← Program directory
COLLEGE + DEGREE OUTCOMES

Computer and Information Sciences, General bachelor's degree at George Mason University

Fairfax, VA · Public

What this page covers

Federal data group related majors at the same college and degree level. One record can include several named programs or concentrations.

The short version

Reported earnings are notably above similar programs.

$18,380 above the national median for the same field and degree level.

Debt as a share of earnings
21.0% of annual earnings
Highest price with a positive payoff
$119,385 / year
Modeled 10-year payoff
+161% · Strong payoff
Available price data
College-wide context only
PRICE SENSITIVITY

The price can change the verdict.

Hold observed earnings constant and see how the modeled ten-year payoff changes as annual price rises.

What stays fixed$110,754 observed annual earnings · 4 years of study · $45,000 alternative annual earnings · ten-year horizonThe marked price is this college’s institution-wide average net price, not the exact price of this program category. This is a sensitivity test, not a tuition quote or earnings forecast.
OUTCOME SIGNALS

Graduate outcomes from several angles.

Follow earnings over time and inspect the cohort behind each federal measure.

+42%Earnings growth, year 1 → 5$78,800 → $111,615
368Earn above high-school thresholdGraduate count in the year-4 cohort
328Working in the college’s stateGraduate count in the year-4 cohort
400Year-5 earnings observationsCohort behind the year-5 median
690Borrowers representedCohort behind the debt median
$20,336Awarding-school debtDebt attributed to the college granting the credential
0Recent awardsIPEDS 2024–25 first-major completions in this field and credential
NEW FEDERAL PROGRAM CONTEXT

Size, aid and an earnings floor.

The Department of Education’s 2026 informational preview adds current program participation and a preliminary earnings comparison. It does not make a final eligibility determination.

3,313Students receiving federal aid2024–25 Title IV enrollment
555Federal-aid completers2024–25 program completers
1,996Pell Grant recipients2024–25 program count
1,336Federal loan borrowers2024–25 unduplicated count
4.1%Federal-aid non-completion rate2022–23 program cohort · 126 non-completers
393Graduates not recorded as employedHistorical federal cohort, three years after completion
Preliminary federal earnings benchmark$35,969Informational preview, not a final accountability result
Observed year-4 earnings$110,754$74,785 above the preliminary benchmark

Additional borrowing reported for this category: 148 Parent PLUS borrowers.

Source: U.S. Department of Education PPD:2026 informational preview. Program categories use OPEID, four-digit field and credential level; federal-aid counts do not represent every enrolled student. Completion and employment measures use older cohorts shown above and are not combined into the payoff estimate.

01 · PRICE CONTEXT$17,915

Institution-wide annual average net price, not this program’s price.

02 · BORROWING$23,250

Median federal debt across schools attended at this academic level.

03 · EARNINGS$110,754

Observed median earnings four full years after completion.

04 · REPAYMENT$246/mo

Estimated standard 10-year federal payment.

ADDITIONAL WORKFORCE PROGRAM REPORTS

8 related offerings reported to the Department of Labor

These provider-reported records add named prices, completion and employment context where available. They describe a separate workforce-program cohort and may include non-degree training, so they are not blended into the College Scorecard earnings or DegreeVerdict ROI.

Python Programmer Certification · CIP 11.0103

Python Developer

Reported price
$1,095
Completion
Not reported
Employed in Q2
Not reported
Q2 quarterly earnings
Not available
This program provides online instruction, e-learning, or distance learning only.
Network+ · CIP 11.0103

Network+

Reported price
$1,250
Completion
Not reported
Employed in Q2
Not reported
Q2 quarterly earnings
Not available
This program provides in-person instruction only.
Linux+ · CIP 11.0103

Linux+

Reported price
$1,500
Completion
Not reported
Employed in Q2
Not reported
Q2 quarterly earnings
Not available
This program provides in-person instruction only.
TAIT 0539 AWS - Certified Cloud Practitioner · CIP 11.0103

