Public · COLLEGE PAYOFF

State University of New York at Plattsburgh

Plattsburgh, NY · 36 field-and-degree records

Earnings reported for 36 · Federal debt reported for 28

Based onObserved earnings + college priceEstimate10-year payoff
Estimated 10-year payoff
Negative payoff

−$146,844 over 10 years

Modeled from observed year-5 institution earnings and the institution-wide average net price over four years.

24.4 yrsTime to earn back the modeled cost
−59%Estimated return after 10 years
$55,178Observed earnings · year 5
Not reachedHighest annual price before payoff reaches $0
Start with your question

What do you want to understand?

ECONOMIC INVESTMENT → PAYBACK

Estimated payoff over ten years.

The scenario counts direct price and earnings forgone upfront, then applies the reported annual earnings premium.

10-YEAR PAYOFF CURVECumulative economic payoff after graduation
−$146,844at year 10
Net gainInvestment not yet recovered
NET GAIN$0UNRECOVERED
−$248,6240
2
4
6
8
−$146,84410
Years after graduationBreak-even: 24.4 years
FEDERAL COST DATA

Four ways to read college price.

Annual college-wide figures from the current College Scorecard release. Average net price covers full-time, first-time undergraduates receiving federal aid; public-college figures use in-state students. Program tuition and individual aid offers may differ.

Published in-state tuition$9,035
Sticker price
Published out-of-state tuition$18,945
Sticker price
Average net price$17,156
Title IV student average
Cost of attendance$28,244
Tuition + living budget
PRICE SOURCECollege reported · annual amount · federal dataset
PUBLISHED STUDENT BUDGET · 2024–25

What makes up the annual price?

Sticker-price components reported to IPEDS. Grants and scholarships are not subtracted here.

Tuition and required fees$9,035$18,945 for out-of-state students
Books and supplies$930Estimated academic-year allowance
On-campus housing and food$17,300$2,732 in other expenses reported separately
Estimated on-campus total$29,997Sum of available published components, before aid

Living off campus: $17,300 housing and food allowance plus $2,732 in other expenses.

Do not confuse this with net price. Net price subtracts average grants and scholarships. DegreeVerdict continues to use the separately labeled average net price in its standard college ROI scenario.

PRICE SENSITIVITY

The price can change the verdict.

Hold observed earnings constant and see how the modeled ten-year payoff changes as annual price rises.

What stays fixed$55,178 observed annual earnings · 4 years of study · $45,000 alternative annual earnings · ten-year horizonThe marked price is this college’s institution-wide average net price, not your personal aid offer. This is a sensitivity test, not a tuition quote or earnings forecast.
HOW STUDENTS ATTEND · 2023-24

Most students take at least some classes online.

IPEDS enrollment counts show course delivery across the whole institution. They do not indicate whether a specific degree can be completed online.

Fully online28%
1,470 students
Some online courses53%
2,807 students
No online courses19%
1,012 students
Undergraduates age 25+13%
Share of undergraduate enrollment

Institution-level attendance context from IPEDS. Program delivery is reported separately on degree pages and in the program directory. These figures do not enter ROI.

College identity and local contextAccreditation, institution type, dual enrollment and state prices
COLLEGE AT A GLANCE

Institution details

Current federal characteristics describing the college, not the outcomes of a specific program.

Accreditor
Middle States Commission on Higher Education
Main award level
Bachelor’s degrees
Campus setting
Town
Admissions
Selective admission
Delivery
Campus or mixed delivery
Federal designation
No special designation reported
Sources: College Scorecard June 2026 release and IPEDS 2024 institutional characteristics.
DUAL-ENROLLMENT CONTEXT · 2024

98 high-school students took college courses.

IPEDS counts students enrolled in college credit while still in high school. A large dual-enrollment population can shape headline enrollment figures, especially at community colleges.

This is participation, not a college completion rate. It does not indicate how many students later enrolled after high school, earned a credential or entered the workforce.

STATE PRICE CONTEXT · 2024

Prices in New York run 8% above the U.S. level.

BEA Regional Price Parities compare price levels across states. A value of 100 equals the national average.

Overall8% above U.S.
Goods7% above U.S.
Housing22% above U.S.
Utilities34% above U.S.
Other services4% above U.S.

