Public · COLLEGE PAYOFF

State University of New York at Cortland

Cortland, NY · 25 field-and-degree records

Earnings reported for 23 · Federal debt reported for 18

Based onObserved earnings + college priceEstimate10-year payoff
Estimated 10-year payoff
Negative payoff

−$111,790 over 10 years

Modeled from observed year-5 institution earnings and the institution-wide average net price over four years.

17.1 yrsTime to earn back the modeled cost
−41%Estimated return after 10 years
$60,759Observed earnings · year 5
Not reachedHighest annual price before payoff reaches $0
Start with your question

What do you want to understand?

ECONOMIC INVESTMENT → PAYBACK

Estimated payoff over ten years.

The scenario counts direct price and earnings forgone upfront, then applies the reported annual earnings premium.

10-YEAR PAYOFF CURVECumulative economic payoff after graduation
−$111,790at year 10
Net gainInvestment not yet recovered
NET GAIN$0UNRECOVERED
−$269,3800
2
4
6
8
−$111,79010
Years after graduationBreak-even: 17.1 years
FEDERAL COST DATA

Four ways to read college price.

Annual college-wide figures from the current College Scorecard release. Average net price covers full-time, first-time undergraduates receiving federal aid; public-college figures use in-state students. Program tuition and individual aid offers may differ.

Published in-state tuition$8,874
Sticker price
Published out-of-state tuition$18,784
Sticker price
Average net price$22,345
Title IV student average
Cost of attendance$28,108
Tuition + living budget
PRICE SOURCECollege reported · annual amount · federal dataset
PUBLISHED STUDENT BUDGET · 2024–25

What makes up the annual price?

Sticker-price components reported to IPEDS. Grants and scholarships are not subtracted here.

Tuition and required fees$8,874$18,784 for out-of-state students
Books and supplies$1,200Estimated academic-year allowance
On-campus housing and food$15,560$3,050 in other expenses reported separately
Estimated on-campus total$28,684Sum of available published components, before aid

Living off campus: $15,600 housing and food allowance plus $3,050 in other expenses.

Do not confuse this with net price. Net price subtracts average grants and scholarships. DegreeVerdict continues to use the separately labeled average net price in its standard college ROI scenario.

PRICE SENSITIVITY

The price can change the verdict.

Hold observed earnings constant and see how the modeled ten-year payoff changes as annual price rises.

What stays fixed$60,759 observed annual earnings · 4 years of study · $45,000 alternative annual earnings · ten-year horizonThe marked price is this college’s institution-wide average net price, not your personal aid offer. This is a sensitivity test, not a tuition quote or earnings forecast.
HOW STUDENTS ATTEND · 2023-24

Online study is a meaningful part of the student experience.

IPEDS enrollment counts show course delivery across the whole institution. They do not indicate whether a specific degree can be completed online.

Fully online15%
1,179 students
Some online courses49%
3,839 students
No online courses36%
2,806 students
Undergraduates age 25+2.3%
Share of undergraduate enrollment

Institution-level attendance context from IPEDS. Program delivery is reported separately on degree pages and in the program directory. These figures do not enter ROI.

College identity and local contextAccreditation, institution type, dual enrollment and state prices
COLLEGE AT A GLANCE

Institution details

Current federal characteristics describing the college, not the outcomes of a specific program.

Accreditor
Middle States Commission on Higher Education
Main award level
Bachelor’s degrees
Campus setting
Town
Admissions
Selective admission
Delivery
Campus or mixed delivery
Federal designation
No special designation reported
Sources: College Scorecard June 2026 release and IPEDS 2024 institutional characteristics.
DUAL-ENROLLMENT CONTEXT · 2024

60 high-school students took college courses.

IPEDS counts students enrolled in college credit while still in high school. A large dual-enrollment population can shape headline enrollment figures, especially at community colleges.

This is participation, not a college completion rate. It does not indicate how many students later enrolled after high school, earned a credential or entered the workforce.

