Private nonprofit · COLLEGE PAYOFF

Minneapolis College of Art and Design

Minneapolis, MN · 4 field-and-degree records

Earnings reported for 3 · Federal debt reported for 4

Based onObserved earnings + college priceEstimate10-year payoff
Estimated 10-year payoff
Negative payoff

−$300,574 over 10 years

Modeled from observed year-5 institution earnings and the institution-wide average net price over four years.

Not availableTime to earn back the modeled cost
−100%Estimated return after 10 years
$44,913Observed earnings · year 5
Not reachedHighest annual price before payoff reaches $0
Start with your question

What do you want to understand?

ECONOMIC INVESTMENT → PAYBACK

Estimated payoff over ten years.

The scenario counts direct price and earnings forgone upfront, then applies the reported annual earnings premium.

10-YEAR PAYOFF CURVECumulative economic payoff after graduation
−$300,574at year 10
Net gainInvestment not yet recovered
NET GAIN$0UNRECOVERED
−$299,7040
2
4
6
8
−$300,57410
Years after graduationBreak-even: years
FEDERAL COST DATA

Four ways to read college price.

Annual college-wide figures from the current College Scorecard release. Average net price covers full-time, first-time undergraduates receiving federal aid; public-college figures use in-state students. Program tuition and individual aid offers may differ.

Published in-state tuition$45,484
Sticker price
Published out-of-state tuition$45,484
Sticker price
Average net price$29,926
Title IV student average
Cost of attendance$59,972
Tuition + living budget
PRICE SOURCECollege reported · annual amount · federal dataset
PUBLISHED STUDENT BUDGET · 2024–25

What makes up the annual price?

Sticker-price components reported to IPEDS. Grants and scholarships are not subtracted here.

Tuition and required fees$45,484Same reported price regardless of residency
Books and supplies$3,800Estimated academic-year allowance
On-campus housing and food$13,360$2,000 in other expenses reported separately
Estimated on-campus total$64,644Sum of available published components, before aid

Living off campus: $13,360 housing and food allowance plus $2,000 in other expenses.

Do not confuse this with net price. Net price subtracts average grants and scholarships. DegreeVerdict continues to use the separately labeled average net price in its standard college ROI scenario.

PRICE SENSITIVITY

The price can change the verdict.

Hold observed earnings constant and see how the modeled ten-year payoff changes as annual price rises.

What stays fixed$44,913 observed annual earnings · 4 years of study · $45,000 alternative annual earnings · ten-year horizonThe marked price is this college’s institution-wide average net price, not your personal aid offer. This is a sensitivity test, not a tuition quote or earnings forecast.
HOW STUDENTS ATTEND · 2023-24

Online study is a meaningful part of the student experience.

IPEDS enrollment counts show course delivery across the whole institution. They do not indicate whether a specific degree can be completed online.

Fully online14%
123 students
Some online courses35%
318 students
No online courses51%
464 students
Undergraduates age 25+6.4%
Share of undergraduate enrollment

Institution-level attendance context from IPEDS. Program delivery is reported separately on degree pages and in the program directory. These figures do not enter ROI.

College identity and local contextAccreditation, institution type, dual enrollment and state prices
COLLEGE AT A GLANCE

Institution details

Current federal characteristics describing the college, not the outcomes of a specific program.

Accreditor
Higher Learning Commission
Main award level
Bachelor’s degrees
Campus setting
City
Admissions
Selective admission
Delivery
Campus or mixed delivery
Federal designation
No special designation reported
Sources: College Scorecard June 2026 release and IPEDS 2024 institutional characteristics.
DUAL-ENROLLMENT CONTEXT · 2024

8 high-school students took college courses.

IPEDS counts students enrolled in college credit while still in high school. A large dual-enrollment population can shape headline enrollment figures, especially at community colleges.

This is participation, not a college completion rate. It does not indicate how many students later enrolled after high school, earned a credential or entered the workforce.

STATE PRICE CONTEXT · 2024

Prices in Minnesota run 1% below the U.S. level.

BEA Regional Price Parities compare price levels across states. A value of 100 equals the national average.

Overall1% below U.S.
Goods1% above U.S.
Housing9% below U.S.
Utilities9% below U.S.
Other services0% above U.S.

