Private nonprofit · COLLEGE PAYOFF

Cornell University

Ithaca, NY · 68 field-and-degree records

Earnings reported for 62 · Federal debt reported for 43

Based onObserved earnings + college priceEstimate10-year payoff
Estimated 10-year payoff
Strong payoff

+$295,810 over 10 years

Modeled from observed year-5 institution earnings and the institution-wide average net price over four years.

5.0 yrsTime to earn back the modeled cost
+100%Estimated return after 10 years
$104,057Observed earnings · year 5
$102,643Highest annual price before payoff reaches $0

The price benchmark is $73,953 per year below this threshold.

Start with your question

What do you want to understand?

ECONOMIC INVESTMENT → PAYBACK

Estimated payoff over ten years.

The scenario counts direct price and earnings forgone upfront, then applies the reported annual earnings premium.

10-YEAR PAYOFF CURVECumulative economic payoff after graduation
+$295,810at year 10
Net gainInvestment not yet recovered
NET GAIN$0UNRECOVERED
−$294,7600
2
4
6
8
+$295,81010
Years after graduationBreak-even: 5.0 years
FEDERAL COST DATA

Four ways to read college price.

Annual college-wide figures from the current College Scorecard release. Average net price covers full-time, first-time undergraduates receiving federal aid; public-college figures use in-state students. Program tuition and individual aid offers may differ.

Published in-state tuition$69,314
Sticker price
Published out-of-state tuition$69,314
Sticker price
Average net price$28,690
Title IV student average
Cost of attendance$88,140
Tuition + living budget
PRICE SOURCECollege reported · annual amount · federal dataset
PUBLISHED STUDENT BUDGET · 2024–25

What makes up the annual price?

Sticker-price components reported to IPEDS. Grants and scholarships are not subtracted here.

Tuition and required fees$69,314Same reported price regardless of residency
Books and supplies$1,226Estimated academic-year allowance
On-campus housing and food$19,428$2,182 in other expenses reported separately
Estimated on-campus total$92,150Sum of available published components, before aid

Living off campus: $19,428 housing and food allowance plus $2,182 in other expenses.

Do not confuse this with net price. Net price subtracts average grants and scholarships. DegreeVerdict continues to use the separately labeled average net price in its standard college ROI scenario.

PRICE SENSITIVITY

The price can change the verdict.

Hold observed earnings constant and see how the modeled ten-year payoff changes as annual price rises.

What stays fixed$104,057 observed annual earnings · 4 years of study · $45,000 alternative annual earnings · ten-year horizonThe marked price is this college’s institution-wide average net price, not your personal aid offer. This is a sensitivity test, not a tuition quote or earnings forecast.
HOW STUDENTS ATTEND · 2023-24

Most students study without distance-education courses.

IPEDS enrollment counts show course delivery across the whole institution. They do not indicate whether a specific degree can be completed online.

Fully online1.2%
310 students
Some online courses20%
5,394 students
No online courses79%
21,023 students
Undergraduates age 25+0.5%
Share of undergraduate enrollment

Institution-level attendance context from IPEDS. Program delivery is reported separately on degree pages and in the program directory. These figures do not enter ROI.

College identity and local contextAccreditation, institution type, dual enrollment and state prices
COLLEGE AT A GLANCE

Institution details

Current federal characteristics describing the college, not the outcomes of a specific program.

Accreditor
Middle States Commission on Higher Education
Main award level
Bachelor’s degrees
Campus setting
City
Admissions
Selective admission
Delivery
Campus or mixed delivery
Federal designation
Land-grant institution
Sources: College Scorecard June 2026 release and IPEDS 2024 institutional characteristics.
STATE PRICE CONTEXT · 2024

Prices in New York run 8% above the U.S. level.

BEA Regional Price Parities compare price levels across states. A value of 100 equals the national average.

Overall8% above U.S.
Goods7% above U.S.
Housing22% above U.S.
Utilities34% above U.S.
Other services4% above U.S.

Use this as geographic context, not a personal budget. It describes the state, not the campus neighborhood, and does not measure tuition or student-specific housing.

DegreeVerdict does not adjust reported earnings, college prices or ROI using this index.

Download the official BEA source →
THE NUMBERS BEHIND THE VERDICT

What it costs and what graduates earn

$28,690Average net price / year
$88,140Cost of attendance
$14,000Median federal student debt · completer borrowers
$148/moPublished 10-year payment estimate
$104,057Median earnings · year 5 after completion
95.4%Completion rate
8.8%Admission rate
1,535Average SAT score
34ACT midpoint
15,995Student size

Debt covers federal student-loan borrowers who completed. It does not include Parent PLUS or private loans. We show admissions scores only when a valid federal value is available.

QUESTIONS ANSWERED

What the numbers say about Cornell University

What does Cornell University cost?

Cornell University reports an average annual net price of $28,690 after grants and scholarships. This is an institution-wide average, not an individual aid offer.

