← Program directory
COLLEGE + DEGREE OUTCOMES

Precision Metal Working undergraduate certificate or diploma at South Louisiana Community College

Lafayette, LA · Public

What this page covers

Federal data group related majors at the same college and degree level. One record can include several named programs or concentrations.

The short version

Reported earnings are below similar programs.

$5,218 below the national median for the same field and degree level.

Debt as a share of earnings
14.1% of annual earnings
Highest price with a positive payoff
Not reached
Modeled 10-year payoff
Withheld by data safeguards
Available price data
College-wide context only
OUTCOME SIGNALS

Graduate outcomes from several angles.

Follow earnings over time and inspect the cohort behind each federal measure.

+64%Earnings growth, year 1 → 5$25,471 → $41,830
Not availableEarn above high-school thresholdGraduate count in the year-4 cohort
27Working in the college’s stateGraduate count in the year-4 cohort
28Year-5 earnings observationsCohort behind the year-5 median
85Borrowers representedCohort behind the debt median
Not availableAwarding-school debtDebt attributed to the college granting the credential
67Recent awardsIPEDS 2024–25 first-major completions in this field and credential
NEW FEDERAL PROGRAM CONTEXT

Size, aid and an earnings floor.

The Department of Education’s 2026 informational preview adds current program participation and a preliminary earnings comparison. It does not make a final eligibility determination.

165Students receiving federal aid2024–25 Title IV enrollment
46Federal-aid completers2024–25 program completers
116Pell Grant recipients2024–25 program count
76Federal loan borrowers2024–25 unduplicated count
26.5%Federal-aid non-completion rate2022–23 program cohort · 41 non-completers
30Graduates not recorded as employedHistorical federal cohort, three years after completion
Preliminary federal earnings benchmarkNot availableInformational preview, not a final accountability result
Observed year-4 earnings$43,484A like-for-like comparison is unavailable

Source: U.S. Department of Education PPD:2026 informational preview. Program categories use OPEID, four-digit field and credential level; federal-aid counts do not represent every enrolled student. Completion and employment measures use older cohorts shown above and are not combined into the payoff estimate.

01 · PRICE CONTEXT$12,564

Institution-wide annual average net price, not this program’s price.

02 · BORROWING$6,125

Median federal debt across schools attended at this academic level.

03 · EARNINGS$43,484

Observed median earnings four full years after completion.

04 · REPAYMENT$65/mo

Estimated standard 10-year federal payment.

ADDITIONAL WORKFORCE PROGRAM REPORTS

8 related offerings reported to the Department of Labor

These provider-reported records add named prices, completion and employment context where available. They describe a separate workforce-program cohort and may include non-degree training, so they are not blended into the College Scorecard earnings or DegreeVerdict ROI.

NCCER Core · CIP 48.0508

Welding Basic Level I

Reported price
$2,850
Completion
63.0%
Employed in Q2
80.0%
Q2 quarterly earnings
$6,090
This program provides in-person instruction only.
Intermediate Welding Certificate · CIP 48.0508

Welding Advanced I

Reported price
$3,500
Completion
Not reported
Employed in Q2
Not reported
Q2 quarterly earnings
Not available
This program provides in-person instruction only.
NCCER Core · CIP 48.0508

Welding Advanced II

Reported price
$3,500
Completion
Not reported
Employed in Q2
Not reported
Q2 quarterly earnings
Not available
This program provides in-person instruction only.
NCCER Core · CIP 48.0508

Welding Intermediate

Reported price
$3,500
Completion
Not reported
Employed in Q2
Not reported
Q2 quarterly earnings
Not available
This program provides in-person instruction only.
NCCER · CIP 48.0508

Maritime Structural Fitter

Reported price
$5,000
Completion
100.0%
Employed in Q2
58.0%
Q2 quarterly earnings
$7,642
This program provides in-person instruction only.
NCCER Core · CIP 48.0501

Precision Machining

Reported price
$5,000
Completion
74.0%
Employed in Q2
67.0%
Q2 quarterly earnings
$8,661
This program provides in-person instruction only.
NCCER Core, Welding Level 1, and Welding Level 2 · CIP 48.0508

Welding COMBINED

Reported price
$6,000
Completion
73.0%
Employed in Q2
82.0%
Q2 quarterly earnings
$7,693
This program provides in-person instruction only.
Certificate of Completion · CIP 48.0508

Welding-Degree program

Reported price
$7,927
Completion
Not reported
Employed in Q2
Not reported
Q2 quarterly earnings
Not available
This program provides in-person instruction only.
Program year 2022. Quarterly earnings are not annual salary. Suppressed values appear as “Not reported.” Source: U.S. Department of Labor TrainingProviderResults.gov. Showing 8 of 8 related records.
WHAT WILL IT COST?

Published college costs provide the starting point.

Your exact offering, aid, residency and time to finish determine the price you actually pay.

Enter my price →
AVERAGE NET PRICE$12,564Institution-wide annual figure
COST OF ATTENDANCE$19,044Institution-wide annual budget
ADMISSION RATENot availableInstitution context
COMPLETION RATE30.4%Institution-wide completion rate
WHAT DO GRADUATES EARN?

Reported earnings after completion.

Each point may represent a different federal cohort. A missing bar means the figure was unavailable or suppressed.