Use this as geographic context, not a personal budget. It describes the state, not the campus neighborhood, and does not measure tuition or student-specific housing.

DegreeVerdict does not adjust reported earnings, college prices or ROI using this index.

Download the official BEA source →
THE NUMBERS BEHIND THE VERDICT

What it costs and what graduates earn

$17,156Average net price / year
$28,244Cost of attendance
$21,196Median federal student debt · completer borrowers
$225/moPublished 10-year payment estimate
$55,178Median earnings · year 5 after completion
58.5%Completion rate
78.4%Admission rate
1,165Average SAT score
26ACT midpoint
3,769Student size

Debt covers federal student-loan borrowers who completed. It does not include Parent PLUS or private loans. We show admissions scores only when a valid federal value is available.

QUESTIONS ANSWERED

What the numbers say about State University of New York at Plattsburgh

What does State University of New York at Plattsburgh cost?

State University of New York at Plattsburgh reports an average annual net price of $17,156 after grants and scholarships. This is an institution-wide average, not an individual aid offer.

What do State University of New York at Plattsburgh graduates earn?

The observed median earnings figure is $55,178 5 years after completion. It describes a federal cohort, not a guaranteed starting salary.

How much federal debt do State University of New York at Plattsburgh graduates have?

Completer borrowers report median cumulative federal student debt of $21,196. Parent PLUS and private loans are not included.

Is every degree at State University of New York at Plattsburgh worth the same?

No. The current release contains 36 field-and-degree records for State University of New York at Plattsburgh; 36 report year-4 earnings and 28 report federal debt. Outcomes can differ substantially by field and degree level.

DEBT AFTER COLLEGE

Are borrowers making progress?

Repayment progress, default and debt at exit describe different federal borrower cohorts. They are shown separately and do not change the ROI estimate.

1 year58%Paid down at least $1 of principal
3 years63%Paid down at least $1 of principal
5 years68%Paid down at least $1 of principal
7 years72%Paid down at least $1 of principal
Students who completed$21,196Median federal debt · 1,442 borrowers
Students who withdrew$9,250Median federal debt · 1,336 borrowers
Three-year cohort default rate0%Federal cohort measure, not the share currently behind on payments

Source: College Scorecard. Repayment progress is the share of borrowers who reduced principal by at least $1 at the stated measurement point. Debt covers federal student loans; Parent PLUS and private loans are excluded. Cohorts and reporting periods differ across measures.

2024–25 ENROLLMENT

Who studied here during the year

5,449Students enrolled at any point
4,533Undergraduate students
916Graduate students

Unduplicated students enrolled at any point from July 1, 2024 through June 30, 2025. This full-year measure is different from a fall headcount and does not enter ROI.

More student and earnings detailPrice by family income, retention, equity and common industries
PRICE BY FAMILY INCOME

Average net price is not one price

Federal averages for aided students in each family-income band. Your aid offer can differ.

$0–30k$9,400
$30–48k$12,121
$48–75k$17,076
$75–110k$17,655
$110k+$24,611
LONGER-TERM CONTEXT

What happens beyond the first earnings measure

Year 5$55,178
Year 6$48,089
Year 10$56,403
Full-time retention
73.2%
Part-time retention
38.5%
Completion within 200% of normal time
65.5%

Earnings timepoints may use different historical cohorts and should not be read as one group’s guaranteed salary growth.

WHO PAYS, WHO FINISHES, WHO EARNS

Outcomes are not the same for every family.

These federal cohorts add context that a single college average can hide. Missing figures remain unreported rather than estimated.

Pell Grant students50%

Complete within 150% of the expected time

61% received a Pell Grant within eight years
Parent borrowing$17,000

Median Parent PLUS debt

431 parent borrowers in the reported cohort
First-generation students$15,000

Median federal student debt

60% making progress in repayment after three years
Student family incomeMedian earnings after 10 yearsObserved federal cohorts
Lower income$53,916Earnings are not a guarantee
Middle income$51,760Earnings are not a guarantee
Higher income$58,969Earnings are not a guarantee
Three-year repayment progress
Lower income55%
Middle income64%
Higher income69%
Undergraduate student composition
White63%
Black12%
Hispanic14%
Asian3%

Source: College Scorecard, June 2026 release. Parent PLUS debt belongs to parents; student-debt measures exclude Parent PLUS and private loans. Cohort definitions differ by measure.

