedHistorical federal cohort, three years after completion
Preliminary federal earnings benchmark$44,741Informational preview, not a final accountability result
Observed year-4 earnings$64,228$19,487 above the preliminary benchmark

Source: U.S. Department of Education PPD:2026 informational preview. Program categories use OPEID, four-digit field and credential level; federal-aid counts do not represent every enrolled student. Completion and employment measures use older cohorts shown above and are not combined into the payoff estimate.

GRADUATE-DEGREE BASELINE

$64,228 vs. $56,625

$7,603 above the national bachelor’s median in the same field.

Comparison basis70 bachelor’s program records

This is a cross-cohort benchmark, not the salary increase caused by earning this graduate credential. Your current earnings remain the correct baseline for personal ROI.

01 · PRICE CONTEXT$13,138

Institution-wide annual average net price, not this program’s price.

02 · BORROWINGNot available

Median federal debt across schools attended at this academic level.

03 · EARNINGS$64,228

Observed median earnings four full years after completion.

04 · REPAYMENTNot available

Estimated standard 10-year federal payment.

WHAT WILL IT COST?

Published college costs provide the starting point.

Your exact offering, aid, residency and time to finish determine the price you actually pay.

Enter my price →
AVERAGE NET PRICE$13,138Institution-wide annual figure
COST OF ATTENDANCE$34,654Institution-wide annual budget
ADMISSION RATE15.6%Institution context
COMPLETION RATE93.2%Institution-wide completion rate
WHAT DO GRADUATES EARN?

Reported earnings after completion.

Each point may represent a different federal cohort. A missing bar means the figure was unavailable or suppressed.

$35,862Year 1
$64,228Year 4
$87,185Year 5
CAN THE EARNINGS SUPPORT THE DEBT?

Repayment pressure is not available

Estimated monthly payment divided by observed gross monthly earnings. This excludes taxes, other debts and income-driven repayment.

Gross monthly earnings$5,352
Estimated loan paymentNot available
Not availableborrowers represented where reported
HOW DOES IT COMPARE?

$64,228 vs. $68,936

$4,708 below the national median for the same field and credential.

Same-field national median
WHAT WORK CAN IT LEAD TO?

Related occupations, wages and outlook.

Official CIP–SOC links show careers the curriculum may prepare students for, not observed jobs held by this school’s graduates. BLS wages describe everyone working in an occupation.

BLS May 2025 wage estimates and 2025–35 employment projections.
Area, Ethnic, and Cultural Studies Teachers, Postsecondary$87,840 median wageMI estimate · 460 jobs · 25-1062$66,380–$121,470 middle 50% of MI wages+2.7% projected U.S. growth · 1,000 openings/yrTypical entry: Doctoral or professional degree
CENSUS EMPLOYMENT DESTINATIONS

Where graduates work five years later

The leading industries employing graduates in this college, broad field and credential group.

01

Educational Services

about 31.9%
02

Professional, Scientific, and Technical Services

about 20.6%
03

Retail Trade

about 8.5%
04

Other Services (except Public Administration)

about 5.7%
05

Health Care and Social Assistance

about 5.7%

How to read this: This is an observed industry mix, not a list of job titles or proof that every graduate worked in the field studied. Counts and shares are approximate because Census privacy protections add statistical noise.

Coverage is limited to institutions and states participating in the Census Post-Secondary Employment Outcomes program. These figures do not affect DegreeVerdict ROI calculations.

Download the official Census source file →
Possible alternatives

Same degree, stronger on at least one reported measure.

Every option below reports higher earnings, lower federal debt or a lower college-wide net price. Same-state options appear first.

Los Angeles, CA

University of California, Los Angeles

$7,605 higher earnings · $590 lower annual net price

Earnings
$71,833
Debt
Not available
Annual net price
$12,548
View outcomes →
Stanford, CA

Stanford University

$51,897 higher earnings

Earnings
$116,125
Debt
Not available
Annual net price
$13,807
View outcomes →
Cambridge, MA

Harvard University

$51,355 higher earnings

Earnings
$115,583
Debt
Not available
Annual net price
$19,066
View outcomes →
Washington, DC

Georgetown University

$27,433 higher earnings

Earnings
$91,661
Debt
Not available
Annual net price
$40,815
View outcomes →
Compare these programs →
DATA QUALITY

Check the evidence behind the estimate.

27 observations in the earnings cohort

June 10, 2026 College Scorecard release

Observed, estimated and contextual figures are labeled separately throughout this page

IS IT WORTH IT AT YOUR PRICE?

Your price and current earnings determine the result.

Add your grants, borrowing and current salary to estimate payment pressure, break-even time and ten-year payoff.

Calculate my payoff →