Use this as geographic context, not a personal budget. It describes the state, not the campus neighborhood, and does not measure tuition or student-specific housing.

DegreeVerdict does not adjust reported earnings, college prices or ROI using this index.

Download the official BEA source →
THE NUMBERS BEHIND THE VERDICT

What it costs and what graduates earn

$29,926Average net price / year
$59,972Cost of attendance
$27,000Median federal student debt · completer borrowers
$286/moPublished 10-year payment estimate
$44,913Median earnings · year 5 after completion
51.2%Completion rate
48.5%Admission rate
1,161Average SAT score
705Student size

Debt covers federal student-loan borrowers who completed. It does not include Parent PLUS or private loans. We show admissions scores only when a valid federal value is available.

QUESTIONS ANSWERED

What the numbers say about Minneapolis College of Art and Design

What does Minneapolis College of Art and Design cost?

Minneapolis College of Art and Design reports an average annual net price of $29,926 after grants and scholarships. This is an institution-wide average, not an individual aid offer.

What do Minneapolis College of Art and Design graduates earn?

The observed median earnings figure is $44,913 5 years after completion. It describes a federal cohort, not a guaranteed starting salary.

How much federal debt do Minneapolis College of Art and Design graduates have?

Completer borrowers report median cumulative federal student debt of $27,000. Parent PLUS and private loans are not included.

Is every degree at Minneapolis College of Art and Design worth the same?

No. The current release contains 4 field-and-degree records for Minneapolis College of Art and Design; 3 report year-4 earnings and 4 report federal debt. Outcomes can differ substantially by field and degree level.

DEBT AFTER COLLEGE

Are borrowers making progress?

Repayment progress, default and debt at exit describe different federal borrower cohorts. They are shown separately and do not change the ROI estimate.

1 year63%Paid down at least $1 of principal
3 years66%Paid down at least $1 of principal
5 years78%Paid down at least $1 of principal
7 years80%Paid down at least $1 of principal
Students who completed$27,000Median federal debt · 235 borrowers
Students who withdrew$8,250Median federal debt · 223 borrowers
Three-year cohort default rate0%Federal cohort measure, not the share currently behind on payments

Source: College Scorecard. Repayment progress is the share of borrowers who reduced principal by at least $1 at the stated measurement point. Debt covers federal student loans; Parent PLUS and private loans are excluded. Cohorts and reporting periods differ across measures.

2024–25 ENROLLMENT

Who studied here during the year

899Students enrolled at any point
758Undergraduate students
141Graduate students

Unduplicated students enrolled at any point from July 1, 2024 through June 30, 2025. This full-year measure is different from a fall headcount and does not enter ROI.

More student and earnings detailPrice by family income, retention, equity and common industries
PRICE BY FAMILY INCOME

Average net price is not one price

Federal averages for aided students in each family-income band. Your aid offer can differ.

$0–30k$23,662
$30–48k$23,905
$48–75k$26,550
$75–110k$33,038
$110k+$34,345
LONGER-TERM CONTEXT

What happens beyond the first earnings measure

Year 5$44,913
Year 6$35,198
Year 10$40,873
Full-time retention
74.6%
Part-time retention
Not available
Completion within 200% of normal time
58.9%

Earnings timepoints may use different historical cohorts and should not be read as one group’s guaranteed salary growth.

WHO PAYS, WHO FINISHES, WHO EARNS

Outcomes are not the same for every family.

These federal cohorts add context that a single college average can hide. Missing figures remain unreported rather than estimated.

Pell Grant students40%

Complete within 150% of the expected time

60% received a Pell Grant within eight years
Parent borrowing$22,137

Median Parent PLUS debt

120 parent borrowers in the reported cohort
First-generation students$19,000

Median federal student debt

64% making progress in repayment after three years
Student family incomeMedian earnings after 10 yearsObserved federal cohorts
Lower income$35,736Earnings are not a guarantee
Middle income$42,166Earnings are not a guarantee
Higher income$45,049Earnings are not a guarantee
Three-year repayment progress
Lower income62%
Middle income66%
Higher income69%
Undergraduate student composition
White64%
Black6%
Hispanic12%
Asian6%

Source: College Scorecard, June 2026 release. Parent PLUS debt belongs to parents; student-debt measures exclude Parent PLUS and private loans. Cohort definitions differ by measure.

