Public · COLLEGE PAYOFF

Texas Tech University

Lubbock, TX · 92 field-and-degree records

Earnings reported for 90 · Federal debt reported for 60

Based onObserved earnings + college priceEstimate10-year payoff
Estimated 10-year payoff
Negative payoff

−$73,810 over 10 years

Modeled from observed year-5 institution earnings and the institution-wide average net price over four years.

14.0 yrsTime to earn back the modeled cost
−29%Estimated return after 10 years
$63,247Observed earnings · year 5
$618Highest annual price before payoff reaches $0

The price benchmark would need to fall by $18,453 per year to reach it.

Start with your question

What do you want to understand?

ECONOMIC INVESTMENT → PAYBACK

Estimated payoff over ten years.

The scenario counts direct price and earnings forgone upfront, then applies the reported annual earnings premium.

10-YEAR PAYOFF CURVECumulative economic payoff after graduation
−$73,810at year 10
Net gainInvestment not yet recovered
NET GAIN$0UNRECOVERED
−$256,2800
2
4
6
8
−$73,81010
Years after graduationBreak-even: 14.0 years
FEDERAL COST DATA

Four ways to read college price.

Annual college-wide figures from the current College Scorecard release. Average net price covers full-time, first-time undergraduates receiving federal aid; public-college figures use in-state students. Program tuition and individual aid offers may differ.

Published in-state tuition$11,852
Sticker price
Published out-of-state tuition$24,451
Sticker price
Average net price$19,070
Title IV student average
Cost of attendance$27,443
Tuition + living budget
PRICE SOURCECollege reported · annual amount · federal dataset
PUBLISHED STUDENT BUDGET · 2024–25

What makes up the annual price?

Sticker-price components reported to IPEDS. Grants and scholarships are not subtracted here.

Tuition and required fees$11,852$24,451 for out-of-state students
Books and supplies$1,200Estimated academic-year allowance
On-campus housing and food$10,742$4,731 in other expenses reported separately
Estimated on-campus total$28,525Sum of available published components, before aid

Living off campus: $11,303 housing and food allowance plus $4,731 in other expenses.

Do not confuse this with net price. Net price subtracts average grants and scholarships. DegreeVerdict continues to use the separately labeled average net price in its standard college ROI scenario.

PRICE SENSITIVITY

The price can change the verdict.

Hold observed earnings constant and see how the modeled ten-year payoff changes as annual price rises.

What stays fixed$63,247 observed annual earnings · 4 years of study · $45,000 alternative annual earnings · ten-year horizonThe marked price is this college’s institution-wide average net price, not your personal aid offer. This is a sensitivity test, not a tuition quote or earnings forecast.
HOW STUDENTS ATTEND · 2023-24

Online study is a meaningful part of the student experience.

IPEDS enrollment counts show course delivery across the whole institution. They do not indicate whether a specific degree can be completed online.

Fully online15%
6,451 students
Some online courses52%
22,692 students
No online courses33%
14,595 students
Undergraduates age 25+6.5%
Share of undergraduate enrollment

Institution-level attendance context from IPEDS. Program delivery is reported separately on degree pages and in the program directory. These figures do not enter ROI.

College identity and local contextAccreditation, institution type, dual enrollment and state prices
COLLEGE AT A GLANCE

Institution details

Current federal characteristics describing the college, not the outcomes of a specific program.

Accreditor
Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges
Main award level
Bachelor’s degrees
Campus setting
City
Admissions
Selective admission
Delivery
Campus or mixed delivery
Federal designation
No special designation reported
Sources: College Scorecard June 2026 release and IPEDS 2024 institutional characteristics.
DUAL-ENROLLMENT CONTEXT · 2024

173 high-school students took college courses.

IPEDS counts students enrolled in college credit while still in high school. A large dual-enrollment population can shape headline enrollment figures, especially at community colleges.

This is participation, not a college completion rate. It does not indicate how many students later enrolled after high school, earned a credential or entered the workforce.

STATE PRICE CONTEXT · 2024

Prices in Texas run 3% below the U.S. level.

BEA Regional Price Parities compare price levels across states. A value of 100 equals the national average.

Overall3% below U.S.
Goods2% below U.S.
Housing3% below U.S.
Utilities12% below U.S.
Other services3% below U.S.