STATE PRICE CONTEXT · 2024

Prices in New York run 8% above the U.S. level.

BEA Regional Price Parities compare price levels across states. A value of 100 equals the national average.

Overall8% above U.S.
Goods7% above U.S.
Housing22% above U.S.
Utilities34% above U.S.
Other services4% above U.S.

Use this as geographic context, not a personal budget. It describes the state, not the campus neighborhood, and does not measure tuition or student-specific housing.

DegreeVerdict does not adjust reported earnings, college prices or ROI using this index.

Download the official BEA source →
THE NUMBERS BEHIND THE VERDICT

What it costs and what graduates earn

$22,345Average net price / year
$28,108Cost of attendance
$21,500Median federal student debt · completer borrowers
$228/moPublished 10-year payment estimate
$60,759Median earnings · year 5 after completion
68.0%Completion rate
59.8%Admission rate
25ACT midpoint
5,901Student size

Debt covers federal student-loan borrowers who completed. It does not include Parent PLUS or private loans. We show admissions scores only when a valid federal value is available.

QUESTIONS ANSWERED

What the numbers say about State University of New York at Cortland

What does State University of New York at Cortland cost?

State University of New York at Cortland reports an average annual net price of $22,345 after grants and scholarships. This is an institution-wide average, not an individual aid offer.

What do State University of New York at Cortland graduates earn?

The observed median earnings figure is $60,759 5 years after completion. It describes a federal cohort, not a guaranteed starting salary.

How much federal debt do State University of New York at Cortland graduates have?

Completer borrowers report median cumulative federal student debt of $21,500. Parent PLUS and private loans are not included.

Is every degree at State University of New York at Cortland worth the same?

No. The current release contains 25 field-and-degree records for State University of New York at Cortland; 23 report year-4 earnings and 18 report federal debt. Outcomes can differ substantially by field and degree level.

DEBT AFTER COLLEGE

Are borrowers making progress?

Repayment progress, default and debt at exit describe different federal borrower cohorts. They are shown separately and do not change the ROI estimate.

1 year66%Paid down at least $1 of principal
3 years73%Paid down at least $1 of principal
5 years79%Paid down at least $1 of principal
7 years82%Paid down at least $1 of principal
Students who completed$21,500Median federal debt · 2,222 borrowers
Students who withdrew$8,457Median federal debt · 1,350 borrowers
Three-year cohort default rate0%Federal cohort measure, not the share currently behind on payments

Source: College Scorecard. Repayment progress is the share of borrowers who reduced principal by at least $1 at the stated measurement point. Debt covers federal student loans; Parent PLUS and private loans are excluded. Cohorts and reporting periods differ across measures.

2024–25 ENROLLMENT

Who studied here during the year

8,044Students enrolled at any point
6,583Undergraduate students
1,461Graduate students

Unduplicated students enrolled at any point from July 1, 2024 through June 30, 2025. This full-year measure is different from a fall headcount and does not enter ROI.

More student and earnings detailPrice by family income, retention, equity and common industries
PRICE BY FAMILY INCOME

Average net price is not one price

Federal averages for aided students in each family-income band. Your aid offer can differ.

$0–30k$12,550
$30–48k$16,453
$48–75k$20,102
$75–110k$21,636
$110k+$25,853
LONGER-TERM CONTEXT

What happens beyond the first earnings measure

Year 5$60,759
Year 6$46,535
Year 10$60,236
Full-time retention
81.1%
Part-time retention
Not available
Completion within 200% of normal time
69.0%

Earnings timepoints may use different historical cohorts and should not be read as one group’s guaranteed salary growth.

WHO PAYS, WHO FINISHES, WHO EARNS

Outcomes are not the same for every family.

These federal cohorts add context that a single college average can hide. Missing figures remain unreported rather than estimated.