INDEPENDENT CENSUS EARNINGS VIEW

How earnings develop by field

Privacy-protected Census employment records follow graduate cohorts one, five and ten years after completion. This source is kept separate from College Scorecard because its population and methodology differ.

Field and credentialYear 1Year 5Year 10
Arts, Entertainment, and Media Management.Master’s degree · Broad federal field 50
$51,223Year 1
$67,570Year 5
$69,727Year 10
Arts, Entertainment, and Media Management.Bachelor’s degree · Broad federal field 50
$27,617Year 1
$44,644Year 5
$57,401Year 10

Median annual earnings in 2023 dollars. Each time point may use a different pooled graduation cohort. Coverage is limited to institutions participating in the Census Post-Secondary Employment Outcomes program.

NATIONAL CONTEXT

How this college compares

Percentiles compare this institution with currently operating colleges that report the same federal measure.

49thEarnings percentile
39thCompletion percentile
WHAT STANDS OUT

A faster read on this college

These summaries use every reportable field-and-credential record at this institution. They do not fill privacy-suppressed outcomes.

$39,467Median year-4 earnings across reportable program categories
$27,000Median federal debt across categories that report debt
33%Of comparable categories above their same-field national benchmark
EARNINGS OVER TIME

What graduates earned in later years

$24,825Year 1
$41,825Year 4
$44,913Year 5

Each year can represent a different federal cohort, so the points do not track the same people over time.

DEGREES AT THIS COLLEGE

Your choice of degree can change the payoff.

Graduate earnings differ by field and credential, even within the same college.

1Graphic Communications · Bachelor's Degree$43,7452Design and Applied Arts · Bachelor's Degree$39,4673Fine and Studio Arts · Bachelor's Degree$32,667

Observed year-4 earnings · compare the same field and credential across colleges

Strongest relative outcomes

Programs that stand out against the same-degree benchmark

This view rewards performance relative to the same field and credential, not simply majors that pay more everywhere.

1Graphic CommunicationsBachelor's Degree · $43,745 reported+1%vs same-degree national median$27,000federal debt2Fine and Studio ArtsBachelor's Degree · $32,667 reported-21%vs same-degree national median$30,250federal debt3Design and Applied ArtsBachelor's Degree · $39,467 reported-23%vs same-degree national median$27,000federal debt
BUILD A REAL SHORTLIST

Comparable colleges in MN

Currently operating private nonprofit institutions with the closest combination of annual net price and observed year-5 earnings. Similarity is descriptive, not a quality ranking.

Minneapolis, MN

North Central University

Annual net price
$25,817
Observed earnings · year 5
$44,855
Modeled 10-year ROI
-101%
Open college profile →
Saint Bonifacius, MN

Crown College

Annual net price
$26,672
Observed earnings · year 5
$46,129
Modeled 10-year ROI
-96%
Open college profile →
Saint Paul, MN

University of Northwestern-St Paul

Annual net price
$27,705
Observed earnings · year 5
$48,941
Modeled 10-year ROI
-86%
Open college profile →
Mankato, MN

Bethany Lutheran College

Annual net price
$20,148
Observed earnings · year 5
$45,652
Modeled 10-year ROI
-97%
Open college profile →
DEGREE OUTCOMES

Compare fields and degree levels

Showing all 4 field-and-degree records in the current release.

Major or fieldDegree levelEarnings, year 4Federal debt2024–25 graduates
Graphic CommunicationsBachelor's Degree$43,745$27,000Not reported
Design and Applied ArtsBachelor's Degree$39,467$27,000Not reported
Fine and Studio ArtsBachelor's Degree$32,667$30,250Not reported
Film/Video and Photographic ArtsBachelor's DegreeNot available$27,000Not reported

Graduate counts come from IPEDS and group related majors into the same federal field. Missing earnings or debt values remain labeled as unavailable.

Earnings, price, completion and enrollment are observed federal measures. ROI, payoff and break-even are modeled scenarios built from those measures and fixed assumptions. College payoff is not the payoff of every degree at this school; use the program table for a more precise comparison.