Public · COLLEGE PAYOFF

Frostburg State University

Frostburg, MD · 28 field-and-degree records

Earnings reported for 28 · Federal debt reported for 20

Based onObserved earnings + college priceEstimate10-year payoff
Estimated 10-year payoff
Negative payoff

−$141,340 over 10 years

Modeled from observed year-5 institution earnings and the institution-wide average net price over four years.

23.4 yrsTime to earn back the modeled cost
−57%Estimated return after 10 years
$55,552Observed earnings · year 5
Not reachedHighest annual price before payoff reaches $0
Start with your question

What do you want to understand?

ECONOMIC INVESTMENT → PAYBACK

Estimated payoff over ten years.

The scenario counts direct price and earnings forgone upfront, then applies the reported annual earnings premium.

10-YEAR PAYOFF CURVECumulative economic payoff after graduation
−$141,340at year 10
Net gainInvestment not yet recovered
NET GAIN$0UNRECOVERED
−$246,8600
2
4
6
8
−$141,34010
Years after graduationBreak-even: 23.4 years
FEDERAL COST DATA

Four ways to read college price.

Annual college-wide figures from the current College Scorecard release. Average net price covers full-time, first-time undergraduates receiving federal aid; public-college figures use in-state students. Program tuition and individual aid offers may differ.

Published in-state tuition$10,220
Sticker price
Published out-of-state tuition$25,814
Sticker price
Average net price$16,715
Title IV student average
Cost of attendance$27,056
Tuition + living budget
PRICE SOURCECollege reported · annual amount · federal dataset
PUBLISHED STUDENT BUDGET · 2024–25

What makes up the annual price?

Sticker-price components reported to IPEDS. Grants and scholarships are not subtracted here.

Tuition and required fees$10,220$25,814 for out-of-state students
Books and supplies$1,500Estimated academic-year allowance
On-campus housing and food$12,932$3,056 in other expenses reported separately
Estimated on-campus total$27,708Sum of available published components, before aid

Living off campus: $12,932 housing and food allowance plus $3,056 in other expenses.

Do not confuse this with net price. Net price subtracts average grants and scholarships. DegreeVerdict continues to use the separately labeled average net price in its standard college ROI scenario.

PRICE SENSITIVITY

The price can change the verdict.

Hold observed earnings constant and see how the modeled ten-year payoff changes as annual price rises.

What stays fixed$55,552 observed annual earnings · 4 years of study · $45,000 alternative annual earnings · ten-year horizonThe marked price is this college’s institution-wide average net price, not your personal aid offer. This is a sensitivity test, not a tuition quote or earnings forecast.
HOW STUDENTS ATTEND · 2023-24

Most students take at least some classes online.

IPEDS enrollment counts show course delivery across the whole institution. They do not indicate whether a specific degree can be completed online.

Fully online28%
1,247 students
Some online courses49%
2,199 students
No online courses24%
1,069 students
Undergraduates age 25+9.8%
Share of undergraduate enrollment

Institution-level attendance context from IPEDS. Program delivery is reported separately on degree pages and in the program directory. These figures do not enter ROI.

College identity and local contextAccreditation, institution type, dual enrollment and state prices
COLLEGE AT A GLANCE

Institution details

Current federal characteristics describing the college, not the outcomes of a specific program.

Accreditor
Middle States Commission on Higher Education
Main award level
Bachelor’s degrees
Campus setting
Town
Admissions
Selective admission
Delivery
Campus or mixed delivery
Federal designation
No special designation reported
Sources: College Scorecard June 2026 release and IPEDS 2024 institutional characteristics.
DUAL-ENROLLMENT CONTEXT · 2024

9 high-school students took college courses.

IPEDS counts students enrolled in college credit while still in high school. A large dual-enrollment population can shape headline enrollment figures, especially at community colleges.

This is participation, not a college completion rate. It does not indicate how many students later enrolled after high school, earned a credential or entered the workforce.

STATE PRICE CONTEXT · 2024

Prices in Maryland run 5% above the U.S. level.

BEA Regional Price Parities compare price levels across states. A value of 100 equals the national average.

Overall5% above U.S.
Goods3% above U.S.
Housing21% above U.S.
Utilities11% above U.S.
Other services2% above U.S.

Use this as geographic context, not a personal budget. It describes the state, not the campus neighborhood, and does not measure tuition or student-specific housing.

DegreeVerdict does not adjust reported earnings, college prices or ROI using this index.

Download the official BEA source →
THE NUMBERS BEHIND THE VERDICT

What it costs and what graduates earn

$16,715Average net price / year
$27,056Cost of attendance
$21,105Median federal student debt · completer borrowers
$224/moPublished 10-year payment estimate
$55,552Median earnings · year 5 after completion
49.7%Completion rate
89.2%Admission rate
21ACT midpoint
2,909Student size

Debt covers federal student-loan borrowers who completed. It does not include Parent PLUS or private loans. We show admissions scores only when a valid federal value is available.

