Public · COLLEGE PAYOFF

University of California, Santa Cruz

Santa Cruz, CA · 39 field-and-degree records

Earnings reported for 37 · Federal debt reported for 35

Based onObserved earnings + college priceEstimate10-year payoff
Estimated 10-year payoff
Negative payoff

−$59,940 over 10 years

Modeled from observed year-5 institution earnings and the institution-wide average net price over four years.

13.1 yrsTime to earn back the modeled cost
−24%Estimated return after 10 years
$64,162Observed earnings · year 5
$2,905Highest annual price before payoff reaches $0

The price benchmark would need to fall by $14,985 per year to reach it.

Start with your question

What do you want to understand?

ECONOMIC INVESTMENT → PAYBACK

Estimated payoff over ten years.

The scenario counts direct price and earnings forgone upfront, then applies the reported annual earnings premium.

10-YEAR PAYOFF CURVECumulative economic payoff after graduation
−$59,940at year 10
Net gainInvestment not yet recovered
NET GAIN$0UNRECOVERED
−$251,5600
2
4
6
8
−$59,94010
Years after graduationBreak-even: 13.1 years
FEDERAL COST DATA

Four ways to read college price.

Annual college-wide figures from the current College Scorecard release. Average net price covers full-time, first-time undergraduates receiving federal aid; public-college figures use in-state students. Program tuition and individual aid offers may differ.

Published in-state tuition$16,005
Sticker price
Published out-of-state tuition$50,205
Sticker price
Average net price$17,890
Title IV student average
Cost of attendance$41,179
Tuition + living budget
PRICE SOURCECollege reported · annual amount · federal dataset
PUBLISHED STUDENT BUDGET · 2024–25

What makes up the annual price?

Sticker-price components reported to IPEDS. Grants and scholarships are not subtracted here.

Tuition and required fees$16,005$50,205 for out-of-state students
Books and supplies$1,192Estimated academic-year allowance
On-campus housing and food$19,948$6,902 in other expenses reported separately
Estimated on-campus total$44,047Sum of available published components, before aid

Living off campus: $19,560 housing and food allowance plus $7,838 in other expenses.

Do not confuse this with net price. Net price subtracts average grants and scholarships. DegreeVerdict continues to use the separately labeled average net price in its standard college ROI scenario.

PRICE SENSITIVITY

The price can change the verdict.

Hold observed earnings constant and see how the modeled ten-year payoff changes as annual price rises.

What stays fixed$64,162 observed annual earnings · 4 years of study · $45,000 alternative annual earnings · ten-year horizonThe marked price is this college’s institution-wide average net price, not your personal aid offer. This is a sensitivity test, not a tuition quote or earnings forecast.
HOW STUDENTS ATTEND · 2023-24

Online study is a meaningful part of the student experience.

IPEDS enrollment counts show course delivery across the whole institution. They do not indicate whether a specific degree can be completed online.

Fully online2.2%
460 students
Some online courses67%
14,199 students
No online courses31%
6,654 students
Undergraduates age 25+3.6%
Share of undergraduate enrollment

Institution-level attendance context from IPEDS. Program delivery is reported separately on degree pages and in the program directory. These figures do not enter ROI.

College identity and local contextAccreditation, institution type, dual enrollment and state prices
COLLEGE AT A GLANCE

Institution details

Current federal characteristics describing the college, not the outcomes of a specific program.

Accreditor
Western Association of Schools and Colleges Senior Colleges and University Commission
Main award level
Bachelor’s degrees
Campus setting
City
Admissions
Selective admission
Delivery
Campus or mixed delivery
Federal designation
Land-grant institution
Sources: College Scorecard June 2026 release and IPEDS 2024 institutional characteristics.
STATE PRICE CONTEXT · 2024

Prices in California run 11% above the U.S. level.

BEA Regional Price Parities compare price levels across states. A value of 100 equals the national average.

Overall11% above U.S.
Goods6% above U.S.
Housing54% above U.S.
Utilities59% above U.S.
Other services3% above U.S.

Use this as geographic context, not a personal budget. It describes the state, not the campus neighborhood, and does not measure tuition or student-specific housing.

DegreeVerdict does not adjust reported earnings, college prices or ROI using this index.

Download the official BEA source →
THE NUMBERS BEHIND THE VERDICT

What it costs and what graduates earn

$17,890Average net price / year
$41,179Cost of attendance
$16,666Median federal student debt · completer borrowers
$177/moPublished 10-year payment estimate
$64,162Median earnings · year 5 after completion
75.1%Completion rate
65.8%Admission rate
17,940Student size

Debt covers federal student-loan borrowers who completed. It does not include Parent PLUS or private loans. We show admissions scores only when a valid federal value is available.

QUESTIONS ANSWERED

What the numbers say about University of California, Santa Cruz

What does University of California, Santa Cruz cost?

University of California, Santa Cruz reports an average annual net price of $17,890 after grants and scholarships. This is an institution-wide average, not an individual aid offer.