$25,471Year 1
$43,484Year 4
$41,830Year 5
CAN THE EARNINGS SUPPORT THE DEBT?

1.8% of gross monthly earnings

Estimated monthly payment divided by observed gross monthly earnings. This excludes taxes, other debts and income-driven repayment.

Gross monthly earnings$3,624
Estimated loan payment$65
85borrowers represented where reported
HOW DOES IT COMPARE?

$43,484 vs. $48,702

$5,218 below the national median for the same field and credential.

Same-field national median
WHAT WORK CAN IT LEAD TO?

Related occupations, wages and outlook.

Official CIP–SOC links show careers the curriculum may prepare students for, not observed jobs held by this school’s graduates. BLS wages describe everyone working in an occupation.

BLS May 2025 wage estimates and 2025–35 employment projections.
Metal Workers and Plastic Workers, All Other$45,680 median wageLA estimate · 210 jobs · 51-4199$40,000–$50,440 middle 50% of LA wages-7.1% projected U.S. growth · 1,300 openings/yrTypical entry: High school diploma or equivalentLayout Workers, Metal and Plastic$63,870 median wageU.S. estimate · 5,970 jobs · 51-4192-3.4% projected U.S. growth · 500 openings/yrTypical entry: High school diploma or equivalentMachinists$61,110 median wageLA estimate · 4,640 jobs · 51-4041$49,030–$75,170 middle 50% of LA wages+1.0% projected U.S. growth · 26,100 openings/yrTypical entry: High school diploma or equivalentRolling Machine Setters, Operators, and Tenders, Metal and Plastic$49,920 median wageLA estimate · 110 jobs · 51-4023$47,070–$66,030 middle 50% of LA wages-8.3% projected U.S. growth · 1,900 openings/yrTypical entry: High school diploma or equivalentComputer Numerically Controlled Tool Operators$49,800 median wageLA estimate · 670 jobs · 51-9161$43,680–$60,010 middle 50% of LA wages-9.4% projected U.S. growth · 12,500 openings/yrTypical entry: High school diploma or equivalentStructural Metal Fabricators and Fitters$49,120 median wageLA estimate · 2,520 jobs · 51-2041$38,050–$58,510 middle 50% of LA wages-6.2% projected U.S. growth · 4,800 openings/yrTypical entry: High school diploma or equivalentMultiple Machine Tool Setters, Operators, and Tenders, Metal and Plastic$46,210 median wageLA estimate · 900 jobs · 51-4081$37,810–$54,870 middle 50% of LA wages+0.6% projected U.S. growth · 11,600 openings/yrTypical entry: High school diploma or equivalentCutting, Punching, and Press Machine Setters, Operators, and Tenders, Metal and Plastic$40,870 median wageLA estimate · 760 jobs · 51-4031$37,660–$48,900 middle 50% of LA wages-10.5% projected U.S. growth · 13,200 openings/yrTypical entry: High school diploma or equivalentGrinding, Lapping, Polishing, and Buffing Machine Tool Setters, Operators, and Tenders, Metal and Plastic$38,650 median wageLA estimate · 160 jobs · 51-4033$33,380–$45,970 middle 50% of LA wages-10.8% projected U.S. growth · 4,500 openings/yrTypical entry: High school diploma or equivalentHeat Treating Equipment Setters, Operators, and Tenders, Metal and Plastic$35,180 median wageLA estimate · 14,000 jobs · 51-4191$33,360–$36,130 middle 50% of LA wages-9.5% projected U.S. growth · 1,100 openings/yrTypical entry: High school diploma or equivalentComputer Numerically Controlled Tool Programmers$68,120 median wageU.S. estimate · 28,500 jobs · 51-9162+5.9% projected U.S. growth · 2,700 openings/yrTypical entry: Postsecondary nondegree awardModel Makers, Metal and Plastic$63,340 median wageU.S. estimate · 2,610 jobs · 51-4061-17.3% projected U.S. growth · 200 openings/yrTypical entry: High school diploma or equivalent
Possible alternatives

Same degree, stronger on at least one reported measure.

Every option below reports higher earnings, lower federal debt or a lower college-wide net price. Same-state options appear first.

Alexandria, LA

Central Louisiana Technical Community College

$6,085 higher earnings · $6,862 lower annual net price

Earnings
$49,569
Debt
Not available
Annual net price
$5,702
View outcomes →
Baton Rouge, LA

Baton Rouge Community College

$5,749 higher earnings · $3,090 lower annual net price

Earnings
$49,233
Debt
$13,000
Annual net price
$9,474
View outcomes →
New Orleans, LA

Delgado Community College

$2,817 lower annual net price

Earnings
$42,367
Debt
$18,137
Annual net price
$9,747
View outcomes →
Lacombe, LA

Northshore Technical Community College

$1,791 lower annual net price

Earnings
$41,162
Debt
$10,500
Annual net price
$10,773
View outcomes →
Compare these programs →
DATA QUALITY

Check the evidence behind the estimate.

28 observations in the earnings cohort

June 10, 2026 College Scorecard release

Observed, estimated and contextual figures are labeled separately throughout this page

IS IT WORTH IT AT YOUR PRICE?

Your price and current earnings determine the result.

Add your grants, borrowing and current salary to estimate payment pressure, break-even time and ten-year payoff.

Calculate my payoff →