Public · COLLEGE PAYOFF

Indiana State University

Terre Haute, IN · 58 field-and-degree records

Earnings reported for 57 · Federal debt reported for 34

Based onObserved earnings + college priceEstimate10-year payoff
Estimated 10-year payoff
Negative payoff

−$133,822 over 10 years

Modeled from observed year-5 institution earnings and the institution-wide average net price over four years.

24.9 yrsTime to earn back the modeled cost
−60%Estimated return after 10 years
$53,967Observed earnings · year 5
Not reachedHighest annual price before payoff reaches $0
Start with your question

What do you want to understand?

ECONOMIC INVESTMENT → PAYBACK

Estimated payoff over ten years.

The scenario counts direct price and earnings forgone upfront, then applies the reported annual earnings premium.

10-YEAR PAYOFF CURVECumulative economic payoff after graduation
−$133,822at year 10
Net gainInvestment not yet recovered
NET GAIN$0UNRECOVERED
−$223,4920
2
4
6
8
−$133,82210
Years after graduationBreak-even: 24.9 years
FEDERAL COST DATA

Four ways to read college price.

Annual college-wide figures from the current College Scorecard release. Average net price covers full-time, first-time undergraduates receiving federal aid; public-college figures use in-state students. Program tuition and individual aid offers may differ.

Published in-state tuition$10,258
Sticker price
Published out-of-state tuition$22,322
Sticker price
Average net price$10,873
Title IV student average
Cost of attendance$24,535
Tuition + living budget
PRICE SOURCECollege reported · annual amount · federal dataset
PUBLISHED STUDENT BUDGET · 2024–25

What makes up the annual price?

Sticker-price components reported to IPEDS. Grants and scholarships are not subtracted here.

Tuition and required fees$10,258$22,322 for out-of-state students
Books and supplies$1,140Estimated academic-year allowance
On-campus housing and food$12,262$2,500 in other expenses reported separately
Estimated on-campus total$26,160Sum of available published components, before aid

Living off campus: $10,878 housing and food allowance plus $3,000 in other expenses.

Do not confuse this with net price. Net price subtracts average grants and scholarships. DegreeVerdict continues to use the separately labeled average net price in its standard college ROI scenario.

PRICE SENSITIVITY

The price can change the verdict.

Hold observed earnings constant and see how the modeled ten-year payoff changes as annual price rises.

What stays fixed$53,967 observed annual earnings · 4 years of study · $45,000 alternative annual earnings · ten-year horizonThe marked price is this college’s institution-wide average net price, not your personal aid offer. This is a sensitivity test, not a tuition quote or earnings forecast.
HOW STUDENTS ATTEND · 2023-24

Online study is a meaningful part of the student experience.

IPEDS enrollment counts show course delivery across the whole institution. They do not indicate whether a specific degree can be completed online.

Fully online30%
2,885 students
Some online courses41%
3,894 students
No online courses29%
2,723 students
Undergraduates age 25+19%
Share of undergraduate enrollment

Institution-level attendance context from IPEDS. Program delivery is reported separately on degree pages and in the program directory. These figures do not enter ROI.

College identity and local contextAccreditation, institution type, dual enrollment and state prices
COLLEGE AT A GLANCE

Institution details

Current federal characteristics describing the college, not the outcomes of a specific program.

Accreditor
Higher Learning Commission
Main award level
Bachelor’s degrees
Campus setting
City
Admissions
Selective admission
Delivery
Campus or mixed delivery
Federal designation
No special designation reported
Sources: College Scorecard June 2026 release and IPEDS 2024 institutional characteristics.
DUAL-ENROLLMENT CONTEXT · 2024

104 high-school students took college courses.

IPEDS counts students enrolled in college credit while still in high school. A large dual-enrollment population can shape headline enrollment figures, especially at community colleges.

This is participation, not a college completion rate. It does not indicate how many students later enrolled after high school, earned a credential or entered the workforce.

STATE PRICE CONTEXT · 2024

Prices in Indiana run 7% below the U.S. level.

BEA Regional Price Parities compare price levels across states. A value of 100 equals the national average.

Overall7% below U.S.
Goods4% below U.S.
Housing26% below U.S.
Utilities14% below U.S.
Other services1% below U.S.