QUESTIONS ANSWERED

What the numbers say about Frostburg State University

What does Frostburg State University cost?

Frostburg State University reports an average annual net price of $16,715 after grants and scholarships. This is an institution-wide average, not an individual aid offer.

What do Frostburg State University graduates earn?

The observed median earnings figure is $55,552 5 years after completion. It describes a federal cohort, not a guaranteed starting salary.

How much federal debt do Frostburg State University graduates have?

Completer borrowers report median cumulative federal student debt of $21,105. Parent PLUS and private loans are not included.

Is every degree at Frostburg State University worth the same?

No. The current release contains 28 field-and-degree records for Frostburg State University; 28 report year-4 earnings and 20 report federal debt. Outcomes can differ substantially by field and degree level.

DEBT AFTER COLLEGE

Are borrowers making progress?

Repayment progress, default and debt at exit describe different federal borrower cohorts. They are shown separately and do not change the ROI estimate.

1 year53%Paid down at least $1 of principal
3 years58%Paid down at least $1 of principal
5 years66%Paid down at least $1 of principal
7 years73%Paid down at least $1 of principal
Students who completed$21,105Median federal debt · 1,246 borrowers
Students who withdrew$8,250Median federal debt · 982 borrowers
Three-year cohort default rate0%Federal cohort measure, not the share currently behind on payments

Source: College Scorecard. Repayment progress is the share of borrowers who reduced principal by at least $1 at the stated measurement point. Debt covers federal student loans; Parent PLUS and private loans are excluded. Cohorts and reporting periods differ across measures.

2024–25 ENROLLMENT

Who studied here during the year

4,620Students enrolled at any point
3,759Undergraduate students
861Graduate students

Unduplicated students enrolled at any point from July 1, 2024 through June 30, 2025. This full-year measure is different from a fall headcount and does not enter ROI.

More student and earnings detailPrice by family income, retention, equity and common industries
PRICE BY FAMILY INCOME

Average net price is not one price

Federal averages for aided students in each family-income band. Your aid offer can differ.

$0–30k$12,129
$30–48k$12,240
$48–75k$15,709
$75–110k$19,727
$110k+$23,297
LONGER-TERM CONTEXT

What happens beyond the first earnings measure

Year 5$55,552
Year 6$43,638
Year 10$55,493
Full-time retention
69.3%
Part-time retention
0.0%
Completion within 200% of normal time
51.0%

Earnings timepoints may use different historical cohorts and should not be read as one group’s guaranteed salary growth.

WHO PAYS, WHO FINISHES, WHO EARNS

Outcomes are not the same for every family.

These federal cohorts add context that a single college average can hide. Missing figures remain unreported rather than estimated.

Pell Grant students45%

Complete within 150% of the expected time

56% received a Pell Grant within eight years
Parent borrowing$16,994

Median Parent PLUS debt

529 parent borrowers in the reported cohort
First-generation students$15,000

Median federal student debt

56% making progress in repayment after three years
Student family incomeMedian earnings after 10 yearsObserved federal cohorts
Lower income$49,856Earnings are not a guarantee
Middle income$54,913Earnings are not a guarantee
Higher income$59,307Earnings are not a guarantee
Three-year repayment progress
Lower income43%
Middle income59%
Higher income66%
Undergraduate student composition
White57%
Black23%
Hispanic7%
Asian1%

Source: College Scorecard, June 2026 release. Parent PLUS debt belongs to parents; student-debt measures exclude Parent PLUS and private loans. Cohort definitions differ by measure.

NATIONAL CONTEXT

How this college compares

Percentiles compare this institution with currently operating colleges that report the same federal measure.

73thEarnings percentile
36thCompletion percentile
WHAT STANDS OUT

A faster read on this college

These summaries use every reportable field-and-credential record at this institution. They do not fill privacy-suppressed outcomes.

$55,574Median year-4 earnings across reportable program categories
$25,000Median federal debt across categories that report debt
39%Of comparable categories above their same-field national benchmark
EARNINGS OVER TIME

What graduates earned in later years

$43,388Year 1
$58,511Year 4
$55,552Year 5

Each year can represent a different federal cohort, so the points do not track the same people over time.

DEGREES AT THIS COLLEGE

Your choice of degree can change the payoff.

Graduate earnings differ by field and credential, even within the same college.