What do Cornell University graduates earn?

The observed median earnings figure is $104,057 5 years after completion. It describes a federal cohort, not a guaranteed starting salary.

How much federal debt do Cornell University graduates have?

Completer borrowers report median cumulative federal student debt of $14,000. Parent PLUS and private loans are not included.

Is every degree at Cornell University worth the same?

No. The current release contains 68 field-and-degree records for Cornell University; 62 report year-4 earnings and 43 report federal debt. Outcomes can differ substantially by field and degree level.

DEBT AFTER COLLEGE

Are borrowers making progress?

Repayment progress, default and debt at exit describe different federal borrower cohorts. They are shown separately and do not change the ROI estimate.

1 year85%Paid down at least $1 of principal
3 years87%Paid down at least $1 of principal
5 years88%Paid down at least $1 of principal
7 years91%Paid down at least $1 of principal
Students who completed$14,000Median federal debt · 2,925 borrowers
Students who withdrew$6,934Median federal debt · 589 borrowers
Three-year cohort default rate0%Federal cohort measure, not the share currently behind on payments

Source: College Scorecard. Repayment progress is the share of borrowers who reduced principal by at least $1 at the stated measurement point. Debt covers federal student loans; Parent PLUS and private loans are excluded. Cohorts and reporting periods differ across measures.

2024–25 ENROLLMENT

Who studied here during the year

28,618Students enrolled at any point
16,662Undergraduate students
11,956Graduate students

Unduplicated students enrolled at any point from July 1, 2024 through June 30, 2025. This full-year measure is different from a fall headcount and does not enter ROI.

More student and earnings detailPrice by family income, retention, equity and common industries
PRICE BY FAMILY INCOME

Average net price is not one price

Federal averages for aided students in each family-income band. Your aid offer can differ.

$0–30k$1,776
$30–48k$4,070
$48–75k$6,796
$75–110k$14,311
$110k+$49,992
LONGER-TERM CONTEXT

What happens beyond the first earnings measure

Year 5$104,057
Year 6$87,830
Year 10$104,043
Full-time retention
98.4%
Part-time retention
Not available
Completion within 200% of normal time
95.8%

Earnings timepoints may use different historical cohorts and should not be read as one group’s guaranteed salary growth.

WHO PAYS, WHO FINISHES, WHO EARNS

Outcomes are not the same for every family.

These federal cohorts add context that a single college average can hide. Missing figures remain unreported rather than estimated.

Pell Grant students92%

Complete within 150% of the expected time

94% received a Pell Grant within eight years
Parent borrowing$43,515

Median Parent PLUS debt

544 parent borrowers in the reported cohort
First-generation students$11,155

Median federal student debt

81% making progress in repayment after three years
Student family incomeMedian earnings after 10 yearsObserved federal cohorts
Lower income$94,995Earnings are not a guarantee
Middle income$95,304Earnings are not a guarantee
Higher income$108,924Earnings are not a guarantee
Three-year repayment progress
Lower income78%
Middle income87%
Higher income91%
Undergraduate student composition
White31%
Black7%
Hispanic13%
Asian27%

Source: College Scorecard, June 2026 release. Parent PLUS debt belongs to parents; student-debt measures exclude Parent PLUS and private loans. Cohort definitions differ by measure.

NATIONAL CONTEXT

How this college compares

Percentiles compare this institution with currently operating colleges that report the same federal measure.

99thEarnings percentile
96thCompletion percentile
WHAT STANDS OUT

A faster read on this college

These summaries use every reportable field-and-credential record at this institution. They do not fill privacy-suppressed outcomes.

$104,453Median year-4 earnings across reportable program categories
$15,500Median federal debt across categories that report debt
94%Of comparable categories above their same-field national benchmark
EARNINGS OVER TIME

What graduates earned in later years

$70,710Year 1
$113,372Year 4
$104,057Year 5

Each year can represent a different federal cohort, so the points do not track the same people over time.

DEGREES AT THIS COLLEGE

Your choice of degree can change the payoff.

Graduate earnings differ by field and credential, even within the same college.

1Law · Doctoral Degree$259,8512Computer Science · Master's Degree$235,7623Business Administration, Management and Operations · Master's Degree$226,6324Computer Science · Bachelor's Degree$223,3095Operations Research · Master's Degree$203,3406Computer and Information Sciences, General · Master's Degree$196,8827Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions · Master's Degree$163,5868Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering · Master's Degree$156,103

Observed year-4 earnings · compare the same field and credential across colleges

Strongest relative outcomes

Programs that stand out against the same-degree benchmark

This view rewards performance relative to the same field and credential, not simply majors that pay more everywhere.