Use this as geographic context, not a personal budget. It describes the state, not the campus neighborhood, and does not measure tuition or student-specific housing.

DegreeVerdict does not adjust reported earnings, college prices or ROI using this index.

Download the official BEA source →
THE NUMBERS BEHIND THE VERDICT

What it costs and what graduates earn

$19,070Average net price / year
$27,443Cost of attendance
$21,500Median federal student debt · completer borrowers
$228/moPublished 10-year payment estimate
$63,247Median earnings · year 5 after completion
68.7%Completion rate
72.7%Admission rate
1,190Average SAT score
26ACT midpoint
32,394Student size

Debt covers federal student-loan borrowers who completed. It does not include Parent PLUS or private loans. We show admissions scores only when a valid federal value is available.

QUESTIONS ANSWERED

What the numbers say about Texas Tech University

What does Texas Tech University cost?

Texas Tech University reports an average annual net price of $19,070 after grants and scholarships. This is an institution-wide average, not an individual aid offer.

What do Texas Tech University graduates earn?

The observed median earnings figure is $63,247 5 years after completion. It describes a federal cohort, not a guaranteed starting salary.

How much federal debt do Texas Tech University graduates have?

Completer borrowers report median cumulative federal student debt of $21,500. Parent PLUS and private loans are not included.

Is every degree at Texas Tech University worth the same?

No. The current release contains 92 field-and-degree records for Texas Tech University; 90 report year-4 earnings and 60 report federal debt. Outcomes can differ substantially by field and degree level.

DEBT AFTER COLLEGE

Are borrowers making progress?

Repayment progress, default and debt at exit describe different federal borrower cohorts. They are shown separately and do not change the ROI estimate.

1 year61%Paid down at least $1 of principal
3 years65%Paid down at least $1 of principal
5 years72%Paid down at least $1 of principal
7 years79%Paid down at least $1 of principal
Students who completed$21,500Median federal debt · 7,113 borrowers
Students who withdrew$9,000Median federal debt · 5,838 borrowers
Three-year cohort default rate0%Federal cohort measure, not the share currently behind on payments

Source: College Scorecard. Repayment progress is the share of borrowers who reduced principal by at least $1 at the stated measurement point. Debt covers federal student loans; Parent PLUS and private loans are excluded. Cohorts and reporting periods differ across measures.

2024–25 ENROLLMENT

Who studied here during the year

43,964Students enrolled at any point
34,543Undergraduate students
9,421Graduate students

Unduplicated students enrolled at any point from July 1, 2024 through June 30, 2025. This full-year measure is different from a fall headcount and does not enter ROI.

More student and earnings detailPrice by family income, retention, equity and common industries
PRICE BY FAMILY INCOME

Average net price is not one price

Federal averages for aided students in each family-income band. Your aid offer can differ.

$0–30k$12,457
$30–48k$13,851
$48–75k$17,058
$75–110k$22,073
$110k+$24,622
LONGER-TERM CONTEXT

What happens beyond the first earnings measure

Year 5$63,247
Year 6$52,588
Year 10$62,454
Full-time retention
85.0%
Part-time retention
62.0%
Completion within 200% of normal time
68.8%

Earnings timepoints may use different historical cohorts and should not be read as one group’s guaranteed salary growth.

WHO PAYS, WHO FINISHES, WHO EARNS

Outcomes are not the same for every family.

These federal cohorts add context that a single college average can hide. Missing figures remain unreported rather than estimated.

Pell Grant students60%

Complete within 150% of the expected time

63% received a Pell Grant within eight years
Parent borrowing$20,130

Median Parent PLUS debt

2,232 parent borrowers in the reported cohort
First-generation students$16,000

Median federal student debt

58% making progress in repayment after three years
Student family incomeMedian earnings after 10 yearsObserved federal cohorts
Lower income$57,735Earnings are not a guarantee
Middle income$60,567Earnings are not a guarantee
Higher income$67,790Earnings are not a guarantee
Three-year repayment progress
Lower income53%
Middle income65%
Higher income76%
Undergraduate student composition
White52%
Black6%
Hispanic30%
Asian3%

Source: College Scorecard, June 2026 release. Parent PLUS debt belongs to parents; student-debt measures exclude Parent PLUS and private loans. Cohort definitions differ by measure.