INDEPENDENT CENSUS EARNINGS VIEW

How earnings develop by field

Privacy-protected Census employment records follow graduate cohorts one, five and ten years after completion. This source is kept separate from College Scorecard because its population and methodology differ.

Field and credentialYear 1Year 5Year 10
Advanced/Graduate Dentistry and Oral Sciences.Bachelor’s degree · Broad federal field 51
$76,164Year 1
$82,674Year 5
$86,116Year 10
Astronomy and Astrophysics.Bachelor’s degree · Broad federal field 40
$38,279Year 1
$70,298Year 5
$85,664Year 10
Computer Programming.Bachelor’s degree · Broad federal field 11
$57,867Year 1
$71,212Year 5
$84,962Year 10
Accounting and Related Services.Bachelor’s degree · Broad federal field 52
$44,283Year 1
$72,539Year 5
$82,697Year 10
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities.Master’s degree · Broad federal field 24
$56,877Year 1
$68,802Year 5
$80,729Year 10
Criminal Justice and Corrections.Bachelor’s degree · Broad federal field 43
$40,568Year 1
$59,957Year 5
$76,224Year 10
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology.Bachelor’s degree · Broad federal field 26
$37,984Year 1
$64,036Year 5
$73,832Year 10
Bilingual, Multilingual, and Multicultural Education.Master’s degree · Broad federal field 13
$50,164Year 1
$61,511Year 5
$71,877Year 10

Median annual earnings in 2023 dollars. Each time point may use a different pooled graduation cohort. Coverage is limited to institutions participating in the Census Post-Secondary Employment Outcomes program.

NATIONAL CONTEXT

How this college compares

Percentiles compare this institution with currently operating colleges that report the same federal measure.

73thEarnings percentile
50thCompletion percentile
WHAT STANDS OUT

A faster read on this college

These summaries use every reportable field-and-credential record at this institution. They do not fill privacy-suppressed outcomes.

$56,322Median year-4 earnings across reportable program categories
$24,746Median federal debt across categories that report debt
42%Of comparable categories above their same-field national benchmark
EARNINGS OVER TIME

What graduates earned in later years

$37,823Year 1
$58,319Year 4
$55,178Year 5

Each year can represent a different federal cohort, so the points do not track the same people over time.

DEGREES AT THIS COLLEGE

Your choice of degree can change the payoff.

Graduate earnings differ by field and credential, even within the same college.

1Educational Administration and Supervision · Graduate/Professional Certificate$99,0442Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing · Bachelor's Degree$92,0953Management Information Systems and Services · Bachelor's Degree$85,6774Finance and Financial Management Services · Bachelor's Degree$74,5505Computer and Information Sciences, General · Bachelor's Degree$73,3836Business Administration, Management and Operations · Bachelor's Degree$70,4997Accounting and Related Services · Bachelor's Degree$70,1098Marketing · Bachelor's Degree$69,684

Observed year-4 earnings · compare the same field and credential across colleges

Strongest relative outcomes

Programs that stand out against the same-degree benchmark

This view rewards performance relative to the same field and credential, not simply majors that pay more everywhere.

1Security Science and TechnologyBachelor's Degree · $69,321 reported+20%vs same-degree national medianNot availablefederal debt2Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and MethodsBachelor's Degree · $55,996 reported+18%vs same-degree national medianNot availablefederal debt3Biology, GeneralBachelor's Degree · $67,359 reported+18%vs same-degree national median$21,140federal debt4Social WorkBachelor's Degree · $59,925 reported+16%vs same-degree national median$23,990federal debt5Educational Administration and SupervisionGraduate/Professional Certificate · $99,044 reported+15%vs same-degree national medianNot availablefederal debt6English Language and Literature, GeneralBachelor's Degree · $54,281 reported+12%vs same-degree national median$21,024federal debt
BUILD A REAL SHORTLIST

Comparable colleges in NY

Currently operating public institutions with the closest combination of annual net price and observed year-5 earnings. Similarity is descriptive, not a quality ranking.

