← Program directory
COLLEGE + DEGREE OUTCOMES

Civil Engineering master's degree at Cornell University

Ithaca, NY · Private nonprofit

What this page covers

Federal data group related majors at the same college and degree level. One record can include several named programs or concentrations.

The short version

Reported earnings are close to similar programs.

$8,126 below the national median for the same field and degree level.

Debt as a share of earnings
Not available
Highest price with a positive payoff
$180,985 / year
Modeled 10-year payoff
Withheld by data safeguards
Available price data
College-wide context only
OUTCOME SIGNALS

Graduate outcomes from several angles.

Follow earnings over time and inspect the cohort behind each federal measure.

+25%Earnings growth, year 1 → 5$81,361 → $101,581
Not availableEarn above high-school thresholdGraduate count in the year-4 cohort
Not availableWorking in the college’s stateGraduate count in the year-4 cohort
20Year-5 earnings observationsCohort behind the year-5 median
Not availableBorrowers representedCohort behind the debt median
Not availableAwarding-school debtDebt attributed to the college granting the credential
Not availableRecent awardsIPEDS 2024–25 first-major completions in this field and credential
NEW FEDERAL PROGRAM CONTEXT

Size, aid and an earnings floor.

The Department of Education’s 2026 informational preview adds current program participation and a preliminary earnings comparison. It does not make a final eligibility determination.

15Students receiving federal aid2024–25 Title IV enrollment
15Federal-aid completers2024–25 program completers
Not reportedPell Grant recipients2024–25 program count
Not reportedFederal loan borrowers2024–25 unduplicated count
25Graduates not recorded as employedHistorical federal cohort, three years after completion
Preliminary federal earnings benchmark$60,112Informational preview, not a final accountability result
Observed year-4 earnings$90,197$30,085 above the preliminary benchmark

Source: U.S. Department of Education PPD:2026 informational preview. Program categories use OPEID, four-digit field and credential level; federal-aid counts do not represent every enrolled student. Completion and employment measures use older cohorts shown above and are not combined into the payoff estimate.

GRADUATE-DEGREE BASELINE

$90,197 vs. $86,517

$3,680 above the national bachelor’s median in the same field.

Comparison basis234 bachelor’s program records

This is a cross-cohort benchmark, not the salary increase caused by earning this graduate credential. Your current earnings remain the correct baseline for personal ROI.

01 · PRICE CONTEXT$28,690

Institution-wide annual average net price, not this program’s price.

02 · BORROWINGNot available

Median federal debt across schools attended at this academic level.

03 · EARNINGS$90,197

Observed median earnings four full years after completion.

04 · REPAYMENTNot available

Estimated standard 10-year federal payment.

WHAT WILL IT COST?

Published college costs provide the starting point.

Your exact offering, aid, residency and time to finish determine the price you actually pay.

Enter my price →
AVERAGE NET PRICE$28,690Institution-wide annual figure
COST OF ATTENDANCE$88,140Institution-wide annual budget
ADMISSION RATE8.8%Institution context
COMPLETION RATE95.4%Institution-wide completion rate
WHAT DO GRADUATES EARN?

Reported earnings after completion.

Each point may represent a different federal cohort. A missing bar means the figure was unavailable or suppressed.

$81,361Year 1
$90,197Year 4
$101,581Year 5
CAN THE EARNINGS SUPPORT THE DEBT?

Repayment pressure is not available

Estimated monthly payment divided by observed gross monthly earnings. This excludes taxes, other debts and income-driven repayment.

Gross monthly earnings$7,516
Estimated loan paymentNot available
Not availableborrowers represented where reported
HOW DOES IT COMPARE?

$90,197 vs. $98,323

$8,126 below the national median for the same field and credential.

Same-field national median
WHAT WORK CAN IT LEAD TO?

Related occupations, wages and outlook.

Official CIP–SOC links show careers the curriculum may prepare students for, not observed jobs held by this school’s graduates. BLS wages describe everyone working in an occupation.

BLS May 2025 wage estimates and 2025–35 employment projections.
Architectural and Engineering Managers$175,710 median wageNY estimate · 8,250 jobs · 11-9041$149,070–$215,140 middle 50% of NY wages+5.5% projected U.S. growth · 14,900 openings/yrTypical entry: Bachelor's degreeEngineering Teachers, Postsecondary$106,240 median wageNY estimate · 3,240 jobs · 25-1032$80,970–$152,210 middle 50% of NY wages+7.8% projected U.S. growth · 3,900 openings/yrTypical entry: Doctoral or professional degreeCivil Engineers$103,760 median wageNY estimate · 17,500 jobs · 17-2051$84,740–$135,920 middle 50% of NY wages+6.4% projected U.S. growth · 22,700 openings/yrTypical entry: Bachelor's degreeEngineers, All Other$117,600 median wageNY estimate · 5,760 jobs · 17-2199$94,400–$154,310 middle 50% of NY wages+3.7% projected U.S. growth · 8,800 openings/yrTypical entry: Bachelor's degreeEnvironmental Engineers$101,270 median wageNY estimate · 3,170 jobs · 17-2081$79,390–$127,820 middle 50% of NY wages+6.3% projected U.S. growth · 2,300 openings/yrTypical entry: Bachelor's degreePetroleum Engineers$144,910 median wageU.S. estimate · 18,060 jobs · 17-2171+2.0% projected U.S. growth · 1,000 openings/yrTypical entry: Bachelor's degreeMining and Geological Engineers, Including Mining Safety Engineers$82,200 median wageNY estimate · 50 jobs · 17-2151$69,880–$122,350 middle 50% of NY wages+3.8% projected U.S. growth · 300 openings/yrTypical entry: Bachelor's degree
Possible alternatives

Same degree, stronger on at least one reported measure.

Every option below reports higher earnings, lower federal debt or a lower college-wide net price. Same-state options appear first.

Riverdale, NY

Manhattan University

$29,770 higher earnings · $1,434 lower annual net price

Earnings
$119,967
Debt
Not available
Annual net price
$27,256
View outcomes →
New York, NY

Columbia University in the City of New York

$21,727 higher earnings · $7,100 lower annual net price

Earnings
$111,924
Debt
Not available
Annual net price
$21,590
View outcomes →
Buffalo, NY

University at Buffalo

$510 higher earnings · $7,695 lower annual net price

Earnings
$90,707
Debt
Not available
Annual net price
$20,995
View outcomes →
New York, NY

New York University

$9,488 higher earnings

Earnings
$99,685
Debt
Not available
Annual net price
$37,050
View outcomes →
Compare these programs →
DATA QUALITY

Check the evidence behind the estimate.

20 observations in the earnings cohort

June 10, 2026 College Scorecard release

Observed, estimated and contextual figures are labeled separately throughout this page

IS IT WORTH IT AT YOUR PRICE?

Your price and current earnings determine the result.

Add your grants, borrowing and current salary to estimate payment pressure, break-even time and ten-year payoff.

Calculate my payoff →