Medicine doctoral degree at Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai
New York, NY · Private nonprofit
What this page covers
Federal data group related majors at the same college and degree level. One record can include several named programs or concentrations.
The short version
Reported earnings are below similar programs.
$14,143 below the national median for the same field and degree level.
Debt as a share of earnings
Not available
Highest price with a positive payoff
Not reached
Modeled 10-year payoff
Enter your actual price
Available price data
College-wide context only
OUTCOME SIGNALS
Graduate outcomes from several angles.
Follow earnings over time and inspect the cohort behind each federal measure.
Not availableEarnings growth, year 1 → 5$76,744 → Not availableNot availableEarn above high-school thresholdGraduate count in the year-4 cohortNot availableWorking in the college’s stateGraduate count in the year-4 cohortNot availableYear-5 earnings observationsCohort behind the year-5 medianNot availableBorrowers representedCohort behind the debt medianNot availableAwarding-school debtDebt attributed to the college granting the credential118Recent awardsIPEDS 2024–25 first-major completions in this field and credential
NEW FEDERAL PROGRAM CONTEXT
Size, aid and an earnings floor.
The Department of Education’s 2026 informational preview adds current program participation and a preliminary earnings comparison. It does not make a final eligibility determination.
341Students receiving federal aid2024–25 Title IV enrollment70Federal-aid completers2024–25 program completersNot reportedPell Grant recipients2024–25 program count247Federal loan borrowers2024–25 unduplicated count
14.7%Federal-aid non-completion rate2022–23 program cohort · 53 non-completers
Preliminary federal earnings benchmark$61,854Informational preview, not a final accountability result
Observed year-4 earnings$104,361$42,507 above the preliminary benchmark
Additional borrowing reported for this category: Parent PLUS not reported · 87 Grad PLUS borrowers.
Source: U.S. Department of Education PPD:2026 informational preview. Program categories use OPEID, four-digit field and credential level; federal-aid counts do not represent every enrolled student. Completion and employment measures use older cohorts shown above and are not combined into the payoff estimate.
GRADUATE-DEGREE BASELINE
$104,361 vs. $66,978
$37,383 above the national bachelor’s median in the same field.
Comparison basis1 bachelor’s program records
This is a cross-cohort benchmark, not the salary increase caused by earning this graduate credential. Your current earnings remain the correct baseline for personal ROI.
01 · PRICE CONTEXTNot available
Institution-wide annual average net price, not this program’s price.
02 · BORROWINGNot available
Median federal debt across schools attended at this academic level.
03 · EARNINGS$104,361
Observed median earnings four full years after completion.
04 · REPAYMENTNot available
Estimated standard 10-year federal payment.
WHAT WILL IT COST?
Published college costs provide the starting point.
Your exact offering, aid, residency and time to finish determine the price you actually pay.
Each point may represent a different federal cohort. A missing bar means the figure was unavailable or suppressed.
$76,744Year 1
$104,361Year 4
Not availableYear 5
CAN THE EARNINGS SUPPORT THE DEBT?
Repayment pressure is not available
Estimated monthly payment divided by observed gross monthly earnings. This excludes taxes, other debts and income-driven repayment.
Gross monthly earnings$8,697
Estimated loan paymentNot available
Not availableborrowers represented where reported
HOW DOES IT COMPARE?
$104,361 vs. $118,504
$14,143 below the national median for the same field and credential.
Same-field national median
WHAT WORK CAN IT LEAD TO?
Related occupations, wages and outlook.
Official CIP–SOC links show careers the curriculum may prepare students for, not observed jobs held by this school’s graduates. BLS wages describe everyone working in an occupation.
BLS May 2025 wage estimates and 2025–35 employment projections.
Cardiologists$492,040 median wageNY estimate · 2,260 jobs · 29-1212$226,430–$572,180 middle 50% of NY wages+4.8% projected U.S. growth · 500 openings/yrTypical entry: Doctoral or professional degreeAnesthesiologists$445,660 median wageNY estimate · 7,230 jobs · 29-1211$152,160–$534,810 middle 50% of NY wages+3.6% projected U.S. growth · 1,100 openings/yrTypical entry: Doctoral or professional degreeRadiologists$441,580 median wageNY estimate · 2,010 jobs · 29-1224$102,440–$515,990 middle 50% of NY wages+3.4% projected U.S. growth · 700 openings/yrTypical entry: Doctoral or professional degreeOrthopedic Surgeons, Except Pediatric$414,290 median wageNY estimate · 1,450 jobs · 29-1242$111,770–$577,320 middle 50% of NY wages+4.0% projected U.S. growth · 400 openings/yrTypical entry: Doctoral or professional degreeSurgeons, All Other$410,410 median wageNY estimate · 4,540 jobs · 29-1249$97,750–$497,470 middle 50% of NY wages+4.0% projected U.S. growth · 700 openings/yrTypical entry: Doctoral or professional degreePediatric Surgeons$378,110 median wageNY estimate · 90 jobs · 29-1243$293,440–$588,210 middle 50% of NY wages+2.0% projected U.S. growth · 0 openings/yrTypical entry: Doctoral or professional degreeDermatologists$374,010 median wageNY estimate · 2,070 jobs · 29-1213$186,300–$453,290 middle 50% of NY wages+6.8% projected U.S. growth · 400 openings/yrTypical entry: Doctoral or professional degreeOphthalmologists, Except Pediatric$360,050 median wageNY estimate · 960 jobs · 29-1241$217,830–$451,110 middle 50% of NY wages+4.5% projected U.S. growth · 200 openings/yrTypical entry: Doctoral or professional degreeObstetricians and Gynecologists$348,800 median wageNY estimate · 2,750 jobs · 29-1218$207,460–$426,730 middle 50% of NY wages+1.7% projected U.S. growth · 500 openings/yrTypical entry: Doctoral or professional degreePhysicians, Pathologists$321,550 median wageNY estimate · 1,220 jobs · 29-1222$207,560–$426,160 middle 50% of NY wages+4.8% projected U.S. growth · 300 openings/yrTypical entry: Doctoral or professional degreeEmergency Medicine Physicians$301,690 median wageNY estimate · 3,980 jobs · 29-1214$99,100–$369,510 middle 50% of NY wages+3.2% projected U.S. growth · 900 openings/yrTypical entry: Doctoral or professional degreePsychiatrists$265,890 median wageNY estimate · 4,130 jobs · 29-1223$101,460–$333,870 middle 50% of NY wages+7.2% projected U.S. growth · 900 openings/yrTypical entry: Doctoral or professional degree
Possible alternatives
Same degree, stronger on at least one reported measure.
Every option below reports higher earnings, lower federal debt or a lower college-wide net price. Same-state options appear first.