TAIT 0539 AWS - Certified Cloud Practitioner

Reported price
$1,800
Completion
Not reported
Employed in Q2
Not reported
Q2 quarterly earnings
Not available
This program provides in-person instruction only.
Security+ · CIP 11.0103

Security+

Reported price
$1,995
Completion
88.0%
Employed in Q2
Not reported
Q2 quarterly earnings
Not available
This program provides in-person instruction only.
CompTIA A+ · CIP 11.0101

CompTIA A+

Reported price
$2,250
Completion
75.0%
Employed in Q2
40.0%
Q2 quarterly earnings
$12,052
This program provides in-person instruction only.
Cisco Certified Network Associate · CIP 11.0103

Cisco Certified Network Associate

Reported price
$2,595
Completion
Not reported
Employed in Q2
Not reported
Q2 quarterly earnings
Not available
This program provides in-person instruction only.
Network & Cloud Foundation (A+/Network+/AWS CCP/CCNA/Security+) · CIP 11.0103

Network & Cloud Foundation (A+/Network+/AWS CCP/CCNA/Security+)

Reported price
$6,322
Completion
Not reported
Employed in Q2
Not reported
Q2 quarterly earnings
Not available
This program provides in-person instruction only.
Program year 2022. Quarterly earnings are not annual salary. Suppressed values appear as “Not reported.” Source: U.S. Department of Labor TrainingProviderResults.gov. Showing 8 of 8 related records.
WHAT WILL IT COST?

Published college costs provide the starting point.

Your exact offering, aid, residency and time to finish determine the price you actually pay.

Enter my price →
AVERAGE NET PRICE$17,915Institution-wide annual figure
COST OF ATTENDANCE$28,604Institution-wide annual budget
ADMISSION RATE87.5%Institution context
COMPLETION RATE67.8%Institution-wide completion rate
WHAT DO GRADUATES EARN?

Reported earnings after completion.

Each point may represent a different federal cohort. A missing bar means the figure was unavailable or suppressed.

$78,800Year 1
$110,754Year 4
$111,615Year 5
CAN THE EARNINGS SUPPORT THE DEBT?

2.7% of gross monthly earnings

Estimated monthly payment divided by observed gross monthly earnings. This excludes taxes, other debts and income-driven repayment.

Gross monthly earnings$9,230
Estimated loan payment$246
690borrowers represented where reported
HOW DOES IT COMPARE?

$110,754 vs. $92,374

$18,380 above the national median for the same field and credential.

Same-field national median
WHAT WORK CAN IT LEAD TO?

Related occupations, wages and outlook.

Official CIP–SOC links show careers the curriculum may prepare students for, not observed jobs held by this school’s graduates. BLS wages describe everyone working in an occupation.

