← Program directory
COLLEGE + DEGREE OUTCOMES

Computer Science master's degree at Cornell University

Ithaca, NY · Private nonprofit

What this page covers

Federal data group related majors at the same college and degree level. One record can include several named programs or concentrations.

The short version

Reported earnings are notably above similar programs.

$90,191 above the national median for the same field and degree level.

Debt as a share of earnings
Not available
Highest price with a positive payoff
$908,810 / year
Modeled 10-year payoff
Withheld by data safeguards
Available price data
College-wide context only
OUTCOME SIGNALS

Graduate outcomes from several angles.

Follow earnings over time and inspect the cohort behind each federal measure.

+46%Earnings growth, year 1 → 5$153,588 → $224,974
Not availableEarn above high-school thresholdGraduate count in the year-4 cohort
18Working in the college’s stateGraduate count in the year-4 cohort
59Year-5 earnings observationsCohort behind the year-5 median
Not availableBorrowers representedCohort behind the debt median
Not availableAwarding-school debtDebt attributed to the college granting the credential
Not availableRecent awardsIPEDS 2024–25 first-major completions in this field and credential
NEW FEDERAL PROGRAM CONTEXT

Size, aid and an earnings floor.

The Department of Education’s 2026 informational preview adds current program participation and a preliminary earnings comparison. It does not make a final eligibility determination.

92Students receiving federal aid2024–25 Title IV enrollment
74Federal-aid completers2024–25 program completers
Not reportedPell Grant recipients2024–25 program count
35Federal loan borrowers2024–25 unduplicated count
61Graduates not recorded as employedHistorical federal cohort, three years after completion
Preliminary federal earnings benchmark$60,112Informational preview, not a final accountability result
Observed year-4 earnings$235,762$175,650 above the preliminary benchmark

Additional borrowing reported for this category: Parent PLUS not reported · 15 Grad PLUS borrowers.

Source: U.S. Department of Education PPD:2026 informational preview. Program categories use OPEID, four-digit field and credential level; federal-aid counts do not represent every enrolled student. Completion and employment measures use older cohorts shown above and are not combined into the payoff estimate.

GRADUATE-DEGREE BASELINE

$235,762 vs. $107,009

$128,753 above the national bachelor’s median in the same field.

Comparison basis354 bachelor’s program records

This is a cross-cohort benchmark, not the salary increase caused by earning this graduate credential. Your current earnings remain the correct baseline for personal ROI.

01 · PRICE CONTEXT$28,690

Institution-wide annual average net price, not this program’s price.

02 · BORROWINGNot available

Median federal debt across schools attended at this academic level.

03 · EARNINGS$235,762

Observed median earnings four full years after completion.

04 · REPAYMENTNot available

Estimated standard 10-year federal payment.

WHAT WILL IT COST?

Published college costs provide the starting point.

Your exact offering, aid, residency and time to finish determine the price you actually pay.

Enter my price →
AVERAGE NET PRICE$28,690Institution-wide annual figure
COST OF ATTENDANCE$88,140Institution-wide annual budget
ADMISSION RATE8.8%Institution context
COMPLETION RATE95.4%Institution-wide completion rate
WHAT DO GRADUATES EARN?

Reported earnings after completion.

Each point may represent a different federal cohort. A missing bar means the figure was unavailable or suppressed.

$153,588Year 1
$235,762Year 4
$224,974Year 5
CAN THE EARNINGS SUPPORT THE DEBT?

Repayment pressure is not available

Estimated monthly payment divided by observed gross monthly earnings. This excludes taxes, other debts and income-driven repayment.

Gross monthly earnings$19,647
Estimated loan paymentNot available
Not availableborrowers represented where reported
HOW DOES IT COMPARE?

$235,762 vs. $145,571

$90,191 above the national median for the same field and credential.

Same-field national median
WHAT WORK CAN IT LEAD TO?

Related occupations, wages and outlook.

Official CIP–SOC links show careers the curriculum may prepare students for, not observed jobs held by this school’s graduates. BLS wages describe everyone working in an occupation.