Pell Grant students63%

Complete within 150% of the expected time

69% received a Pell Grant within eight years
Parent borrowing$19,768

Median Parent PLUS debt

806 parent borrowers in the reported cohort
First-generation students$17,972

Median federal student debt

71% making progress in repayment after three years
Student family incomeMedian earnings after 10 yearsObserved federal cohorts
Lower income$53,894Earnings are not a guarantee
Middle income$60,507Earnings are not a guarantee
Higher income$62,923Earnings are not a guarantee
Three-year repayment progress
Lower income61%
Middle income73%
Higher income77%
Undergraduate student composition
White76%
Black4%
Hispanic12%
Asian1%

Source: College Scorecard, June 2026 release. Parent PLUS debt belongs to parents; student-debt measures exclude Parent PLUS and private loans. Cohort definitions differ by measure.

INDEPENDENT CENSUS EARNINGS VIEW

How earnings develop by field

Privacy-protected Census employment records follow graduate cohorts one, five and ten years after completion. This source is kept separate from College Scorecard because its population and methodology differ.

Field and credentialYear 1Year 5Year 10
Astronomy and Astrophysics.Bachelor’s degree · Broad federal field 40
$51,537Year 1
$60,837Year 5
$96,791Year 10
Accounting and Related Services.Bachelor’s degree · Broad federal field 52
$45,972Year 1
$76,770Year 5
$93,016Year 10
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology.Bachelor’s degree · Broad federal field 26
$36,966Year 1
$70,474Year 5
$92,787Year 10
Communication and Media Studies.Bachelor’s degree · Broad federal field 09
$38,771Year 1
$66,726Year 5
$83,557Year 10
Applied Mathematics.Bachelor’s degree · Broad federal field 27
$37,592Year 1
$65,986Year 5
$82,300Year 10
Anthropology.Bachelor’s degree · Broad federal field 45
$36,885Year 1
$63,113Year 5
$81,741Year 10
Outdoor Education.Bachelor’s degree · Broad federal field 31
$31,865Year 1
$62,645Year 5
$75,127Year 10
History.Bachelor’s degree · Broad federal field 54
$35,419Year 1
$61,332Year 5
$75,101Year 10

Median annual earnings in 2023 dollars. Each time point may use a different pooled graduation cohort. Coverage is limited to institutions participating in the Census Post-Secondary Employment Outcomes program.

NATIONAL CONTEXT

How this college compares

Percentiles compare this institution with currently operating colleges that report the same federal measure.

81thEarnings percentile
64thCompletion percentile
WHAT STANDS OUT

A faster read on this college

These summaries use every reportable field-and-credential record at this institution. They do not fill privacy-suppressed outcomes.

$60,296Median year-4 earnings across reportable program categories
$25,759Median federal debt across categories that report debt
61%Of comparable categories above their same-field national benchmark
EARNINGS OVER TIME

What graduates earned in later years

$34,559Year 1
$58,555Year 4
$60,759Year 5

Each year can represent a different federal cohort, so the points do not track the same people over time.

DEGREES AT THIS COLLEGE

Your choice of degree can change the payoff.

Graduate earnings differ by field and credential, even within the same college.

1Special Education and Teaching · Bachelor's Degree$74,0792Communication Disorders Sciences and Services · Master's Degree$68,2043Business/Managerial Economics · Bachelor's Degree$66,6444Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas · Master's Degree$65,2855Communication and Media Studies · Bachelor's Degree$63,4316Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas · Bachelor's Degree$63,2017Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness · Master's Degree$63,1488Health Professions and Related Clinical Sciences, Other · Bachelor's Degree$62,524

Observed year-4 earnings · compare the same field and credential across colleges

Strongest relative outcomes

Programs that stand out against the same-degree benchmark

This view rewards performance relative to the same field and credential, not simply majors that pay more everywhere.