BLS May 2025 wage estimates and 2025–35 employment projections.
Computer and Information Research Scientists$157,390 median wageVA estimate · 3,590 jobs · 15-1221$124,780–$207,480 middle 50% of VA wages+21.8% projected U.S. growth · 2,900 openings/yrTypical entry: Master's degreeSoftware Developers$136,460 median wageVA estimate · 88,280 jobs · 15-1252$106,600–$171,090 middle 50% of VA wages+10.2% projected U.S. growth · 95,300 openings/yrTypical entry: Bachelor's degreeSoftware Quality Assurance Analysts and Testers$121,590 median wageVA estimate · 10,160 jobs · 15-1253$98,120–$136,870 middle 50% of VA wages+5.7% projected U.S. growth · 10,700 openings/yrTypical entry: Bachelor's degreeComputer Science Teachers, Postsecondary$106,780 median wageVA estimate · 1,670 jobs · 25-1021$75,440–$159,640 middle 50% of VA wages+4.9% projected U.S. growth · 3,200 openings/yrTypical entry: Doctoral or professional degreeWeb and Digital Interface Designers$77,140 median wageVA estimate · 1,990 jobs · 15-1255$54,790–$102,370 middle 50% of VA wages+6.0% projected U.S. growth · 8,300 openings/yrTypical entry: Bachelor's degreeComputer and Information Systems Managers$201,490 median wageVA estimate · 17,550 jobs · 11-3021$166,430–$234,310 middle 50% of VA wages+15.8% projected U.S. growth · 53,500 openings/yrTypical entry: Bachelor's degreeDatabase Architects$160,360 median wageVA estimate · 5,260 jobs · 15-1243$125,540–$176,610 middle 50% of VA wages+9.4% projected U.S. growth · 3,900 openings/yrTypical entry: Bachelor's degreeComputer Network Architects$141,340 median wageVA estimate · 9,380 jobs · 15-1241$109,760–$174,510 middle 50% of VA wages+7.7% projected U.S. growth · 9,600 openings/yrTypical entry: Bachelor's degreeData Scientists$126,430 median wageVA estimate · 8,920 jobs · 15-2051$97,390–$165,610 middle 50% of VA wages+34.6% projected U.S. growth · 24,800 openings/yrTypical entry: Bachelor's degreeComputer Systems Analysts$120,840 median wageVA estimate · 23,190 jobs · 15-1211$92,490–$150,680 middle 50% of VA wages+7.9% projected U.S. growth · 32,900 openings/yrTypical entry: Bachelor's degreeComputer Occupations, All Other$139,030 median wageVA estimate · 17,000 jobs · 15-1299$108,160–$165,320 middle 50% of VA wages+5.1% projected U.S. growth · 27,000 openings/yrTypical entry: Bachelor's degreeInformation Security Analysts$134,900 median wageVA estimate · 19,120 jobs · 15-1212$103,980–$169,970 middle 50% of VA wages+21.0% projected U.S. growth · 14,100 openings/yrTypical entry: Bachelor's degree
CENSUS EMPLOYMENT DESTINATIONS

Where graduates work five years later

The leading industries employing graduates in this college, broad field and credential group.

01

Professional, Scientific, and Technical Services

about 58.2%
02

Information

about 9.4%
03

Finance and Insurance

about 5.4%
04

Administrative and Support and Waste Management and Remediation Services

about 4.4%
05

Wholesale Trade

about 3.4%

How to read this: This is an observed industry mix, not a list of job titles or proof that every graduate worked in the field studied. Counts and shares are approximate because Census privacy protections add statistical noise.

Coverage is limited to institutions and states participating in the Census Post-Secondary Employment Outcomes program. These figures do not affect DegreeVerdict ROI calculations.

Download the official Census source file →
Possible alternatives

Same degree, stronger on at least one reported measure.

Every option below reports higher earnings, lower federal debt or a lower college-wide net price. Same-state options appear first.

Blacksburg, VA

Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University

$33,349 higher earnings · $2,750 less debt

Earnings
$144,103
Debt
$20,500
Annual net price
$24,953
View outcomes →
Charlottesville, VA

University of Virginia-Main Campus

$31,287 higher earnings · $5,467 less debt

Earnings
$142,041
Debt
$17,783
Annual net price
$21,565
View outcomes →
Richmond, VA

Virginia Commonwealth University

$7,767 higher earnings · $4,200 less debt

Earnings
$118,521
Debt
$19,050
Annual net price
$23,433
View outcomes →
University of Richmond, VA

University of Richmond

$1,867 higher earnings

Earnings
$112,621
Debt
$23,381
Annual net price
$31,309
View outcomes →
Compare these programs →
DATA QUALITY

Check the evidence behind the estimate.

400 observations in the earnings cohort

June 10, 2026 College Scorecard release

Observed, estimated and contextual figures are labeled separately throughout this page

IS IT WORTH IT AT YOUR PRICE?

Your price and current earnings determine the result.

Add your grants, borrowing and current salary to estimate payment pressure, break-even time and ten-year payoff.

Calculate my payoff →