Use this as geographic context, not a personal budget. It describes the state, not the campus neighborhood, and does not measure tuition or student-specific housing.

DegreeVerdict does not adjust reported earnings, college prices or ROI using this index.

Download the official BEA source →
THE NUMBERS BEHIND THE VERDICT

What it costs and what graduates earn

$10,873Average net price / year
$24,535Cost of attendance
$24,000Median federal student debt · completer borrowers
$254/moPublished 10-year payment estimate
$53,967Median earnings · year 5 after completion
42.9%Completion rate
80.8%Admission rate
6,188Student size

Debt covers federal student-loan borrowers who completed. It does not include Parent PLUS or private loans. We show admissions scores only when a valid federal value is available.

QUESTIONS ANSWERED

What the numbers say about Indiana State University

What does Indiana State University cost?

Indiana State University reports an average annual net price of $10,873 after grants and scholarships. This is an institution-wide average, not an individual aid offer.

What do Indiana State University graduates earn?

The observed median earnings figure is $53,967 5 years after completion. It describes a federal cohort, not a guaranteed starting salary.

How much federal debt do Indiana State University graduates have?

Completer borrowers report median cumulative federal student debt of $24,000. Parent PLUS and private loans are not included.

Is every degree at Indiana State University worth the same?

No. The current release contains 58 field-and-degree records for Indiana State University; 57 report year-4 earnings and 34 report federal debt. Outcomes can differ substantially by field and degree level.

DEBT AFTER COLLEGE

Are borrowers making progress?

Repayment progress, default and debt at exit describe different federal borrower cohorts. They are shown separately and do not change the ROI estimate.

1 year44%Paid down at least $1 of principal
3 years50%Paid down at least $1 of principal
5 years59%Paid down at least $1 of principal
7 years67%Paid down at least $1 of principal
Students who completed$24,000Median federal debt · 2,618 borrowers
Students who withdrew$8,763Median federal debt · 3,352 borrowers
Three-year cohort default rate0%Federal cohort measure, not the share currently behind on payments

Source: College Scorecard. Repayment progress is the share of borrowers who reduced principal by at least $1 at the stated measurement point. Debt covers federal student loans; Parent PLUS and private loans are excluded. Cohorts and reporting periods differ across measures.

2024–25 ENROLLMENT

Who studied here during the year

9,941Students enrolled at any point
7,900Undergraduate students
2,041Graduate students

Unduplicated students enrolled at any point from July 1, 2024 through June 30, 2025. This full-year measure is different from a fall headcount and does not enter ROI.

More student and earnings detailPrice by family income, retention, equity and common industries
PRICE BY FAMILY INCOME

Average net price is not one price

Federal averages for aided students in each family-income band. Your aid offer can differ.

$0–30k$6,455
$30–48k$6,571
$48–75k$9,317
$75–110k$15,450
$110k+$19,345
LONGER-TERM CONTEXT

What happens beyond the first earnings measure

Year 5$53,967
Year 6$41,047
Year 10$48,387
Full-time retention
65.8%
Part-time retention
60.0%
Completion within 200% of normal time
45.5%

Earnings timepoints may use different historical cohorts and should not be read as one group’s guaranteed salary growth.

WHO PAYS, WHO FINISHES, WHO EARNS

Outcomes are not the same for every family.

These federal cohorts add context that a single college average can hide. Missing figures remain unreported rather than estimated.

Pell Grant students33%

Complete within 150% of the expected time

39% received a Pell Grant within eight years
Parent borrowing$14,009

Median Parent PLUS debt

1,379 parent borrowers in the reported cohort
First-generation students$14,300

Median federal student debt

48% making progress in repayment after three years
Student family incomeMedian earnings after 10 yearsObserved federal cohorts
Lower income$44,280Earnings are not a guarantee
Middle income$48,930Earnings are not a guarantee
Higher income$53,626Earnings are not a guarantee
Three-year repayment progress
Lower income36%
Middle income55%
Higher income64%
Undergraduate student composition
White66%
Black17%
Hispanic7%
Asian2%

Source: College Scorecard, June 2026 release. Parent PLUS debt belongs to parents; student-debt measures exclude Parent PLUS and private loans. Cohort definitions differ by measure.