1LawDoctoral Degree · $259,851 reported+146%vs same-degree national medianNot availablefederal debt2Business Administration, Management and OperationsMaster's Degree · $226,632 reported+119%vs same-degree national medianNot availablefederal debt3Agricultural Business and ManagementBachelor's Degree · $145,218 reported+118%vs same-degree national median$13,258federal debt4Computer ScienceBachelor's Degree · $223,309 reported+109%vs same-degree national median$14,698federal debt5Hospitality Administration/ManagementBachelor's Degree · $112,289 reported+98%vs same-degree national median$13,987federal debt6MathematicsBachelor's Degree · $134,455 reported+93%vs same-degree national median$14,146federal debt
BUILD A REAL SHORTLIST

Comparable colleges in NY

Currently operating private nonprofit institutions with the closest combination of annual net price and observed year-5 earnings. Similarity is descriptive, not a quality ranking.

Troy, NY

Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute

Annual net price
$36,228
Observed earnings · year 5
$102,764
Modeled 10-year ROI
+78%
Open college profile →
Albany, NY

Albany College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences

Annual net price
$29,882
Observed earnings · year 5
$115,118
Modeled 10-year ROI
+134%
Open college profile →
New York, NY

Columbia University in the City of New York

Annual net price
$21,590
Observed earnings · year 5
$112,647
Modeled 10-year ROI
+154%
Open college profile →
Potsdam, NY

Clarkson University

Annual net price
$30,305
Observed earnings · year 5
$89,882
Modeled 10-year ROI
+49%
Open college profile →
DEGREE OUTCOMES

Compare fields and degree levels

Showing the 40 highest-earning records from 68 field-and-degree records. Use the program directory to search the complete set.

Major or fieldDegree levelEarnings, year 4Federal debt2024–25 graduates
LawDoctoral Degree$259,851Not available197
Computer ScienceMaster's Degree$235,762Not availableNot reported
Business Administration, Management and OperationsMaster's Degree$226,632Not availableNot reported
Computer ScienceBachelor's Degree$223,309$14,698Not reported
Operations ResearchMaster's Degree$203,340Not availableNot reported
Computer and Information Sciences, GeneralMaster's Degree$196,882Not availableNot reported
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment ProfessionsMaster's Degree$163,586Not availableNot reported
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications EngineeringMaster's Degree$156,103Not availableNot reported
Human Resources Management and ServicesMaster's Degree$155,909Not availableNot reported
Operations ResearchBachelor's Degree$151,709$15,000Not reported
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications EngineeringBachelor's Degree$147,241$14,750Not reported
Agricultural Business and ManagementBachelor's Degree$145,218$13,258Not reported
Computer and Information Sciences, GeneralBachelor's Degree$144,389$15,500Not reported
Veterinary MedicineDoctoral Degree$143,425Not available121
Systems EngineeringMaster's Degree$142,846Not availableNot reported
Health and Medical Administrative ServicesMaster's Degree$141,532Not availableNot reported
EconomicsBachelor's Degree$137,935$15,500Not reported
MathematicsBachelor's Degree$134,455$14,146Not reported
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space EngineeringMaster's Degree$132,449Not availableNot reported
Engineering, GeneralBachelor's Degree$128,207Not availableNot reported
Mechanical EngineeringMaster's Degree$128,130Not availableNot reported
Public Policy AnalysisBachelor's Degree$126,767$15,750Not reported
Biomathematics, Bioinformatics, and Computational BiologyBachelor's Degree$124,242$16,099Not reported
Biomedical/Medical EngineeringMaster's Degree$120,467Not availableNot reported
PhysicsBachelor's Degree$118,649$15,961Not reported
Chemical EngineeringBachelor's Degree$116,165$14,361Not reported
Human Resources Management and ServicesBachelor's Degree$112,713$15,000Not reported
Hospitality Administration/ManagementBachelor's Degree$112,289$13,987Not reported
Mechanical EngineeringBachelor's Degree$112,212$15,500Not reported
StatisticsBachelor's Degree$111,090Not availableNot reported
Hospitality Administration/ManagementMaster's Degree$105,553Not availableNot reported
MedicineFirst Professional Degree$103,352Not availableNot reported
Environmental/Environmental Health EngineeringBachelor's Degree$103,016$13,102Not reported
Public AdministrationMaster's Degree$100,325Not availableNot reported
Agricultural EngineeringBachelor's Degree$99,600$15,502Not reported
Area StudiesBachelor's Degree$96,976$17,625Not reported
Political Science and GovernmentBachelor's Degree$95,391$14,400Not reported
Apparel and TextilesBachelor's Degree$94,967Not availableNot reported
Civil EngineeringBachelor's Degree$91,242$12,750Not reported
Civil EngineeringMaster's Degree$90,197Not availableNot reported

Graduate counts come from IPEDS and group related majors into the same federal field. Missing earnings or debt values remain labeled as unavailable.

Search every Cornell University program record →

Earnings, price, completion and enrollment are observed federal measures. ROI, payoff and break-even are modeled scenarios built from those measures and fixed assumptions. College payoff is not the payoff of every degree at this school; use the program table for a more precise comparison.