← Program directory
COLLEGE + DEGREE OUTCOMES

Public Administration master's degree at University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Chapel Hill, NC · Public

What this page covers

Federal data group related majors at the same college and degree level. One record can include several named programs or concentrations.

The short version

Reported earnings are close to similar programs.

$507 above the national median for the same field and degree level.

Debt as a share of earnings
Not available
Highest price with a positive payoff
$139,575 / year
Modeled 10-year payoff
Withheld by data safeguards
Available price data
College-wide context only
OUTCOME SIGNALS

Graduate outcomes from several angles.

Follow earnings over time and inspect the cohort behind each federal measure.

+22%Earnings growth, year 1 → 5$66,534 → $80,958
Not availableEarn above high-school thresholdGraduate count in the year-4 cohort
17Working in the college’s stateGraduate count in the year-4 cohort
38Year-5 earnings observationsCohort behind the year-5 median
Not availableBorrowers representedCohort behind the debt median
Not availableAwarding-school debtDebt attributed to the college granting the credential
Not availableRecent awardsIPEDS 2024–25 first-major completions in this field and credential
NEW FEDERAL PROGRAM CONTEXT

Size, aid and an earnings floor.

The Department of Education’s 2026 informational preview adds current program participation and a preliminary earnings comparison. It does not make a final eligibility determination.

169Students receiving federal aid2024–25 Title IV enrollment
42Federal-aid completers2024–25 program completers
Not reportedPell Grant recipients2024–25 program count
79Federal loan borrowers2024–25 unduplicated count
40Graduates not recorded as employedHistorical federal cohort, three years after completion
Preliminary federal earnings benchmark$44,547Informational preview, not a final accountability result
Observed year-4 earnings$81,915$37,368 above the preliminary benchmark

Additional borrowing reported for this category: Parent PLUS not reported · 30 Grad PLUS borrowers.

Source: U.S. Department of Education PPD:2026 informational preview. Program categories use OPEID, four-digit field and credential level; federal-aid counts do not represent every enrolled student. Completion and employment measures use older cohorts shown above and are not combined into the payoff estimate.

GRADUATE-DEGREE BASELINE

$81,915 vs. $65,093

$16,822 above the national bachelor’s median in the same field.

Comparison basis47 bachelor’s program records

This is a cross-cohort benchmark, not the salary increase caused by earning this graduate credential. Your current earnings remain the correct baseline for personal ROI.

01 · PRICE CONTEXT$11,655

Institution-wide annual average net price, not this program’s price.

02 · BORROWINGNot available

Median federal debt across schools attended at this academic level.

03 · EARNINGS$81,915

Observed median earnings four full years after completion.

04 · REPAYMENTNot available

Estimated standard 10-year federal payment.

WHAT WILL IT COST?

Published college costs provide the starting point.

Your exact offering, aid, residency and time to finish determine the price you actually pay.

Enter my price →
AVERAGE NET PRICE$11,655Institution-wide annual figure
COST OF ATTENDANCE$26,055Institution-wide annual budget
ADMISSION RATE15.3%Institution context
COMPLETION RATE91.2%Institution-wide completion rate
WHAT DO GRADUATES EARN?

Reported earnings after completion.

Each point may represent a different federal cohort. A missing bar means the figure was unavailable or suppressed.

$66,534Year 1
$81,915Year 4
$80,958Year 5
CAN THE EARNINGS SUPPORT THE DEBT?

Repayment pressure is not available

Estimated monthly payment divided by observed gross monthly earnings. This excludes taxes, other debts and income-driven repayment.

Gross monthly earnings$6,826
Estimated loan paymentNot available
Not availableborrowers represented where reported
HOW DOES IT COMPARE?

$81,915 vs. $81,408

$507 above the national median for the same field and credential.

Same-field national median
WHAT WORK CAN IT LEAD TO?

Related occupations, wages and outlook.

Official CIP–SOC links show careers the curriculum may prepare students for, not observed jobs held by this school’s graduates. BLS wages describe everyone working in an occupation.