INDEPENDENT CENSUS EARNINGS VIEW

How earnings develop by field

Privacy-protected Census employment records follow graduate cohorts one, five and ten years after completion. This source is kept separate from College Scorecard because its population and methodology differ.

Field and credentialYear 1Year 5Year 10
Accounting and Related Services.Doctoral, research/scholarship · Broad federal field 52
$132,649Year 1
$143,939Year 5
$161,741Year 10
Computer Programming.Master’s degree · Broad federal field 11
$78,625Year 1
$127,414Year 5
$160,199Year 10
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering.Master’s degree · Broad federal field 14
$81,072Year 1
$116,467Year 5
$156,573Year 10
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering.Doctoral, research/scholarship · Broad federal field 14
$88,708Year 1
$140,007Year 5
$148,888Year 10
Accounting and Related Services.Master’s degree · Broad federal field 52
$71,863Year 1
$106,961Year 5
$142,876Year 10
Computer Programming.Bachelor’s degree · Broad federal field 11
$68,891Year 1
$104,777Year 5
$140,692Year 10
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering.Bachelor’s degree · Broad federal field 14
$76,722Year 1
$102,674Year 5
$137,211Year 10
Law.Doctoral, professional practice · Broad federal field 22
$77,482Year 1
$106,854Year 5
$131,563Year 10

Median annual earnings in 2023 dollars. Each time point may use a different pooled graduation cohort. Coverage is limited to institutions participating in the Census Post-Secondary Employment Outcomes program.

NATIONAL CONTEXT

How this college compares

Percentiles compare this institution with currently operating colleges that report the same federal measure.

84thEarnings percentile
66thCompletion percentile
WHAT STANDS OUT

A faster read on this college

These summaries use every reportable field-and-credential record at this institution. They do not fill privacy-suppressed outcomes.

$64,734Median year-4 earnings across reportable program categories
$24,174Median federal debt across categories that report debt
62%Of comparable categories above their same-field national benchmark
EARNINGS OVER TIME

What graduates earned in later years

$46,893Year 1
$66,144Year 4
$63,247Year 5

Each year can represent a different federal cohort, so the points do not track the same people over time.

DEGREES AT THIS COLLEGE

Your choice of degree can change the payoff.

Graduate earnings differ by field and credential, even within the same college.

1Petroleum Engineering · Bachelor's Degree$139,8642Information Science/Studies · Master's Degree$118,4053Computer and Information Sciences, General · Bachelor's Degree$113,0624Business Administration, Management and Operations · Master's Degree$110,8655Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering · Bachelor's Degree$107,1106Construction Engineering · Bachelor's Degree$102,3127Law · First Professional Degree$100,7168Chemical Engineering · Bachelor's Degree$99,747

Observed year-4 earnings · compare the same field and credential across colleges

Strongest relative outcomes

Programs that stand out against the same-degree benchmark

This view rewards performance relative to the same field and credential, not simply majors that pay more everywhere.

1Family and Consumer Economics and Related StudiesBachelor's Degree · $78,435 reported+47%vs same-degree national median$27,750federal debt2Family and Consumer Economics and Related StudiesMaster's Degree · $92,464 reported+45%vs same-degree national medianNot availablefederal debt3Rhetoric and Composition/Writing StudiesMaster's Degree · $75,064 reported+36%vs same-degree national medianNot availablefederal debt4Petroleum EngineeringBachelor's Degree · $139,864 reported+33%vs same-degree national median$26,090federal debt5MusicBachelor's Degree · $57,043 reported+33%vs same-degree national median$27,816federal debt6Science, Technology and SocietyBachelor's Degree · $88,953 reported+32%vs same-degree national median$28,750federal debt
BUILD A REAL SHORTLIST

Comparable colleges in TX

Currently operating public institutions with the closest combination of annual net price and observed year-5 earnings. Similarity is descriptive, not a quality ranking.