What do University of California, Santa Cruz graduates earn?

The observed median earnings figure is $64,162 5 years after completion. It describes a federal cohort, not a guaranteed starting salary.

How much federal debt do University of California, Santa Cruz graduates have?

Completer borrowers report median cumulative federal student debt of $16,666. Parent PLUS and private loans are not included.

Is every degree at University of California, Santa Cruz worth the same?

No. The current release contains 39 field-and-degree records for University of California, Santa Cruz; 37 report year-4 earnings and 35 report federal debt. Outcomes can differ substantially by field and degree level.

DEBT AFTER COLLEGE

Are borrowers making progress?

Repayment progress, default and debt at exit describe different federal borrower cohorts. They are shown separately and do not change the ROI estimate.

1 year70%Paid down at least $1 of principal
3 years75%Paid down at least $1 of principal
5 years76%Paid down at least $1 of principal
7 years81%Paid down at least $1 of principal
Students who completed$16,666Median federal debt · 4,069 borrowers
Students who withdrew$9,166Median federal debt · 2,027 borrowers
Three-year cohort default rate0%Federal cohort measure, not the share currently behind on payments

Source: College Scorecard. Repayment progress is the share of borrowers who reduced principal by at least $1 at the stated measurement point. Debt covers federal student loans; Parent PLUS and private loans are excluded. Cohorts and reporting periods differ across measures.

2024–25 ENROLLMENT

Who studied here during the year

21,424Students enrolled at any point
19,317Undergraduate students
2,107Graduate students

Unduplicated students enrolled at any point from July 1, 2024 through June 30, 2025. This full-year measure is different from a fall headcount and does not enter ROI.

More student and earnings detailPrice by family income, retention, equity and common industries
PRICE BY FAMILY INCOME

Average net price is not one price

Federal averages for aided students in each family-income band. Your aid offer can differ.

$0–30k$8,717
$30–48k$10,613
$48–75k$14,418
$75–110k$18,986
$110k+$33,323
LONGER-TERM CONTEXT

What happens beyond the first earnings measure

Year 5$64,162
Year 6$49,716
Year 10$68,396
Full-time retention
87.9%
Part-time retention
31.3%
Completion within 200% of normal time
78.1%

Earnings timepoints may use different historical cohorts and should not be read as one group’s guaranteed salary growth.

WHO PAYS, WHO FINISHES, WHO EARNS

Outcomes are not the same for every family.

These federal cohorts add context that a single college average can hide. Missing figures remain unreported rather than estimated.

Pell Grant students71%

Complete within 150% of the expected time

81% received a Pell Grant within eight years
Parent borrowing$27,522

Median Parent PLUS debt

1,546 parent borrowers in the reported cohort
First-generation students$14,333

Median federal student debt

72% making progress in repayment after three years
Student family incomeMedian earnings after 10 yearsObserved federal cohorts
Lower income$67,816Earnings are not a guarantee
Middle income$67,350Earnings are not a guarantee
Higher income$70,251Earnings are not a guarantee
Three-year repayment progress
Lower income70%
Middle income75%
Higher income81%
Undergraduate student composition
White31%
Black2%
Hispanic29%
Asian24%

Source: College Scorecard, June 2026 release. Parent PLUS debt belongs to parents; student-debt measures exclude Parent PLUS and private loans. Cohort definitions differ by measure.

NATIONAL CONTEXT

How this college compares

Percentiles compare this institution with currently operating colleges that report the same federal measure.

84thEarnings percentile
75thCompletion percentile
WHAT STANDS OUT

A faster read on this college

These summaries use every reportable field-and-credential record at this institution. They do not fill privacy-suppressed outcomes.

$65,036Median year-4 earnings across reportable program categories
$18,500Median federal debt across categories that report debt
76%Of comparable categories above their same-field national benchmark
EARNINGS OVER TIME

What graduates earned in later years

$37,107Year 1
$67,085Year 4
$64,162Year 5

Each year can represent a different federal cohort, so the points do not track the same people over time.

DEGREES AT THIS COLLEGE

Your choice of degree can change the payoff.

Graduate earnings differ by field and credential, even within the same college.

1Computer Engineering · Bachelor's Degree$124,6412Computer Science · Bachelor's Degree$123,4223Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering · Bachelor's Degree$118,2904Economics · Master's Degree$110,4255Biomedical/Medical Engineering · Bachelor's Degree$98,5676Computer/Information Technology Administration and Management · Bachelor's Degree$94,5897Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology · Bachelor's Degree$88,3058Business/Managerial Economics · Bachelor's Degree$82,064

Observed year-4 earnings · compare the same field and credential across colleges

Strongest relative outcomes

Programs that stand out against the same-degree benchmark

This view rewards performance relative to the same field and credential, not simply majors that pay more everywhere.

1Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular BiologyBachelor's Degree · $88,305 reported+35%vs same-degree national median$18,959federal debt2Graphic CommunicationsBachelor's Degree · $58,163 reported+34%vs same-degree national median$20,714federal debt3Design and Applied ArtsBachelor's Degree · $66,333 reported+29%vs same-degree national medianNot availablefederal debt4HistoryBachelor's Degree · $60,519 reported+19%vs same-degree national median$18,279federal debt5Psychology, GeneralBachelor's Degree · $59,948 reported+18%vs same-degree national median$18,902federal debt6Electrical, Electronics, and Communications EngineeringBachelor's Degree · $118,290 reported+18%vs same-degree national median$17,048federal debt
BUILD A REAL SHORTLIST

Comparable colleges in CA

Currently operating public institutions with the closest combination of annual net price and observed year-5 earnings. Similarity is descriptive, not a quality ranking.

San Diego, CA

San Diego State University

Annual net price
$15,364
Observed earnings · year 5
$65,488
Modeled 10-year ROI
-15%
Open college profile →
Riverside, CA

University of California, Riverside

Annual net price
$14,304
Observed earnings · year 5
$63,411
Modeled 10-year ROI
-22%
Open college profile →
Chico, CA

California State University, Chico

Annual net price
$14,480
Observed earnings · year 5
$62,509
Modeled 10-year ROI
-26%
Open college profile →
Rohnert Park, CA

Sonoma State University

Annual net price
$12,885
Observed earnings · year 5
$65,250
Modeled 10-year ROI
-13%
Open college profile →
DEGREE OUTCOMES

Compare fields and degree levels

Showing all 39 field-and-degree records in the current release.

Major or fieldDegree levelEarnings, year 4Federal debt2024–25 graduates
Computer EngineeringBachelor's Degree$124,641$23,392Not reported
Computer ScienceBachelor's Degree$123,422$16,666Not reported
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications EngineeringBachelor's Degree$118,290$17,048Not reported
EconomicsMaster's Degree$110,425Not availableNot reported
Biomedical/Medical EngineeringBachelor's Degree$98,567$22,500Not reported
Computer/Information Technology Administration and ManagementBachelor's Degree$94,589$20,020Not reported
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular BiologyBachelor's Degree$88,305$18,959Not reported
Business/Managerial EconomicsBachelor's Degree$82,064$16,500Not reported
EconomicsBachelor's Degree$76,382$18,017Not reported
Educational Assessment, Evaluation, and ResearchMaster's Degree$73,343Not availableNot reported
Cognitive ScienceBachelor's Degree$72,125$19,500Not reported
ChemistryBachelor's Degree$71,348$15,000Not reported
Ecology, Evolution, Systematics, and Population BiologyDoctoral Degree$70,373Not available11
Cell/Cellular Biology and Anatomical SciencesBachelor's Degree$69,849$19,000Not reported
Neurobiology and NeurosciencesBachelor's Degree$69,027$19,500Not reported
Design and Applied ArtsBachelor's Degree$66,333Not availableNot reported
Non-Professional Legal StudiesBachelor's Degree$66,244$18,416Not reported
Political Science and GovernmentBachelor's Degree$65,890$16,782Not reported
Biology, GeneralBachelor's Degree$65,036$20,703Not reported
Geological and Earth Sciences/GeosciencesBachelor's Degree$64,499$20,833Not reported
HistoryBachelor's Degree$60,519$18,279Not reported
Psychology, GeneralBachelor's Degree$59,948$18,902Not reported
MathematicsBachelor's Degree$59,214$19,232Not reported
Graphic CommunicationsBachelor's Degree$58,163$20,714Not reported
Community Organization and AdvocacyBachelor's Degree$56,620$17,750Not reported
Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group StudiesBachelor's Degree$55,798$19,747Not reported
SociologyBachelor's Degree$55,338$16,500Not reported
Natural Resources Conservation and ResearchBachelor's Degree$55,240$18,500Not reported
Behavioral SciencesBachelor's Degree$54,606$17,500Not reported
AnthropologyBachelor's Degree$52,315$17,875Not reported
Romance Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsBachelor's Degree$51,519$17,340Not reported
PhilosophyBachelor's Degree$51,398$15,832Not reported
Ecology, Evolution, Systematics, and Population BiologyBachelor's Degree$49,821$18,887Not reported
Linguistic, Comparative, and Related Language Studies and ServicesBachelor's Degree$49,763$17,491Not reported
Film/Video and Photographic ArtsBachelor's Degree$45,815$16,439Not reported
Fine and Studio ArtsBachelor's Degree$40,156$19,500Not reported
Drama/Theatre Arts and StagecraftBachelor's Degree$30,524$19,500Not reported
Astronomy and AstrophysicsBachelor's DegreeNot available$20,500Not reported
PhysicsBachelor's DegreeNot available$16,250Not reported

Graduate counts come from IPEDS and group related majors into the same federal field. Missing earnings or debt values remain labeled as unavailable.

Earnings, price, completion and enrollment are observed federal measures. ROI, payoff and break-even are modeled scenarios built from those measures and fixed assumptions. College payoff is not the payoff of every degree at this school; use the program table for a more precise comparison.