BLS May 2025 wage estimates and 2025–35 employment projections.
Computer and Information Systems Managers$214,300 median wageNY estimate · 48,050 jobs · 11-3021$169,720–$288,230 middle 50% of NY wages+15.8% projected U.S. growth · 53,500 openings/yrTypical entry: Bachelor's degreeComputer and Information Research Scientists$181,990 median wageNY estimate · 1,950 jobs · 15-1221$133,350–$280,710 middle 50% of NY wages+21.8% projected U.S. growth · 2,900 openings/yrTypical entry: Master's degreeSoftware Developers$166,180 median wageNY estimate · 113,510 jobs · 15-1252$127,160–$205,540 middle 50% of NY wages+10.2% projected U.S. growth · 95,300 openings/yrTypical entry: Bachelor's degreeDatabase Architects$141,350 median wageNY estimate · 3,850 jobs · 15-1243$100,550–$180,280 middle 50% of NY wages+9.4% projected U.S. growth · 3,900 openings/yrTypical entry: Bachelor's degreeInformation Security Analysts$134,660 median wageNY estimate · 10,060 jobs · 15-1212$102,930–$173,920 middle 50% of NY wages+21.0% projected U.S. growth · 14,100 openings/yrTypical entry: Bachelor's degreeData Scientists$130,460 median wageNY estimate · 23,970 jobs · 15-2051$94,880–$171,580 middle 50% of NY wages+34.6% projected U.S. growth · 24,800 openings/yrTypical entry: Bachelor's degreeSoftware Quality Assurance Analysts and Testers$121,240 median wageNY estimate · 10,460 jobs · 15-1253$86,260–$153,680 middle 50% of NY wages+5.7% projected U.S. growth · 10,700 openings/yrTypical entry: Bachelor's degreeWeb and Digital Interface Designers$120,990 median wageNY estimate · 16,560 jobs · 15-1255$94,620–$167,590 middle 50% of NY wages+6.0% projected U.S. growth · 8,300 openings/yrTypical entry: Bachelor's degreeComputer Occupations, All Other$116,990 median wageNY estimate · 11,460 jobs · 15-1299$83,790–$162,510 middle 50% of NY wages+5.1% projected U.S. growth · 27,000 openings/yrTypical entry: Bachelor's degreeComputer Programmers$103,980 median wageNY estimate · 7,020 jobs · 15-1251$82,040–$134,990 middle 50% of NY wages-7.3% projected U.S. growth · 4,400 openings/yrTypical entry: Bachelor's degreeWeb Developers$98,580 median wageNY estimate · 3,990 jobs · 15-1254$56,320–$132,820 middle 50% of NY wages+3.8% projected U.S. growth · 5,300 openings/yrTypical entry: Bachelor's degreeComputer Science Teachers, Postsecondary$96,450 median wageNY estimate · 3,170 jobs · 25-1021$73,980–$130,360 middle 50% of NY wages+4.9% projected U.S. growth · 3,200 openings/yrTypical entry: Doctoral or professional degree
Possible alternatives

Same degree, stronger on at least one reported measure.

Every option below reports higher earnings, lower federal debt or a lower college-wide net price. Same-state options appear first.

Stanford, CA

Stanford University

$19,905 higher earnings · $14,883 lower annual net price

Earnings
$255,667
Debt
Not available
Annual net price
$13,807
View outcomes →
San Luis Obispo, CA

California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo

$12,025 lower annual net price

Earnings
$235,241
Debt
Not available
Annual net price
$16,665
View outcomes →
La Jolla, CA

University of California, San Diego

$16,220 lower annual net price

Earnings
$231,397
Debt
Not available
Annual net price
$12,470
View outcomes →
Providence, RI

Brown University

$3,506 lower annual net price

Earnings
$208,655
Debt
Not available
Annual net price
$25,184
View outcomes →
Compare these programs →
DATA QUALITY

Check the evidence behind the estimate.

59 observations in the earnings cohort

June 10, 2026 College Scorecard release

Observed, estimated and contextual figures are labeled separately throughout this page

IS IT WORTH IT AT YOUR PRICE?

Your price and current earnings determine the result.

Add your grants, borrowing and current salary to estimate payment pressure, break-even time and ten-year payoff.

Calculate my payoff →