Private nonprofit · COLLEGE PAYOFF

Northeastern University

Boston, MA · 82 field-and-degree records

Earnings reported for 79 · Federal debt reported for 37

Based onObserved earnings + college priceEstimate10-year payoff
Estimated 10-year payoff
Positive payoff

+$191,620 over 10 years

Modeled from observed year-5 institution earnings and the institution-wide average net price over four years.

6.1 yrsTime to earn back the modeled cost
+63%Estimated return after 10 years
$94,528Observed earnings · year 5
$78,820Highest annual price before payoff reaches $0

The price benchmark is $47,905 per year below this threshold.

Start with your question

What do you want to understand?

ECONOMIC INVESTMENT → PAYBACK

Estimated payoff over ten years.

The scenario counts direct price and earnings forgone upfront, then applies the reported annual earnings premium.

10-YEAR PAYOFF CURVECumulative economic payoff after graduation
+$191,620at year 10
Net gainInvestment not yet recovered
NET GAIN$0UNRECOVERED
−$303,6600
2
4
6
8
+$191,62010
Years after graduationBreak-even: 6.1 years
FEDERAL COST DATA

Four ways to read college price.

Annual college-wide figures from the current College Scorecard release. Average net price covers full-time, first-time undergraduates receiving federal aid; public-college figures use in-state students. Program tuition and individual aid offers may differ.

Published in-state tuition$66,162
Sticker price
Published out-of-state tuition$66,162
Sticker price
Average net price$30,915
Title IV student average
Cost of attendance$84,641
Tuition + living budget
PRICE SOURCECollege reported · annual amount · federal dataset
PUBLISHED STUDENT BUDGET · 2024–25

What makes up the annual price?

Sticker-price components reported to IPEDS. Grants and scholarships are not subtracted here.

Tuition and required fees$66,162Same reported price regardless of residency
Books and supplies$1,000Estimated academic-year allowance
On-campus housing and food$19,580$1,800 in other expenses reported separately
Estimated on-campus total$88,542Sum of available published components, before aid

Living off campus: $19,580 housing and food allowance plus $1,800 in other expenses.

Do not confuse this with net price. Net price subtracts average grants and scholarships. DegreeVerdict continues to use the separately labeled average net price in its standard college ROI scenario.

PRICE SENSITIVITY

The price can change the verdict.

Hold observed earnings constant and see how the modeled ten-year payoff changes as annual price rises.

What stays fixed$94,528 observed annual earnings · 4 years of study · $45,000 alternative annual earnings · ten-year horizonThe marked price is this college’s institution-wide average net price, not your personal aid offer. This is a sensitivity test, not a tuition quote or earnings forecast.
HOW STUDENTS ATTEND · 2023-24

Online study is a meaningful part of the student experience.

IPEDS enrollment counts show course delivery across the whole institution. They do not indicate whether a specific degree can be completed online.

Fully online4.2%
1,742 students
Some online courses42%
17,570 students
No online courses54%
22,342 students
Undergraduates age 25+0.7%
Share of undergraduate enrollment

Institution-level attendance context from IPEDS. Program delivery is reported separately on degree pages and in the program directory. These figures do not enter ROI.

College identity and local contextAccreditation, institution type, dual enrollment and state prices
COLLEGE AT A GLANCE

Institution details

Current federal characteristics describing the college, not the outcomes of a specific program.

Accreditor
New England Commission on Higher Education
Main award level
Bachelor’s degrees
Campus setting
City
Admissions
Selective admission
Delivery
Campus or mixed delivery
Federal designation
No special designation reported
Sources: College Scorecard June 2026 release and IPEDS 2024 institutional characteristics.
STATE PRICE CONTEXT · 2024

Prices in Massachusetts run 6% above the U.S. level.

BEA Regional Price Parities compare price levels across states. A value of 100 equals the national average.

Overall6% above U.S.
Goods1% below U.S.
Housing28% above U.S.
Utilities52% above U.S.
Other services3% above U.S.

Use this as geographic context, not a personal budget. It describes the state, not the campus neighborhood, and does not measure tuition or student-specific housing.

DegreeVerdict does not adjust reported earnings, college prices or ROI using this index.

Download the official BEA source →
THE NUMBERS BEHIND THE VERDICT

What it costs and what graduates earn

$30,915Average net price / year
$84,641Cost of attendance
$24,250Median federal student debt · completer borrowers
$257/moPublished 10-year payment estimate
$94,528Median earnings · year 5 after completion
90.5%Completion rate
5.2%Admission rate
1,497Average SAT score
34ACT midpoint
17,326Student size

Debt covers federal student-loan borrowers who completed. It does not include Parent PLUS or private loans. We show admissions scores only when a valid federal value is available.

QUESTIONS ANSWERED

What the numbers say about Northeastern University

What does Northeastern University cost?

Northeastern University reports an average annual net price of $30,915 after grants and scholarships. This is an institution-wide average, not an individual aid offer.

What do Northeastern University graduates earn?