INDEPENDENT CENSUS EARNINGS VIEW

How earnings develop by field

Privacy-protected Census employment records follow graduate cohorts one, five and ten years after completion. This source is kept separate from College Scorecard because its population and methodology differ.

Field and credentialYear 1Year 5Year 10
Architectural Engineering Technologies/Technicians.Doctoral, research/scholarship · Broad federal field 15
$154,543Year 1
$115,056Year 5
$154,543Year 10
Architectural Engineering Technologies/Technicians.Master’s degree · Broad federal field 15
$84,025Year 1
$115,056Year 5
$134,382Year 10
Applied Mathematics.Master’s degree · Broad federal field 27
$69,584Year 1
$112,807Year 5
$130,859Year 10
Bilingual, Multilingual, and Multicultural Education.Doctoral, research/scholarship · Broad federal field 13
$97,356Year 1
$114,606Year 5
$115,260Year 10
Air Transportation.Associate degree · Broad federal field 49
$34,840Year 1
$54,993Year 5
$104,398Year 10
Architectural Engineering Technologies/Technicians.Bachelor’s degree · Broad federal field 15
$66,303Year 1
$79,897Year 5
$103,356Year 10
Air Transportation.Bachelor’s degree · Broad federal field 49
$39,178Year 1
$71,961Year 5
$101,595Year 10
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology.Bachelor’s degree · Broad federal field 26
$34,162Year 1
$58,858Year 5
$99,192Year 10

Median annual earnings in 2023 dollars. Each time point may use a different pooled graduation cohort. Coverage is limited to institutions participating in the Census Post-Secondary Employment Outcomes program.

NATIONAL CONTEXT

How this college compares

Percentiles compare this institution with currently operating colleges that report the same federal measure.

70thEarnings percentile
28thCompletion percentile
WHAT STANDS OUT

A faster read on this college

These summaries use every reportable field-and-credential record at this institution. They do not fill privacy-suppressed outcomes.

$66,087Median year-4 earnings across reportable program categories
$25,250Median federal debt across categories that report debt
23%Of comparable categories above their same-field national benchmark
EARNINGS OVER TIME

What graduates earned in later years

$44,287Year 1
$57,688Year 4
$53,967Year 5

Each year can represent a different federal cohort, so the points do not track the same people over time.

DEGREES AT THIS COLLEGE

Your choice of degree can change the payoff.

Graduate earnings differ by field and credential, even within the same college.

1Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions · Master's Degree$123,0162Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing · Master's Degree$122,6513Educational Administration and Supervision · Doctoral Degree$115,0034Educational Administration and Supervision · First Professional Degree$106,5505Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing · Doctoral Degree$99,5266Business Administration, Management and Operations · Master's Degree$95,4387Construction Management · Bachelor's Degree$94,9028Management Sciences and Quantitative Methods · Bachelor's Degree$92,741

Observed year-4 earnings · compare the same field and credential across colleges

Strongest relative outcomes

Programs that stand out against the same-degree benchmark

This view rewards performance relative to the same field and credential, not simply majors that pay more everywhere.

1General Sales, Merchandising and Related Marketing OperationsUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma · $75,862 reported+46%vs same-degree national medianNot availablefederal debt2Educational Administration and SupervisionFirst Professional Degree · $106,550 reported+37%vs same-degree national medianNot availablefederal debt3Mental and Social Health Services and Allied ProfessionsMaster's Degree · $73,874 reported+24%vs same-degree national medianNot availablefederal debt4MusicBachelor's Degree · $49,711 reported+16%vs same-degree national median$27,000federal debt5Educational Administration and SupervisionDoctoral Degree · $115,003 reported+14%vs same-degree national medianNot availablefederal debt6Industrial Production Technologies/TechniciansBachelor's Degree · $91,915 reported+14%vs same-degree national median$20,500federal debt
BUILD A REAL SHORTLIST

Comparable colleges in IN

Currently operating public institutions with the closest combination of annual net price and observed year-5 earnings. Similarity is descriptive, not a quality ranking.