1Special Education and TeachingBachelor's Degree · $74,079 reported+47%vs same-degree national medianNot availablefederal debt2Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and MethodsBachelor's Degree · $62,275 reported+31%vs same-degree national median$25,902federal debt3Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject AreasBachelor's Degree · $63,201 reported+23%vs same-degree national median$25,837federal debt4Communication and Media StudiesBachelor's Degree · $63,431 reported+13%vs same-degree national median$23,874federal debt5Psychology, GeneralBachelor's Degree · $56,366 reported+11%vs same-degree national median$23,616federal debt6Biology, GeneralBachelor's Degree · $61,879 reported+8%vs same-degree national median$26,000federal debt
BUILD A REAL SHORTLIST

Comparable colleges in NY

Currently operating public institutions with the closest combination of annual net price and observed year-5 earnings. Similarity is descriptive, not a quality ranking.

Oneonta, NY

SUNY Oneonta

Annual net price
$19,158
Observed earnings · year 5
$58,485
Modeled 10-year ROI
-47%
Open college profile →
Geneseo, NY

SUNY College at Geneseo

Annual net price
$18,211
Observed earnings · year 5
$62,263
Modeled 10-year ROI
-32%
Open college profile →
Syracuse, NY

SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry

Annual net price
$18,952
Observed earnings · year 5
$57,174
Modeled 10-year ROI
-52%
Open college profile →
New Paltz, NY

State University of New York at New Paltz

Annual net price
$18,809
Observed earnings · year 5
$57,166
Modeled 10-year ROI
-52%
Open college profile →
DEGREE OUTCOMES

Compare fields and degree levels

Showing all 25 field-and-degree records in the current release.

Major or fieldDegree levelEarnings, year 4Federal debt2024–25 graduates
Special Education and TeachingBachelor's Degree$74,079Not availableNot reported
Communication Disorders Sciences and ServicesMaster's Degree$68,204Not availableNot reported
Business/Managerial EconomicsBachelor's Degree$66,644$26,000Not reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject AreasMaster's Degree$65,285Not availableNot reported
Communication and Media StudiesBachelor's Degree$63,431$23,874Not reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject AreasBachelor's Degree$63,201$25,837Not reported
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/FitnessMaster's Degree$63,148Not availableNot reported
Health Professions and Related Clinical Sciences, OtherBachelor's Degree$62,524$26,995Not reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and MethodsBachelor's Degree$62,275$25,902Not reported
Communication Disorders Sciences and ServicesBachelor's Degree$62,122$23,250Not reported
Biology, GeneralBachelor's Degree$61,879$26,000Not reported
Political Science and GovernmentBachelor's Degree$60,296$24,138Not reported
Geological and Earth Sciences/GeosciencesBachelor's Degree$60,027Not availableNot reported
Special Education and TeachingMaster's Degree$57,719Not availableNot reported
CriminologyBachelor's Degree$56,593$21,500Not reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and MethodsMaster's Degree$56,556Not availableNot reported
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/FitnessBachelor's Degree$56,466$25,681Not reported
Psychology, GeneralBachelor's Degree$56,366$23,616Not reported
SociologyBachelor's Degree$53,524$25,379Not reported
Rehabilitation and Therapeutic ProfessionsBachelor's Degree$52,654$27,00011
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment ProfessionsBachelor's Degree$52,067$27,000Not reported
HistoryBachelor's Degree$51,043$26,000Not reported
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and HumanitiesBachelor's Degree$44,687$28,150Not reported
English Language and Literature, GeneralBachelor's DegreeNot available$25,318Not reported
MathematicsBachelor's DegreeNot available$25,000Not reported

Graduate counts come from IPEDS and group related majors into the same federal field. Missing earnings or debt values remain labeled as unavailable.

Earnings, price, completion and enrollment are observed federal measures. ROI, payoff and break-even are modeled scenarios built from those measures and fixed assumptions. College payoff is not the payoff of every degree at this school; use the program table for a more precise comparison.