The observed median earnings figure is $94,528 5 years after completion. It describes a federal cohort, not a guaranteed starting salary.

How much federal debt do Northeastern University graduates have?

Completer borrowers report median cumulative federal student debt of $24,250. Parent PLUS and private loans are not included.

Is every degree at Northeastern University worth the same?

No. The current release contains 82 field-and-degree records for Northeastern University; 79 report year-4 earnings and 37 report federal debt. Outcomes can differ substantially by field and degree level.

DEBT AFTER COLLEGE

Are borrowers making progress?

Repayment progress, default and debt at exit describe different federal borrower cohorts. They are shown separately and do not change the ROI estimate.

1 year75%Paid down at least $1 of principal
3 years79%Paid down at least $1 of principal
5 years83%Paid down at least $1 of principal
7 years86%Paid down at least $1 of principal
Students who completed$24,250Median federal debt · 3,961 borrowers
Students who withdrew$13,500Median federal debt · 1,663 borrowers
Three-year cohort default rate0%Federal cohort measure, not the share currently behind on payments

Source: College Scorecard. Repayment progress is the share of borrowers who reduced principal by at least $1 at the stated measurement point. Debt covers federal student loans; Parent PLUS and private loans are excluded. Cohorts and reporting periods differ across measures.

2024–25 ENROLLMENT

Who studied here during the year

43,059Students enrolled at any point
24,663Undergraduate students
18,396Graduate students

Unduplicated students enrolled at any point from July 1, 2024 through June 30, 2025. This full-year measure is different from a fall headcount and does not enter ROI.

More student and earnings detailPrice by family income, retention, equity and common industries
PRICE BY FAMILY INCOME

Average net price is not one price

Federal averages for aided students in each family-income band. Your aid offer can differ.

$0–30k$2,264
$30–48k$2,436
$48–75k$5,301
$75–110k$16,241
$110k+$47,696
LONGER-TERM CONTEXT

What happens beyond the first earnings measure

Year 5$94,528
Year 6$78,413
Year 10$92,538
Full-time retention
96.9%
Part-time retention
Not available
Completion within 200% of normal time
91.4%

Earnings timepoints may use different historical cohorts and should not be read as one group’s guaranteed salary growth.

WHO PAYS, WHO FINISHES, WHO EARNS

Outcomes are not the same for every family.

These federal cohorts add context that a single college average can hide. Missing figures remain unreported rather than estimated.

Pell Grant students90%

Complete within 150% of the expected time

90% received a Pell Grant within eight years
Parent borrowing$35,000

Median Parent PLUS debt

686 parent borrowers in the reported cohort
First-generation students$21,500

Median federal student debt

70% making progress in repayment after three years
Student family incomeMedian earnings after 10 yearsObserved federal cohorts
Lower income$79,067Earnings are not a guarantee
Middle income$91,789Earnings are not a guarantee
Higher income$96,778Earnings are not a guarantee
Three-year repayment progress
Lower income63%
Middle income75%
Higher income87%
Undergraduate student composition
White40%
Black5%
Hispanic10%
Asian22%

Source: College Scorecard, June 2026 release. Parent PLUS debt belongs to parents; student-debt measures exclude Parent PLUS and private loans. Cohort definitions differ by measure.

NATIONAL CONTEXT

How this college compares

Percentiles compare this institution with currently operating colleges that report the same federal measure.

98thEarnings percentile
92thCompletion percentile
WHAT STANDS OUT

A faster read on this college

These summaries use every reportable field-and-credential record at this institution. They do not fill privacy-suppressed outcomes.

$97,115Median year-4 earnings across reportable program categories
$25,000Median federal debt across categories that report debt
85%Of comparable categories above their same-field national benchmark
EARNINGS OVER TIME

What graduates earned in later years

$74,155Year 1
$101,903Year 4
$94,528Year 5

Each year can represent a different federal cohort, so the points do not track the same people over time.

DEGREES AT THIS COLLEGE

Your choice of degree can change the payoff.

Graduate earnings differ by field and credential, even within the same college.

1Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing · First Professional Degree$191,0832Finance and Financial Management Services · Master's Degree$169,2343Computer and Information Sciences, General · Bachelor's Degree$163,7084Computer Software and Media Applications · Master's Degree$158,5425Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering · Master's Degree$155,4836Business/Commerce, General · Master's Degree$148,4907Computer and Information Sciences, General · Master's Degree$145,9098Pharmacy, Pharmaceutical Sciences, and Administration · First Professional Degree$145,722

Observed year-4 earnings · compare the same field and credential across colleges

Strongest relative outcomes

Programs that stand out against the same-degree benchmark

This view rewards performance relative to the same field and credential, not simply majors that pay more everywhere.