1Business Administration, Management and Operations · Master's Degree$106,0322Engineering, General · Bachelor's Degree$99,6713Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing · Bachelor's Degree$86,3314Computer/Information Technology Administration and Management · Bachelor's Degree$85,5215Computer Science · Bachelor's Degree$83,9906Computer and Information Sciences, General · Bachelor's Degree$70,1447Information Science/Studies · Bachelor's Degree$69,6808Accounting and Related Services · Bachelor's Degree$67,484

Observed year-4 earnings · compare the same field and credential across colleges

Strongest relative outcomes

Programs that stand out against the same-degree benchmark

This view rewards performance relative to the same field and credential, not simply majors that pay more everywhere.

1Engineering, GeneralBachelor's Degree · $99,671 reported+12%vs same-degree national median$23,750federal debt2Fine and Studio ArtsBachelor's Degree · $45,220 reported+9%vs same-degree national median$24,834federal debt3Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and MethodsBachelor's Degree · $51,478 reported+9%vs same-degree national median$26,000federal debt4MusicBachelor's Degree · $46,546 reported+9%vs same-degree national medianNot availablefederal debt5Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Facilities ManagementBachelor's Degree · $52,488 reported+4%vs same-degree national median$25,000federal debt6SociologyBachelor's Degree · $54,197 reported+3%vs same-degree national median$27,000federal debt
BUILD A REAL SHORTLIST

Comparable colleges in MD

Currently operating public institutions with the closest combination of annual net price and observed year-5 earnings. Similarity is descriptive, not a quality ranking.

Arnold, MD

Anne Arundel Community College

Annual net price
$14,915
Observed earnings · year 5
$56,144
Modeled 10-year ROI
-54%
Open college profile →
St. Mary's City, MD

St. Mary's College of Maryland

Annual net price
$18,441
Observed earnings · year 5
$56,385
Modeled 10-year ROI
-55%
Open college profile →
Baltimore, MD

Baltimore City Community College

Annual net price
$15,987
Observed earnings · year 5
$51,136
Modeled 10-year ROI
-75%
Open college profile →
Baltimore, MD

Morgan State University

Annual net price
$14,985
Observed earnings · year 5
$59,150
Modeled 10-year ROI
-41%
Open college profile →
DEGREE OUTCOMES

Compare fields and degree levels

Showing all 28 field-and-degree records in the current release.

Major or fieldDegree levelEarnings, year 4Federal debt2024–25 graduates
Business Administration, Management and OperationsMaster's Degree$106,032Not availableNot reported
Engineering, GeneralBachelor's Degree$99,671$23,750Not reported
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingBachelor's Degree$86,331$22,750Not reported
Computer/Information Technology Administration and ManagementBachelor's Degree$85,521Not availableNot reported
Computer ScienceBachelor's Degree$83,990$21,500Not reported
Computer and Information Sciences, GeneralBachelor's Degree$70,144$30,750Not reported
Information Science/StudiesBachelor's Degree$69,680Not availableNot reported
Accounting and Related ServicesBachelor's Degree$67,484$27,000Not reported
Education, GeneralMaster's Degree$63,223Not available9
Health/Medical Preparatory ProgramsBachelor's Degree$62,767$24,875Not reported
Business Administration, Management and OperationsBachelor's Degree$61,002$26,0001
Political Science and GovernmentBachelor's Degree$57,770$25,000Not reported
Criminal Justice and CorrectionsBachelor's Degree$56,668$25,000Not reported
Biology, GeneralBachelor's Degree$55,718$24,309Not reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and MethodsMaster's Degree$55,430Not availableNot reported
SociologyBachelor's Degree$54,197$27,000Not reported
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and HumanitiesBachelor's Degree$53,934$28,750Not reported
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Facilities ManagementBachelor's Degree$52,488$25,000Not reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and MethodsBachelor's Degree$51,478$26,000Not reported
Social WorkBachelor's Degree$50,376$26,000Not reported
Psychology, GeneralBachelor's Degree$50,210$24,904Not reported
Communication and Media StudiesBachelor's Degree$48,762$27,000Not reported
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/FitnessBachelor's Degree$46,862$26,875Not reported
English Language and Literature, GeneralBachelor's Degree$46,612Not availableNot reported
MusicBachelor's Degree$46,546Not availableNot reported
Fine and Studio ArtsBachelor's Degree$45,220$24,834Not reported
Zoology/Animal BiologyBachelor's Degree$43,434$19,500Not reported
Drama/Theatre Arts and StagecraftBachelor's Degree$29,679Not availableNot reported

Graduate counts come from IPEDS and group related majors into the same federal field. Missing earnings or debt values remain labeled as unavailable.

Earnings, price, completion and enrollment are observed federal measures. ROI, payoff and break-even are modeled scenarios built from those measures and fixed assumptions. College payoff is not the payoff of every degree at this school; use the program table for a more precise comparison.