Fort Wayne, IN

Purdue University Fort Wayne

Annual net price
$13,171
Observed earnings · year 5
$53,814
Modeled 10-year ROI
-62%
Open college profile →
Richmond, IN

Indiana University-East

Annual net price
$8,134
Observed earnings · year 5
$53,596
Modeled 10-year ROI
-60%
Open college profile →
Evansville, IN

University of Southern Indiana

Annual net price
$12,923
Observed earnings · year 5
$52,882
Modeled 10-year ROI
-66%
Open college profile →
Muncie, IN

Ball State University

Annual net price
$14,940
Observed earnings · year 5
$54,001
Modeled 10-year ROI
-62%
Open college profile →
DEGREE OUTCOMES

Compare fields and degree levels

Showing the 40 highest-earning records from 58 field-and-degree records. Use the program directory to search the complete set.

Major or fieldDegree levelEarnings, year 4Federal debt2024–25 graduates
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment ProfessionsMaster's Degree$123,016Not availableNot reported
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingMaster's Degree$122,651Not available4
Educational Administration and SupervisionDoctoral Degree$115,003Not available25
Educational Administration and SupervisionFirst Professional Degree$106,550Not availableNot reported
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingDoctoral Degree$99,526Not available18
Business Administration, Management and OperationsMaster's Degree$95,438Not availableNot reported
Construction ManagementBachelor's Degree$94,902$29,567Not reported
Management Sciences and Quantitative MethodsBachelor's Degree$92,741Not availableNot reported
Industrial Production Technologies/TechniciansBachelor's Degree$91,915$20,500Not reported
Quality Control and Safety Technologies/TechniciansBachelor's Degree$82,303Not available0
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingBachelor's Degree$81,988$30,155Not reported
Human Resources Management and ServicesMaster's Degree$81,450Not availableNot reported
Public AdministrationMaster's Degree$80,452Not availableNot reported
Rehabilitation and Therapeutic ProfessionsDoctoral Degree$80,168Not available30
Mechanical Engineering Related Technologies/TechniciansBachelor's Degree$79,527$26,990Not reported
Electrical/Electronic Engineering Technologies/TechniciansBachelor's Degree$77,336Not availableNot reported
Educational Administration and SupervisionMaster's Degree$77,266Not available31
General Sales, Merchandising and Related Marketing OperationsUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma$75,862Not availableNot reported
Mental and Social Health Services and Allied ProfessionsMaster's Degree$73,874Not availableNot reported
ChemistryBachelor's Degree$73,623$23,081Not reported
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment ProfessionsDoctoral Degree$73,135Not available13
Rehabilitation and Therapeutic ProfessionsMaster's Degree$72,726Not availableNot reported
Air TransportationBachelor's Degree$71,254$24,500Not reported
Clinical, Counseling and Applied PsychologyMaster's Degree$68,785Not available13
Finance and Financial Management ServicesBachelor's Degree$67,937$22,805Not reported
Business Administration, Management and OperationsBachelor's Degree$67,478$23,0251
Human Resources Management and ServicesBachelor's Degree$67,452$25,0000
InsuranceBachelor's Degree$67,033Not availableNot reported
MarketingBachelor's Degree$66,087$26,000Not reported
Communication Disorders Sciences and ServicesMaster's Degree$62,827Not availableNot reported
Accounting and Related ServicesBachelor's Degree$61,660$24,300Not reported
Computer and Information Sciences, GeneralBachelor's Degree$61,424$23,196Not reported
CriminologyMaster's Degree$59,321Not availableNot reported
Political Science and GovernmentBachelor's Degree$59,060$25,9870
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment ProfessionsBachelor's Degree$58,541$27,000Not reported
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/FitnessMaster's Degree$58,291Not availableNot reported
Business/Commerce, GeneralBachelor's Degree$57,171$24,562Not reported
Biology, GeneralBachelor's Degree$56,764$21,948Not reported
Communication Disorders Sciences and ServicesBachelor's Degree$55,749$25,500Not reported
Student Counseling and Personnel ServicesMaster's Degree$55,314Not availableNot reported

Graduate counts come from IPEDS and group related majors into the same federal field. Missing earnings or debt values remain labeled as unavailable.

Search every Indiana State University program record →

Earnings, price, completion and enrollment are observed federal measures. ROI, payoff and break-even are modeled scenarios built from those measures and fixed assumptions. College payoff is not the payoff of every degree at this school; use the program table for a more precise comparison.