Brockport, NY

SUNY Brockport

Annual net price
$16,353
Observed earnings · year 5
$54,638
Modeled 10-year ROI
-61%
Open college profile →
Oswego, NY

State University of New York at Oswego

Annual net price
$16,236
Observed earnings · year 5
$54,439
Modeled 10-year ROI
-61%
Open college profile →
Alfred, NY

SUNY College of Technology at Alfred

Annual net price
$15,016
Observed earnings · year 5
$54,644
Modeled 10-year ROI
-60%
Open college profile →
New York, NY

Fashion Institute of Technology

Annual net price
$19,095
Observed earnings · year 5
$56,636
Modeled 10-year ROI
-55%
Open college profile →
DEGREE OUTCOMES

Compare fields and degree levels

Showing all 36 field-and-degree records in the current release.

Major or fieldDegree levelEarnings, year 4Federal debt2024–25 graduates
Educational Administration and SupervisionGraduate/Professional Certificate$99,044Not available0
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingBachelor's Degree$92,095$25,481Not reported
Management Information Systems and ServicesBachelor's Degree$85,677$24,799Not reported
Finance and Financial Management ServicesBachelor's Degree$74,550$27,000Not reported
Computer and Information Sciences, GeneralBachelor's Degree$73,383$23,375Not reported
Business Administration, Management and OperationsBachelor's Degree$70,499$22,731Not reported
Accounting and Related ServicesBachelor's Degree$70,109$26,609Not reported
MarketingBachelor's Degree$69,684$22,200Not reported
Security Science and TechnologyBachelor's Degree$69,321Not availableNot reported
Biology, GeneralBachelor's Degree$67,359$21,140Not reported
Communication Disorders Sciences and ServicesMaster's Degree$64,111Not availableNot reported
EconomicsBachelor's Degree$63,155$24,693Not reported
Dietetics and Clinical Nutrition ServicesBachelor's Degree$60,418$22,556Not reported
Social WorkBachelor's Degree$59,925$23,990Not reported
Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied CommunicationBachelor's Degree$58,888$24,975Not reported
Criminal Justice and CorrectionsBachelor's Degree$58,331$25,940Not reported
SociologyBachelor's Degree$56,704$25,940Not reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and MethodsMaster's Degree$56,554Not availableNot reported
Special Education and TeachingMaster's Degree$56,090Not availableNot reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and MethodsBachelor's Degree$55,996Not availableNot reported
English Language and Literature, GeneralBachelor's Degree$54,281$21,024Not reported
HistoryBachelor's Degree$54,187$23,439Not reported
Natural Resources Conservation and ResearchBachelor's Degree$54,099$19,500Not reported
Communication Disorders Sciences and ServicesBachelor's Degree$53,653$25,500Not reported
Hospitality Administration/ManagementBachelor's Degree$53,178$21,500Not reported
Human Development, Family Studies, and Related ServicesBachelor's Degree$52,593$25,420Not reported
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and HumanitiesBachelor's Degree$52,108$26,500Not reported
Communication and Media StudiesBachelor's Degree$51,715$25,150Not reported
Psychology, GeneralBachelor's Degree$50,673$23,000Not reported
Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group StudiesBachelor's Degree$50,030$27,500Not reported
Political Science and GovernmentBachelor's Degree$49,754$24,106Not reported
Radio, Television, and Digital CommunicationBachelor's Degree$45,121$25,822Not reported
Ecology, Evolution, Systematics, and Population BiologyBachelor's Degree$44,153Not availableNot reported
Rhetoric and Composition/Writing StudiesBachelor's Degree$40,814Not availableNot reported
JournalismBachelor's Degree$40,034$23,125Not reported
Fine and Studio ArtsBachelor's Degree$38,407$25,072Not reported

Graduate counts come from IPEDS and group related majors into the same federal field. Missing earnings or debt values remain labeled as unavailable.

Earnings, price, completion and enrollment are observed federal measures. ROI, payoff and break-even are modeled scenarios built from those measures and fixed assumptions. College payoff is not the payoff of every degree at this school; use the program table for a more precise comparison.