1MathematicsBachelor's Degree · $125,084 reported+80%vs same-degree national median$21,750federal debt2Computer and Information Sciences, GeneralBachelor's Degree · $163,708 reported+77%vs same-degree national median$23,001federal debt3International BusinessBachelor's Degree · $125,162 reported+71%vs same-degree national median$25,729federal debt4Design and Applied ArtsBachelor's Degree · $87,336 reported+70%vs same-degree national median$28,250federal debt5Business/Commerce, GeneralBachelor's Degree · $113,620 reported+66%vs same-degree national median$24,000federal debt6Legal Professions and Studies, OtherFirst Professional Degree · $133,189 reported+54%vs same-degree national medianNot availablefederal debt
BUILD A REAL SHORTLIST

Comparable colleges in MA

Currently operating private nonprofit institutions with the closest combination of annual net price and observed year-5 earnings. Similarity is descriptive, not a quality ranking.

Boston, MA

Wentworth Institute of Technology

Annual net price
$34,170
Observed earnings · year 5
$94,129
Modeled 10-year ROI
+55%
Open college profile →
Amherst, MA

Amherst College

Annual net price
$23,367
Observed earnings · year 5
$88,665
Modeled 10-year ROI
+60%
Open college profile →
Chestnut Hill, MA

Boston College

Annual net price
$41,704
Observed earnings · year 5
$90,978
Modeled 10-year ROI
+33%
Open college profile →
Medford, MA

Tufts University

Annual net price
$39,998
Observed earnings · year 5
$86,650
Modeled 10-year ROI
+23%
Open college profile →
DEGREE OUTCOMES

Compare fields and degree levels

Showing the 40 highest-earning records from 82 field-and-degree records. Use the program directory to search the complete set.

Major or fieldDegree levelEarnings, year 4Federal debt2024–25 graduates
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingFirst Professional Degree$191,083Not availableNot reported
Finance and Financial Management ServicesMaster's Degree$169,234Not availableNot reported
Computer and Information Sciences, GeneralBachelor's Degree$163,708$23,001Not reported
Computer Software and Media ApplicationsMaster's Degree$158,542Not availableNot reported
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications EngineeringMaster's Degree$155,483Not availableNot reported
Business/Commerce, GeneralMaster's Degree$148,490Not availableNot reported
Computer and Information Sciences, GeneralMaster's Degree$145,909Not availableNot reported
Pharmacy, Pharmaceutical Sciences, and AdministrationFirst Professional Degree$145,722Not availableNot reported
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingMaster's Degree$143,345Not available2
Pharmacy, Pharmaceutical Sciences, and AdministrationBachelor's Degree$142,985$31,000Not reported
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications EngineeringGraduate/Professional Certificate$138,018Not availableNot reported
Pharmacy, Pharmaceutical Sciences, and AdministrationMaster's Degree$136,474Not availableNot reported
Computer EngineeringBachelor's Degree$135,416$25,005Not reported
Legal Professions and Studies, OtherFirst Professional Degree$133,189Not availableNot reported
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment ProfessionsMaster's Degree$125,862Not availableNot reported
BiotechnologyMaster's Degree$125,179Not availableNot reported
International BusinessBachelor's Degree$125,162$25,729Not reported
MathematicsBachelor's Degree$125,084$21,750Not reported
Mechanical EngineeringMaster's Degree$124,007Not availableNot reported
Chemical EngineeringMaster's Degree$122,043Not availableNot reported
Engineering, GeneralMaster's Degree$119,842Not availableNot reported
Accounting and Related ServicesMaster's Degree$118,744Not availableNot reported
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications EngineeringBachelor's Degree$118,150$24,835Not reported
Systems EngineeringMaster's Degree$117,700Not availableNot reported
Management Sciences and Quantitative MethodsMaster's Degree$117,139Not availableNot reported
Engineering, OtherMaster's Degree$116,924Not availableNot reported
LawFirst Professional Degree$116,706Not availableNot reported
Business/Commerce, GeneralBachelor's Degree$113,620$24,000Not reported
Engineering, OtherBachelor's Degree$112,019$22,512Not reported
Biomathematics, Bioinformatics, and Computational BiologyMaster's Degree$111,725Not availableNot reported
Industrial EngineeringBachelor's Degree$111,430$25,000Not reported
Education, GeneralFirst Professional Degree$110,524Not availableNot reported
Chemical EngineeringBachelor's Degree$107,767$27,000Not reported
Medical Illustration and InformaticsMaster's Degree$104,317Not availableNot reported
Mechanical EngineeringBachelor's Degree$103,384$25,893Not reported
EconomicsBachelor's Degree$101,423$24,500Not reported
Civil EngineeringMaster's Degree$100,767Not availableNot reported
Communication Disorders Sciences and ServicesFirst Professional Degree$100,761Not availableNot reported
Civil EngineeringBachelor's Degree$100,613$24,750Not reported
Communication and Media StudiesMaster's Degree$97,115Not availableNot reported

Graduate counts come from IPEDS and group related majors into the same federal field. Missing earnings or debt values remain labeled as unavailable.

Search every Northeastern University program record →

Earnings, price, completion and enrollment are observed federal measures. ROI, payoff and break-even are modeled scenarios built from those measures and fixed assumptions. College payoff is not the payoff of every degree at this school; use the program table for a more precise comparison.