BLS May 2025 wage estimates and 2025–35 employment projections.
Managers, All Other$141,160 median wageNC estimate · 21,830 jobs · 11-9199$104,050–$182,390 middle 50% of NC wages+4.9% projected U.S. growth · 100,900 openings/yrTypical entry: Bachelor's degreeTransportation, Storage, and Distribution Managers$106,100 median wageNC estimate · 6,650 jobs · 11-3071$82,870–$143,490 middle 50% of NC wages+6.1% projected U.S. growth · 18,300 openings/yrTypical entry: High school diploma or equivalentChief Executives$314,290 median wageNC estimate · 1,930 jobs · 11-1011$182,980–$442,080 middle 50% of NC wages+3.2% projected U.S. growth · 19,100 openings/yrTypical entry: Bachelor's degreeConstruction Managers$106,640 median wageNC estimate · 16,310 jobs · 11-9021$83,990–$137,510 middle 50% of NC wages+9.1% projected U.S. growth · 49,700 openings/yrTypical entry: Bachelor's degreeGeneral and Operations Managers$101,950 median wageNC estimate · 63,740 jobs · 11-1021$66,800–$162,170 middle 50% of NC wages+5.0% projected U.S. growth · 285,000 openings/yrTypical entry: Bachelor's degreePostmasters and Mail Superintendents$96,410 median wageNC estimate · 480 jobs · 11-9131$91,500–$102,610 middle 50% of NC wages-0.3% projected U.S. growth · 900 openings/yrTypical entry: High school diploma or equivalentUrban and Regional Planners$81,230 median wageNC estimate · 1,630 jobs · 19-3051$66,740–$97,120 middle 50% of NC wages+3.9% projected U.S. growth · 3,200 openings/yrTypical entry: Master's degreeSocial and Community Service Managers$79,590 median wageNC estimate · 4,970 jobs · 11-9151$62,760–$99,770 middle 50% of NC wages+7.2% projected U.S. growth · 18,500 openings/yrTypical entry: Bachelor's degreeTraffic Technicians$56,800 median wageNC estimate · 110 jobs · 53-6041$47,270–$64,020 middle 50% of NC wages+4.0% projected U.S. growth · 900 openings/yrTypical entry: High school diploma or equivalentLegislatorsNot available median wageU.S. estimate · Unreported jobs · 11-1031
CENSUS EMPLOYMENT DESTINATIONS

Where graduates work five years later

The leading industries employing graduates in this college, broad field and credential group.

01

Health Care and Social Assistance

about 40.8%
02

Public Administration

about 19.6%
03

Educational Services

about 18.4%
04

Professional, Scientific, and Technical Services

about 5.6%
05

Other Services (except Public Administration)

about 4.2%

How to read this: This is an observed industry mix, not a list of job titles or proof that every graduate worked in the field studied. Counts and shares are approximate because Census privacy protections add statistical noise.

Coverage is limited to institutions and states participating in the Census Post-Secondary Employment Outcomes program. These figures do not affect DegreeVerdict ROI calculations.

Download the official Census source file →
Possible alternatives

Same degree, stronger on at least one reported measure.

Every option below reports higher earnings, lower federal debt or a lower college-wide net price. Same-state options appear first.

Greensboro, NC

University of North Carolina at Greensboro

$690 lower annual net price

Earnings
$78,025
Debt
Not available
Annual net price
$10,965
View outcomes →
Pembroke, NC

University of North Carolina at Pembroke

$1,395 lower annual net price

Earnings
$75,582
Debt
Not available
Annual net price
$10,260
View outcomes →
Hayward, CA

California State University, East Bay

$17,964 higher earnings · $2,335 lower annual net price

Earnings
$99,879
Debt
Not available
Annual net price
$9,320
View outcomes →
Portland, OR

Portland State University

$17,886 higher earnings · $2,103 lower annual net price

Earnings
$99,801
Debt
Not available
Annual net price
$9,552
View outcomes →
Compare these programs →
DATA QUALITY

Check the evidence behind the estimate.

38 observations in the earnings cohort

June 10, 2026 College Scorecard release

Observed, estimated and contextual figures are labeled separately throughout this page

IS IT WORTH IT AT YOUR PRICE?

Your price and current earnings determine the result.

Add your grants, borrowing and current salary to estimate payment pressure, break-even time and ten-year payoff.

Calculate my payoff →