Houston, TX

University of Houston

Annual net price
$14,276
Observed earnings · year 5
$63,161
Modeled 10-year ROI
-23%
Open college profile →
Houston, TX

University of Houston-Clear Lake

Annual net price
$15,563
Observed earnings · year 5
$59,421
Modeled 10-year ROI
-40%
Open college profile →
San Marcos, TX

Texas State University

Annual net price
$16,805
Observed earnings · year 5
$57,874
Modeled 10-year ROI
-48%
Open college profile →
Tyler, TX

The University of Texas at Tyler

Annual net price
$13,323
Observed earnings · year 5
$61,130
Modeled 10-year ROI
-31%
Open college profile →
DEGREE OUTCOMES

Compare fields and degree levels

Showing the 40 highest-earning records from 92 field-and-degree records. Use the program directory to search the complete set.

Major or fieldDegree levelEarnings, year 4Federal debt2024–25 graduates
Petroleum EngineeringBachelor's Degree$139,864$26,0900
Information Science/StudiesMaster's Degree$118,405Not availableNot reported
Computer and Information Sciences, GeneralBachelor's Degree$113,062$23,197Not reported
Business Administration, Management and OperationsMaster's Degree$110,865Not availableNot reported
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications EngineeringBachelor's Degree$107,110$26,000Not reported
Construction EngineeringBachelor's Degree$102,312$24,0980
LawFirst Professional Degree$100,716Not availableNot reported
Chemical EngineeringBachelor's Degree$99,747$28,000Not reported
Industrial EngineeringBachelor's Degree$98,266$29,000Not reported
Mechanical EngineeringBachelor's Degree$98,113$25,396Not reported
Accounting and Related ServicesMaster's Degree$97,392Not availableNot reported
Educational Assessment, Evaluation, and ResearchDoctoral Degree$92,899Not available0
Computer EngineeringBachelor's Degree$92,615$27,0000
Family and Consumer Economics and Related StudiesMaster's Degree$92,464Not availableNot reported
Civil EngineeringMaster's Degree$90,540Not availableNot reported
Environmental/Environmental Health EngineeringBachelor's Degree$90,143$19,750Not reported
Civil EngineeringBachelor's Degree$89,969$27,000Not reported
Clinical, Counseling and Applied PsychologyDoctoral Degree$89,918Not available13
Accounting and Related ServicesBachelor's Degree$89,891$21,6730
Environmental/Environmental Health EngineeringMaster's Degree$89,607Not availableNot reported
Science, Technology and SocietyBachelor's Degree$88,953$28,7500
Finance and Financial Management ServicesBachelor's Degree$86,795$21,50034
Business/Commerce, GeneralBachelor's Degree$86,278Not available11
Public AdministrationMaster's Degree$84,635Not availableNot reported
Information Science/StudiesBachelor's Degree$81,289$25,000Not reported
Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied CommunicationMaster's Degree$81,195Not availableNot reported
Family and Consumer Economics and Related StudiesBachelor's Degree$78,435$27,750Not reported
Business Administration, Management and OperationsBachelor's Degree$75,702$21,1740
Curriculum and InstructionDoctoral Degree$75,455Not available21
Rhetoric and Composition/Writing StudiesMaster's Degree$75,064Not availableNot reported
ArchitectureMaster's Degree$74,979Not availableNot reported
Geological and Earth Sciences/GeosciencesBachelor's Degree$74,591$25,750Not reported
MarketingBachelor's Degree$72,953$21,117Not reported
ChemistryBachelor's Degree$70,673$27,243Not reported
Agricultural Business and ManagementBachelor's Degree$69,689$19,5881
MathematicsBachelor's Degree$69,664$29,7507
Microbiological Sciences and ImmunologyBachelor's Degree$69,628$22,985Not reported
Nutrition SciencesMaster's Degree$69,015Not availableNot reported
EconomicsBachelor's Degree$68,973$27,125Not reported
Specialized Sales, Merchandising and Marketing OperationsBachelor's Degree$66,440$22,317Not reported

Graduate counts come from IPEDS and group related majors into the same federal field. Missing earnings or debt values remain labeled as unavailable.

Search every Texas Tech University program record →

Earnings, price, completion and enrollment are observed federal measures. ROI, payoff and break-even are modeled scenarios built from those measures and fixed assumptions. College payoff is not the payoff of every degree at this school; use the program table for a more precise comparison.